Price wins Finke Desert Race in record time

Toby Price

Toby Price has won the Cars title at the Finke Desert Race for the second year in a row, in record time.

He and navigator Jason Duncan were already on record pace on the outbound leg to Aputula (Finke) in his Mitsubishi Triton Trophy Truck (Extreme 2WD class), and they got back to Alice Springs in an aggregate time of 3:21:46.2s.

Price is now an eight-time King of the Desert in total, and still the only competitor to have achieved victory on both two wheels and four, the latter on six occasions.

CLICK HERE for comments from Price, including about his chances of another ‘Iron Man’ campaign in both Bikes and Cars

Aaron James finished second overall, and first in the Pro Buggy class, at 2:08.9s off the pace, which represented a tightening of the margin by more than three minutes relative to how they ended Leg 1.

Brent Martin/Ben Dawson (Jimco Prolite Buggy) also made the podium at a further 4:31.7s off the pace, with the top five rounded out by six-time Kings of the Desert Shannon Rentsch/Ian Rentsch (Jimco Pro Buggy) and Tyler Owen/Max Owen (Alumicraft Pro Buggy).

Hayden Bentley/Viv Coe (Trophy Truck, Extreme 4WD) maintained sixth position on the way back to the Alice, from Jake Swinglehurst/Kate Swinglehurst (Jimco Pro Buggy) and Brent Smoothy/Reece Burgess (Geiser, Extreme 2WD).

Greg Gartner, the 2011 King of the Desert, slipped to ninth on the return leg in the Ford Geiser (Extreme 2WD) which he shared with Jamie Jennings and Mark Hannaford, and Kent Battle/Heath Lawson (Element Prodigy, Pro Buggy) ended up 10th.

The return leg of the Bikes is in progress.

UPDATE: Bikes winner has been decided

Results: Finke Desert Race Cars, Top 10

Pos Class Num Competitor(s) Vehicle Day 1 time Day 2 time Total time Split to 1st Split to prev
1 X2WD 487 Toby Price/Jason Duncan Mitsubishi TSCO Trophy Truck 600 CHEV 3600cc 01:36:38.5 01:45:07.6 03:21:46.2
2 PRO 93 Aaron James ALUMICRAFT FORD 3500CCcc 01:41:44.1 01:42:10.9 03:23:55.1 + 00:02:08.9 + 00:02:08.9
3 PROLITE 120 Brent Martin/Andre De Simone/Ben Dawson JIMCO NISSAN 3500cc 01:42:56.4 01:45:30.4 03:28:26.8 + 00:06:40.6 + 00:04:31.7
4 PRO 33 Shannon Rentsch/Ian Rentsch JImco 3500cc 01:43:39.7 01:48:20.3 03:32:00.1 + 00:10:13.9 + 00:03:33.3
5 PRO 41 Tyler Owen/Max Owen ALUMICRAFT GM 6000CCcc 01:43:03.3 01:51:49.9 03:34:53.2 + 00:13:07.0 + 00:02:53.1
6 X4WD 818 Hayden Bentley/Hannah Bentley Viv Coe Sam Bentley TROPHY TRUCK RACER ENGINEERING 3500cc 01:46:26.4 01:49:13.9 03:35:40.3 + 00:13:54.1 + 00:00:47.1
7 PRO 49 Jake Swinglehurst/Kate Swinglehurst JIMCO AUSSIE SPEC J239cc 01:47:09.9 01:48:44.4 03:35:54.3 + 00:14:08.1 + 00:00:14.0
8 X2WD 447 Brent Smoothy/Reece Burgess GEISER 6000cc 01:49:09.0 01:48:43.3 03:37:52.4 + 00:16:06.2 + 00:01:58.1
9 X2WD 410 Greg Gartner/Jamie Jennings/Mark Hannaford Ford Geiser Raptor Raptor FORD 6000cc 01:46:54.1 01:52:39.3 03:39:33.5 + 00:17:47.3 + 00:01:41.1
10 PRO 31 Kent Battle/Heath Lawson ELEMENT PRODIGY CHEVROLET 6000cc 01:52:54.0 01:48:59.3 03:41:53.3 + 00:20:07.1 + 00:02:19.8

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]