Everingham beats Payne in Perth Super2 Race 2

Tyler Everingham

Tyler Everingham has claimed his maiden race win of the 2022 Dunlop Super2 Series holding off Matthew Payne in the final hitout at Wanneroo Raceway.

In a shortened affair, the #27 MW Motorsport Nissan Altima of Everingham crossed the line 0.3s ahead of Grove Racing title rival Payne.

It came down to the last lap as Payne looked to have the pace to challenge the race leader but ultimately ran out of time to complete a move.

Everingham vaulted ahead of pole-sitter Payne off the line but the action was short-lived with an early Safety Car due to a wild start-line incident.

The start-line incident. Pic: Fox Sports

As Nash Morris got going, the row ahead of him was a little slow off the mark and Morris drove into a hole that was closing between the two cars.

Morris’ FGX Falcon rode up the side of Brad Vaughan’s FG Falcon and leapt into the air before crashing back down to earth and coming to a halt.

The race restarted on Lap 3, with Everingham opening up a comfortable advantage to Payne.

A Safety Car was called once again on Lap 7 when Steven Page ran off the road at Turn 1 and became beached in the gravel.

Once again Everingham was able to hold the lead and with the race going time certain Payne ran out of time to make a pass before the chequered flag.

Declan Fraser finished on the podium in third place ahead of Cameron Hill and Jaylyn Robotham rounding out the top five.

Starting from the back of the grid Thomas Maxwell recovered to 17th position after being disqualified from qualifying.

Kai Allen won the Super3 class in 13th outright at the wheel of his #26 VE Commodore.

Results: Race 2

Pos Num Team/Sponsor Driver Car Cls Gap
1 27 Blue Ribbon Legal / MWM Tyler Everingham Nissan Altima S2
2 10 Grove Racing Matthew Payne Nissan Altima S2 +0.3484
3 777 Triple Eight Race Engineering Declan Fraser Holden Commodore VF S2 +3.5743
4 111 Triple Eight Race Engineering Cameron Hill Holden Commodore VF S2 +5.0346
5 999 Erebus Academy / Image Racing Jaylyn Robotham Holden Commodore VF S2 +9.8610
6 11 Brema Group Racing Zane Morse Holden Commodore VF S2 +11.9207
7 78 Best Leisure Industries Zak Best Ford Falcon FG/X S2 +12.0685
8 6 MWM Angelo Mouzouris Nissan Altima S2 +12.2053
9 54 Eggleston Motorsport Matthew McLean Holden Commodore VF S2 +13.2007
10 30 Sherrin Rentals Aaron Seton Holden Commodore VF S2 +13.6755
11 38 Eggleston Motorsport Cameron Crick Holden Commodore VF S2 +15.5024
12 58 EFS 4×4 Accessories Ryal Harris Holden Commodore VF S2 +16.2221
13 26 Eggleston Motorsport Kai Allen Holden Commodore VE CH +16.5634
14 18 Cavalier Homes Matthew Chahda Ford Falcon FG/X S2 +18.2796
15 49 AWC / Image Racing Jay Hanson Holden Commodore VF S2 +18.6163
16 5 Anderson Motorsport Brad Vaughan Ford Falcon FG CH +19.1040
17 3 MWM Thomas Maxwell Nissan Altima S2 +22.2250
18 77 MR HDT Race Cars Blake Fardell Holden Commodore VE2 CH +23.0245
19 8 Steeline Racing Elly Morrow Holden Commodore VF S2 +26.6610
20 76 AC Electrical & Air Conditioni Garry Hills Holden Commodore VE2 SC3 +34.4431
21 7 Mocomm Motorsport Comms Jim Pollicina Holden Commodore VE SC3 +35.3669
22 39 Vectra Corp Chris Smerdon Ford Falcon FG SC3 +49.6480
23 4 Crusher Parts International Tony Auddino Ford Falcon BF SC3 +51.8123
24 35 Unit Racing Jason Gomersall Ford Falcon FG SC3 +1 lap
25 2 Page Bros Jayco Steven Page Holden Commodore VE2 SC3 +3 laps
NC 67 Flash Bush Motorsports Nash Morris Ford Falcon FG/X S2

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]