Coulthard back for SMP TCR round

Fabian Coulthard’s Stan Sport Wall Racing Honda at Phillip Island

Fabian Coulthard’s return to the Supercheap Auto TCR Australia field this weekend has been confirmed, after COVID forced him out of the previous round.

Coulthard has been a round-to-round proposition in the series and, while he was a multi-race winner in Round 2 at Phillip Island, he had to sit out the Bathurst 6 Hour event when he became infected with coronavirus.

However, he will be back in the Stan Sport Wall Racing Honda Civic Type R TCR for Round 4 at Sydney Motorsport Park, when Supercheap Auto TCR Australia will have its first night race.

While the New Zealander was out of action, Wall team-mate Tony D’Alberto extended his series lead to 37 points, with Liqui Moly Team MPC Audi driver Will Brown arriving in Sydney as his nearest rival in the title race.

The other notable news in the Melbourne Performance Centre camp is that Jay Hanson is back in his latest-specification Audi RS 3 LMS TCR, which was sidelined at Bathurst last month after he crashed in practice.

Hanson reverted to a spare but will saddle up in the car which he has already driven to two race wins this year, at Symmons Plains and Phillip Island.

The field also includes last year’s Eastern Creek race winners, namely HMO Customer Racing’s Josh Buchan in one of five Hyundai i30 N TCRs on the entry list, and Ashley Seward Motorsport’s Michael Caruso in the Auto Glym Alfa Romeo Giulietta Veloce TCR.

Practice takes place this Friday, with Saturday night’s opening race live on 9Gem.

All of the weekend’s TCR qualifying sessions and the three races can be seen live and ad-free on Stan Sport.

Entry list: Round 4, Sydney Motorsport Park

Num Team/Sponsor Driver Car
2 Moutai/ZIP PAY Luke King Hyundai i30 N TCR
8 Schaeffler GRM Dylan O’Keeffe Peugeot 308 TCR
9 AWC MPC Racing Jay Hanson Audi RS3 LMS TCR
10 Ashley Seward Motorsport Michael Caruso Alfa Romeo Giulietta Veloce TCR
11 HMO Customer Racing Nathan Morcom Hyundai i30 N TCR
14 Purple Sector Lachlan Mineeff Volkswagen Golf GTI TCR
15 Michael Clemente Motorsport Michael Clemente Honda Civic Type R TCR
18 Team Valvoline GRM Aaron Cameron Peugeot 308 TCR
22 Melbourne Performance Centre Iain McDougall Audi RS3 LMS TCR
24 Stan Sport Wall Racing Fabian Coulthard Honda Civic Type R TCR
30 HMO Customer Racing Josh Buchan Hyundai i30 N TCR
33 Swyftx GRM Jordan Cox Peugeot 308 TCR
34 LMCT+ Racing GRM James Moffat Renault Megane RS TCR
41 Valvoline Racing GRM Kody Garland Renault Megane RS TCR
50 Honda Wall Racing Tony D’Alberto Honda Civic Type R TCR
71 Burson Auto Parts Racing Ben Bargwanna Peugeot 308 TCR
89 Braydan Willmington Motorsports Braydan Willmington Alfa Romeo Giulietta Veloce TCR
110 Team Soutar Motorsport Zac Soutar Honda Civic Type R TCR
130 HMO Customer Racing Bailey Sweeny Hyundai i30 N TCR
333 Royal Purple Racing Brad Shiels Hyundai i30 N TCR
999 MPC Team LIQUI MOLY Will Brown Audi RS3 LMS TCR

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]