Everingham victorious in shortened Townsville Super2 opener

Tyler Everingham leads the field. Picture: Ross Gibb

Tyler Everingham captured victory in a shortened opening Dunlop Super2 Series race at the NTI Townsville 500.

Everingham beat pole-sitter Zak Best off the line and survived two Safety Car restarts to take the chequered flag first.

There was drama before the start with fourth-place starter Jaylyn Robotham stuck on the grid, unable to begin the formation lap.

Robotham eventually got going and returned to the pits, but the field was held for a long time on the grid before an additional formation lap was called.

When the race did get underway, Everingham seized the moment and swung into the lead, beating Best to the first braking zone.

The race was neutralised on the opening lap with Angelo Mouzouris buried in the tyre wall on the outside of Turn 5.

Replays appeared to show broken steering for Mouzouris prior to the impact with the wall, potentially a result of contact with Matt Payne at Turn 2, washing the latter wide.

Best hustled early on the Lap 7 restart, tapping the back of Everingham’s car at the final corner as the race got going again.

That failed to disturb Everingham though, as the MW Motorsport driver continued to lead.

Payne cleared Thomas Maxwell for 10th just moments before another Safety Car was deployed with Steven Page in the wall at Turn 12.

The race resumed on Lap 11 and it was Matt Chahda who was on the move, passing Declan Fraser for third at Turn 2.

Further back, Cameron Hill dove down the inside of Tim Blanchard for sixth which fed the latter into an aggressive battle pack behind.

Blanchard had to defend from Zane Morse who attempted to go around the outside of three cars at Turn 2, but could not clear Blanchard after the pair went side-by-side for half a lap.

Jay Hanson pipped Matt Payne in all the action for ninth.

At the head of the field, Everingham opened up a lead of nearly a second before the race was called time certain at the end of Lap 13.

Best was second ahead of Chahda, and Fraser, while Seton rounded out the top five, holding off Hill on the run to the line.

In Super3, Brad Vaughan made a decisive pass on Kai Allen for the lead just before the second Safety Car and was able to hold on to the win in class.

The Super2 Series returns to the track for Qualifying on Sunday, the first part being Super3 which begins at 09:25 local time/AEST.

Results: Race 1

Pos Num Team/Sponsor Driver Car Cls Gap
1 27 Blue Ribbon Legal / MWM Tyler Everingham Nissan Altima S2
2 78 Best Leisure Industries Zak Best Ford Falcon FG/X S2 +0.944
3 18 Brad Cattlin and Sons Civil Matthew Chahda Ford Falcon FG/X S2 +1.573
4 777 Triple Eight Race Engineering Declan Fraser Holden Commodore VF S2 +2.254
5 30 Sherrin Rentals Aaron Seton Holden Commodore VF S2 +4.612
6 111 Triple Eight Race Engineering Cameron Hill Holden Commodore VF S2 +4.648
7 54 Eggleston Motorsport Tim Blanchard Holden Commodore VF S2 +8.979
8 11 Brema Group Racing Zane Morse Holden Commodore VF S2 +9.373
9 49 AWC / Image Racing Jay Hanson Holden Commodore VF S2 +10.030
10 10 Grove Racing Matthew Payne Nissan Altima S2 +10.582
11 3 MWM Thomas Maxwell Nissan Altima S2 +11.072
12 38 Eggleston Motorsport Cameron Crick Holden Commodore VF S2 +12.562
13 5 Anderson Motorsport Brad Vaughan Ford Falcon FG S3 +13.947
14 26 Eggleston Motorsport Kai Allen Holden Commodore VE S3 +14.156
15 999 Erebus Academy / Image Racing Jaylyn Robotham Holden Commodore VF S2 +14.433
16 77 MR HDT Race Cars Blake Fardell Holden Commodore VE2 S3 +15.190
17 7 Mocomm Motorsport Comms Jim Pollicina Holden Commodore VE S3 +17.892
18 8 Steeline Racing Elly Morrow Holden Commodore VF S2 +21.783
19 39 Vectra Corp Chris Smerdon Ford Falcon FG S3 +22.279
20 46 Turbo Brisbane Jarred Danaher Ford Falcon FG S3 +23.053
21 23 RHM / Nulon Ray Hislop Ford Falcon FG S3 +24.031
22 67 Flash Bush Motorsports Nash Morris Ford Falcon FG/X S2 +25.074
23 58 EFS 4×4 Accessories Ryal Harris Holden Commodore VF S2 +32.577
24 72 NHP Electrical Engineering Layton Barker Holden Commodore VE S3 +33.266
25 35 Unit Racing Jason Gomersall Ford Falcon FG S3 +37.447
26 219 Masterton Motorsport James Masterton Holden Commodore VE S3 +52.569
27 4 Crusher Parts International Tony Auddino Ford Falcon BF S3 +1:00.332
DNF 2 Page Bros Jayco Steven Page Holden Commodore VE2 S3
DNF 76 AC Electrical & Air Conditioni Garry Hills Holden Commodore VE2 S3
DNF 6 MWM Angelo Mouzouris Nissan Altima S2

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]