Fraser leads T8 one-two in Super2 Practice 2 in Perth

Declan Fraser

Declan Fraser has led a Triple Eight Race Engineering one-two in Practice 2 for Round 2 of the Dunlop Super2 Series at Perth’s Wanneroo Raceway.

In a heavily red flag-disrupted session, which ended slightly shy of the scheduled 40 minutes, Fraser ended up on top with a 0:55.5446s in the #777 VF Commodore, while team-mate Cameron Hill went as quick as a 0:55.6252s.

After the first flyers, it was Tyler Everingham (#27 MW Motorsport Nissan Altima) who was quickest on a 0:56.7636s, before Hill knocked him off next time around with a 0:56.5387s.

Hill further improved to a 0:56.3093s on his third lap, putting him just ahead of Fraser’s 0:56.3848s, with both of those laps coming just before a brief red flag period.

Fraser punched out a 0:56.1703s on a short run right after the red flag, and then clocked a 0:55.9910s in the 25th minute, as Matt Payne (#10 Grove Racing Nissan Altima) and Practice 1 fast man Matt McLean (#54 Eggleston Motorsport VF Commodore) came close to going quickest.

Hill returned to the top with a 0:55.6381s and 0:55.6252s on consecutive laps just before the half-hour mark, and a second red flag period.

It was a similar story again in the final minutes, with Fraser setting a 0:55.5466s, and then yet another red flag bringing a slightly premature end to proceedings.

That stoppage, triggered by Nash Morris (#67 Flash Bush Motorsports FGX Falcon) getting stuck in the sand at Turn 1, made for a top three of Fraser, Hill, and MWM’s Thomas Maxwell (#3 Nissan Altima) on a 0:55.6825s.

Everingham ended up fourth on a 0:55.7895s, ahead of Cameron Crick (#38 Eggleston VF Commodore), Aaron Seton (#30 Matt Stone Racing VF Commodore), and series leader Zak Best (#78 Tickford Racing FGX Falcon), the latter on a 0:56.0071s.

Rounding out the top 10 were Angelo Mouzouris (#6 MWM Nissan Altima), Jaylyn Robotham (#999 Image Racing VF Commodore), and McLean.

In the Super3 class, Kai Allen (#26 Eggleston VE Commodore) was quickest in 13th outright on a 0:56.4259s, followed by Brad Vaughan (#5 Anderson Motorsport FG Falcon) in 15th outright on a 0:56.5374s.

Qualifying for Race 1 starts tomorrow at 14:00 local time/16:00 AEST.

Results: Practice 2

Pos Num Team/Sponsor Driver Car Cls Fastest lap Split
1 777 Triple Eight Race Engineering Declan Fraser Holden Commodore VF S2 0:55.5446
2 111 Triple Eight Race Engineering Cameron Hill Holden Commodore VF S2 0:55.6252 0:00.0806
3 3 MWM Thomas Maxwell Nissan Altima S2 0:55.6825 0:00.1379
4 27 Blue Ribbon Legal / MWM Tyler Everingham Nissan Altima S2 0:55.7895 0:00.2449
5 38 Eggleston Motorsport Cameron Crick Holden Commodore VF S2 0:55.9988 0:00.4542
6 30 Sherrin Rentals Aaron Seton Holden Commodore VF S2 0:56.0071 0:00.4625
7 78 Best Leisure Industries Zak Best Ford Falcon FG/X S2 0:56.0483 0:00.5037
8 6 MWM Angelo Mouzouris Nissan Altima S2 0:56.0612 0:00.5166
9 999 Erebus Academy / Image Racing Jaylyn Robotham Holden Commodore VF S2 0:56.0616 0:00.5170
10 54 Eggleston Motorsport Matthew McLean Holden Commodore VF S2 0:56.1036 0:00.5590
11 10 Grove Racing Matthew Payne Nissan Altima S2 0:56.2327 0:00.6881
12 49 AWC / Image Racing Jay Hanson Holden Commodore VF S2 0:56.3401 0:00.7955
13 26 Eggleston Motorsport Kai Allen Holden Commodore VE CH 0:56.4259 0:00.8813
14 18 Cavalier Homes Matthew Chahda Ford Falcon FG/X S2 0:56.4648 0:00.9202
15 5 Anderson Motorsport Brad Vaughan Ford Falcon FG CH 0:56.5374 0:00.9928
16 67 Flash Bush Motorsports Nash Morris Ford Falcon FG/X S2 0:56.5715 0:01.0269
17 11 Brema Group Racing Zane Morse Holden Commodore VF S2 0:56.6146 0:01.0700
18 58 EFS 4×4 Accessories Ryal Harris Holden Commodore VF S2 0:56.6821 0:01.1375
19 77 MR HDT Race Cars Blake Fardell Holden Commodore VE2 CH 0:57.0270 0:01.4824
20 8 Steeline Racing Elly Morrow Holden Commodore VF S2 0:57.3038 0:01.7592
21 39 Vectra Corp Chris Smerdon Ford Falcon FG SC3 0:57.6322 0:02.0876
22 76 AC Electrical & Air Conditioni Garry Hills Holden Commodore VE2 SC3 0:57.7176 0:02.1730
23 35 Unit Racing Jason Gomersall Ford Falcon FG SC3 0:58.4021 0:02.8575
24 7 Mocomm Motorsport Comms Jim Pollicina Holden Commodore VE SC3 0:58.4983 0:02.9537
25 4 Crusher Parts International Tony Auddino Ford Falcon BF SC3 0:59.8992 0:04.3546
26 2 Page Bros Jayco Steven Page Holden Commodore VE2 SC3 1:01.0776 0:05.5330
27 96 Collins Racing Gary Collins Holden Commodore VE2 SC3 1:01.6390 0:06.0944

Classes: S2 Super2, CH Super3 Championship, SC3 Super3 Cup, HC Super3 Heritage Class

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]