Van Gisbergen pips Reynolds in Supercars Practice 2 at Winton

Shane van Gisbergen. Picture: Ross Gibb

Shane van Gisbergen has pipped David Reynolds to top spot in a record-breaking second Repco Supercars Championship practice session at the Pizza Hut Winton SuperSprint.

Both went under Scott McLaughlin’s three-year-old practice record at Winton, when Supercars last raced at the rural Victorian circuit and on a different tyre compound, with Chaz Mostert just outside that marker in a top three covered by less than a tenth of a second.

Van Gisbergen’s fastest lap in the #97 Red Bull Ampol ZB Commodore was a 1:18.4468s which he set with the chequered flag out, putting him 0.0080s faster than Reynolds and 0.0856s up on Mostert in the #25 Mobil 1 Optus ZB Commodore.

Practice 1 fast man Will Brown (#9 Boost Mobile ZB Commodore) was fastest after the first flyers on a 1:18.8298s, before Cameron Waters (#6 Monster Energy Mustang) went to the top during the second runs on a 1:18.7191s.

However, as drivers began to move onto new super soft tyres, Lee Holdsworth (#10 Mustang) clocked a 1:18.6526s and then Penrite Racing team-mate Reynolds reset the practice/qualifying lap record to a 1:18.4548s.

Before the final runs, Mostert had moved to third on a 1:18.6979s, leaving Waters fourth and van Gisbergen, who had not used green tyres in Practice 1, fifth on a 1:18.7388s.

Mostert crept up with a 1:18.5324s on his final run, before the chequered flag came and van Gisbergen fired in the fastest Supercars lap ever at Winton.

Beyond the top three ended up Holdsworth in fourth, from Anton De Pasquale (#11 Shell V-Power Mustang) at 0.2126s off the pace, then Waters, Broc Feeney (#88 Red Bull Ampol ZB Commodore), Brown, Scott Pye (#20 Nulon ZB Commodore), and Will Davison (#17 Shell V-Power Mustang).

Nick Percat (#2 Mobil 1 NTI ZB Commodore) ended up 25th, one position up on Walkinshaw Andretti United team-mate Jayden Ojeda (#27 Mobil 1 East Coast Lubes ZB Commodore) in the squad’s wildcard entry.

There was an awkward moment at the start of the session when James Courtney (#5 Snowy River Caravans Mustang) attempted to pass both of the Dick Johnson Racing Mustangs on the out lap.

Onboard footage from Courtney’s car suggested contact with De Pasquale at the Sweeper (Turn 5), where he had to mount the inside kerb.

The 2010 champion ultimately set a 1:19.0378s which left him 11th on the timesheet at the end of the 30-minute hit-out, during which track temperature was up around 10 degrees Celsius on Practice 1.

Qualifying for Race 13 of the season, a three-part knockout session, starts at 13:05 local time/AEST.

Results: Practice 2

Pos Num Team/Sponsor Driver Car Fastest lap Split
1 97 Red Bull Ampol Racing Shane van Gisbergen Holden Commodore ZB 1:18.4468
2 26 Penrite Racing David Reynolds Ford Mustang GT 1:18.4548 0:00.0080
3 25 Mobil 1 Optus Racing Chaz Mostert Holden Commodore ZB 1:18.5324 0:00.0856
4 10 Penrite Racing Lee Holdsworth Ford Mustang GT 1:18.6526 0:00.2058
5 11 Shell V-Power Racing Team Anton De Pasquale Ford Mustang GT 1:18.6594 0:00.2126
6 6 Monster Energy Racing Cameron Waters Ford Mustang GT 1:18.7191 0:00.2723
7 88 Red Bull Ampol Racing Broc Feeney Holden Commodore ZB 1:18.8055 0:00.3587
8 9 Boost Mobile Racing by Erebus William Brown Holden Commodore ZB 1:18.8298 0:00.3830
9 20 Nulon Racing Scott Pye Holden Commodore ZB 1:18.9529 0:00.5061
10 17 Shell V-Power Racing Team Will Davison Ford Mustang GT 1:18.9977 0:00.5509
11 5 Snowy River Racing James Courtney Ford Mustang GT 1:19.0378 0:00.5910
12 8 R&J Batteries Racing Andre Heimgartner Holden Commodore ZB 1:19.0527 0:00.6059
13 35 Truck Assist Racing Todd Hazelwood Holden Commodore ZB 1:19.0658 0:00.6190
14 55 Castrol Racing Thomas Randle Ford Mustang GT 1:19.1265 0:00.6797
15 18 IRWIN Racing Mark Winterbottom Holden Commodore ZB 1:19.1338 0:00.6870
16 99 Boost Mobile Racing by Erebus Brodie Kostecki Holden Commodore ZB 1:19.1933 0:00.7465
17 3 CoolDrive Auto Parts Tim Slade Ford Mustang GT 1:19.2841 0:00.8373
18 56 Tradie Racing Jake Kostecki Ford Mustang GT 1:19.2978 0:00.8510
19 14 Middy’s Electrical Racing Bryce Fullwood Holden Commodore ZB 1:19.3185 0:00.8717
20 76 PremiAir Subway Racing Garry Jacobson Holden Commodore ZB 1:19.3231 0:00.8763
21 34 Truck Assist Racing Jack Le Brocq Holden Commodore ZB 1:19.3455 0:00.8987
22 96 Automotive Superstore Macauley Jones Holden Commodore ZB 1:19.4138 0:00.9670
23 4 SCT Logistics Racing Jack Smith Holden Commodore ZB 1:19.4503 0:01.0035
24 22 PremiAir Coca Cola Racing Chris Pither Holden Commodore ZB 1:19.4533 0:01.0065
25 2 Mobil 1 NTI Racing Nick Percat Holden Commodore ZB 1:19.4995 0:01.0527
26 27 Walkinshaw Andretti United Jayden Ojeda Holden Commodore ZB 1:19.5367 0:01.0899
27 49 Joss & Dynamic Jordan Boys Holden Commodore ZB 1:19.5490 0:01.1022

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]