Bagnaia storms to Jerez MotoGP pole, Miller fourth

Francesco Bagnaia. Picture:

Francesco Bagnaia has broken the All Time Lap Record at Jerez on his way to pole position for the Spanish MotoGP, while factory Ducati team-mate Jack Miller qualified fourth.

As the latter three free practice sessions in particular had suggested, the battle for pole in Round 6 essentially came down to a duel between Bagnaia and Fabio Quartararo.

At the end of the first runs in Qualifying 2, the championship leader was on top on a 1:36.790s, with Bagnaia second on a 1:36.863s, and Aprilia Racing’s Aleix Espargaro a relatively distant third on a 1:37.231s.

Kicking off his second run, Bagnaia stormed to a 1:36.170s while Quartararo could only fashion a 1:36.623s on his Monster Energy Yamaha.

With no subsequent improvement, the Frenchman thus missed out on pole at Jerez for the first time in his MotoGP career, having got his very first in MotoGP at the Spanish venue in 2019, both in the heavily COVID-affected 2020 season, and another again last year.

Miller provisionally had both Ducati Lenovo Team entries on the front row having set a 1:37.049s on his second run, but Espargaro reclaimed third position with a 1:36.933s on his final lap.

Marc Marquez (Repsol Honda) qualified fifth and Johann Zarco (Pramac Ducati) sixth, the latter of whom left it very late to get out of Qualifying 1.

Row 3 is Takaaki Nakagami (Idemitsu LCR Honda) took seventh, from the other Q1 graduate in Marco Bezzecchi (Mooney VR46 Ducati), and then Joan Mir (Suzuki Ecstar), who crashed in the closing stages at Turn 1.

Jorge Martin (Pramac Ducati) had a spill on his way to 10th and will share Row 4 with Enea Bastianini (Gresini Ducati) and Maverick Viñales (Aprilia Racing).

Tech3 KTM’s Remy Gardner ended up 18th after he ended up on the floor at the first corner during Q1.

Race start is scheduled for Sunday at 22:00 AEST.

Qualifying: Spanish MotoGP

Pos Num Rider Nat Team Bike Time Gap 1st/prev Session
1 63 Francesco BAGNAIA ITA Ducati Lenovo Team Ducati 1:36.170   Q2
2 20 Fabio QUARTARARO FRA Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha 1:36.623 0.453/0.453 Q2
3 41 Aleix ESPARGARO SPA Aprilia Racing Aprilia 1:36.933 0.763/0.310 Q2
4 43 Jack MILLER AUS Ducati Lenovo Team Ducati 1:37.049 0.879/0.116 Q2
5 93 Marc MARQUEZ SPA Repsol Honda Team Honda 1:37.145 0.975/0.096 Q2
6 5 Johann ZARCO FRA Pramac Racing Ducati 1:37.220 1.050/0.075 Q2
7 30 Takaaki NAKAGAMI JPN LCR Honda IDEMITSU Honda 1:37.254 1.084/0.034 Q2
8 72 Marco BEZZECCHI ITA Mooney VR46 Racing Team Ducati 1:37.285 1.115/0.031 Q2
9 36 Joan MIR SPA Team SUZUKI ECSTAR Suzuki 1:37.330 1.160/0.045 Q2
10 89 Jorge MARTIN SPA Pramac Racing Ducati 1:37.526 1.356/0.196 Q2
11 23 Enea BASTIANINI ITA Gresini Racing MotoGP Ducati 1:37.618 1.448/0.092 Q2
12 12 Maverick VIÑALES SPA Aprilia Racing Aprilia 1:37.675 1.505/0.057 Q2
13 44 Pol ESPARGARO SPA Repsol Honda Team Honda 1:37.138 0.135 Q1
14 42 Alex RINS SPA Team SUZUKI ECSTAR Suzuki 1:37.401 0.398/0.263 Q1
15 33 Brad BINDER RSA Red Bull KTM Factory Racing KTM 1:37.544 0.541/0.143 Q1
16 21 Franco MORBIDELLI ITA Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha 1:37.668 0.665/0.124 Q1
17 49 Fabio DI GIANNANTONIO ITA Gresini Racing MotoGP Ducati 1:37.882 0.879/0.214 Q1
18 87 Remy GARDNER AUS Tech3 KTM Factory Racing KTM 1:37.889 0.886/0.007 Q1
19 10 Luca MARINI ITA Mooney VR46 Racing Team Ducati 1:37.910 0.907/0.021 Q1
20 6 Stefan BRADL GER Team HRC Honda 1:37.937 0.934/0.027 Q1
21 88 Miguel OLIVEIRA POR Red Bull KTM Factory Racing KTM 1:37.958 0.955/0.021 Q1
22 73 Alex MARQUEZ SPA LCR Honda CASTROL Honda 1:38.014 1.011/0.056 Q1
23 04 Andrea DOVIZIOSO ITA WithU Yamaha RNF MotoGP Team Yamaha 1:38.064 1.061/0.050 Q1
24 32 Lorenzo SAVADORI ITA Aprilia Racing Aprilia 1:38.244 1.241/0.180 Q1
25 40 Darryn BINDER RSA WithU Yamaha RNF MotoGP Team Yamaha 1:38.405 1.402/0.161 Q1

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]