Van Gisbergen wins, Courtney second in Perth SuperNight finale

Shane van Gisbergen. Picture: Ross Gibb

Shane van Gisbergen has made it two wins from three attempts at the Bunnings Trade Perth SuperNight, overcoming Will Davison and James Courtney to win Race 12.

Having taken victory in the earlier Sunday race, Davison threatened to go back-to-back before van Gisbergen fought his way to the pointy end.

Davison snatched the lead from van Gisbergen at the start but it was David Reynolds who was the best starter of the front quartet, mounting an immediate challenge for the lead.

Davison just hung on, and Reynolds would be relegated to third before the end of the lap as van Gisbergen capitalised on a Turn 6 lock-up from the #26 Grove Racing driver.

By Lap 13, van Gisbergen was all over the back of Race 11 winner Davison, but after the two-time champion was unable to execute a pass, the status quo remained through to the pit stop cycle.

Both of the leaders pushed their opening stint past the midway point of the race before Red Bull Ampol Racing blinked, bringing Car #97 in on Lap 25.

Davison pitted the next time by, and rejoined ahead of van Gisbergen – but both were behind early stopper Courtney.

Courtney had come in for fresh tyres on Lap 12, running fifth at that point in time, leaving serious question marks over his ability to hang on until the end.

On Lap 28, van Gisbergen got a good run out of Turn 6 to take Davison at the next corner, although the re-energised #17 Shell Mustang driver did not make life easy, and continued to pressure his rival for the following couple of laps.

All the while, Courtney was hanging on nicely at the front, maintaining roughly a two-second buffer into the final 10 laps.

Courtney indeed took the on-the-road lead once Anton De Pasquale peeled into the pits on Lap 31, returning in the back half of the top 10.

Having not initially realised Courtney was the race leader, van Gisbergen managed to narrow the margin to one second as Lap 39 commenced, with the #5 Snowy River Caravans Mustang in his sights, and got the job done at Turn 7 on Lap 40.

Merely seconds later, the #76 Subway Holden of Garry Jacobson stopped on-track with a transaxle issue, triggering a Safety Car intervention.

With a grandstand finish set up, it was van Gisbergen from Courtney, Davison, De Pasquale, and Reynolds in fifth as the race restarted with two laps remaining.

Friendly fire broke out on the penultimate lap when Brodie Kostecki attempted to divebomb Broc Feeney at Turn 7, only to sail past and into his cousin Jake Kostecki.

The latter, who had been enjoying the best day of his Repco Supercars Championship career, was forced to retire, beached in the gravel trap.

Van Gisbergen cruised to victory while Courtney staved off Davison and De Pasquale’s advances to secure second place and his first ever podium at Wanneroo Raceway.

Behind the top four, Will Brown snatched fifth from Reynolds, with Cameron Waters, Todd Hazelwood, Andre Heimgartner and Tim Slade rounding out the top 10.

Walkinshaw Andretti United’s Nick Percat and Chaz Mostert finished 15th and 19th respectively.

Mark Winterbottom was 20th, having been penalised for turning Thomas Randle around on the opening lap, with the latter 22nd.

Brodie Kostecki wound up 21st and apologetic.

Only 24 cars took part, Scott Pye a non-starter after his Race 11 crash.

Van Gisbergen now holds a 164-point lead over De Pasquale in the drivers’ championship, with Winton Motor Raceway next up in three weeks’ time.

Results: Race 12

Pos Num Team/Sponsor Driver Car Gap
1 97 Red Bull Ampol Racing Shane van Gisbergen Holden ZB Commodore
2 5 Snowy River Caravans James Courtney Ford Mustang GT +1.9130
3 17 Shell V-Power Racing Team Will Davison Ford Mustang GT +2.2131
4 11 Shell V-Power Racing Team Anton De Pasquale Ford Mustang GT +2.4760
5 9 Boost Mobile Racing by Erebus Will Brown Holden ZB Commodore +4.2573
6 26 Penrite Racing David Reynolds Ford Mustang GT +5.2374
7 6 Monster Energy Racing Cameron Waters Ford Mustang GT +5.5096
8 35 Truck Assist Racing Todd Hazelwood Holden ZB Commodore +5.9719
9 8 R&J Batteries Racing Andre Heimgartner Holden ZB Commodore +6.4009
10 3 CoolDrive Racing Tim Slade Ford Mustang GT +6.8339
11 88 Red Bull Ampol Racing Broc Feeney Holden ZB Commodore +7.5898
12 10 Penrite Racing Lee Holdsworth Ford Mustang GT +7.6319
13 34 Truck Assist Racing Jack Le Brocq Holden ZB Commodore +8.0405
14 14 Middy’s Electrical Racing Bryce Fullwood Holden ZB Commodore +8.4094
15 2 Mobil 1 NTI Racing Nick Percat Holden ZB Commodore +9.2583
16 96 Macauley Jones Holden ZB Commodore +9.4968
17 22 PremiAir Coca-Cola Racing Chris Pither Holden ZB Commodore +9.9209
18 4 SCT Logistics Racing Jack Smith Holden ZB Commodore +10.3906
19 25 Mobil 1 Optus Racing Chaz Mostert Holden ZB Commodore +10.4006
20 18 Irwin Racing Mark Winterbottom Holden ZB Commodore +10.7623
21 99 Boost Mobile Racing by Erebus Brodie Kostecki Holden ZB Commodore +37.9697
22 55 Castrol Racing Thomas Randle Ford Mustang GT +1 lap
NC 56 Tradie Racing Jake Kostecki Ford Mustang GT
NC 76 PremiAir Subway Racing Garry Jacobson Holden ZB Commodore
DNS 20 Nulon Racing Scott Pye Holden ZB Commodore

Fastest lap (bonus): Shane van Gisbergen, 0:54.8584s, Lap 45

Drivers’ championship

Pos Driver Pts
1 Shane van Gisbergen 1087
2 Anton De Pasquale 923
3 Will Davison 876
4 Cameron Waters 751
5 Chaz Mostert 745
6 Broc Feeney 725
7 David Reynolds 709
8 Brodie Kostecki 709
9 Tim Slade 659
10 James Courtney 639
11 Todd Hazelwood 618
12 Mark Winterbottom 553
13 Andre Heimgartner 538
14 Will Brown 532
15 Lee Holdsworth 530
16 Nick Percat 523
17 Macauley Jones 423
18 Scott Pye 411
19 Bryce Fullwood 382
20 Chris Pither 380
21 Thomas Randle 364
22 Garry Jacobson 357
23 Jack Le Brocq 354
24 Jake Kostecki 347
25 Jack Smith 344

Teams’ championship

Pos Car(s) Team Pts
1 88 97 Triple Eight Race Engineering 1812
2 11 17 Dick Johnson Racing 1799
3 5 6 Tickford Racing 1390
4 9 99 Erebus Motorsport 1241
5 10 26 Grove Racing 1239
6 2 25 Walkinshaw Andretti United 1238
7 34 35 Matt Stone Racing 972
8 18 20 Team 18 964
9 8 14 Brad Jones Racing 920
10 4 96 Brad Jones Racing 767
11 22 76 PremiAir Racing 737
12 55 56 Tickford Racing 711
13 3 Blanchard Racing Team 659

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]