Miller gets grid penalty for impeding Quartararo

Fabio Quartararo gesticulates at Jack Miller. Picture: Fox Sports

Jack Miller has been issued a grid penalty for impeding Fabio Quartararo in Qualifying 2 at the Gran Premio Michelin De La Republica Argentina.

The Queenslander had finished the session 11th-fastest after a crash at the start of his second flying lap at Termas de Rio Hondo, but has been penalised three positions on the grid for Sunday’s (local time) race.

With the #43 Ducati Lenovo Team entry dropping to 14th, Brad Binder (Red Bull KTM) is promoted to 11th, Enea Bastianini (Gresini Ducati) to 12th, and Miller’s team-mate Francesco Bagnaia to 13th.

The drama unfolded early in riders’ second runs when Quartararo (Monster Energy Yamaha) happened upon #43 on the run from Turn 6 to Turn 7, while on a flyer.

The Frenchman was obviously angered by the incident, seen gesticulating at Miller as he abandoned the lap and eased into the long lap loop at Turn 7/Turn 8.

Race Direction quickly advised that the incident was under investigation, with a decision now reached.

“On 2 April 2022 at 17:41 during the Q2 session of the GRAN PREMIO MICHELIN® DE LA REPUBLICA ARGENTINA you were observed to be riding slow on line disturbing another rider at entry of Turn 7,” reads the official Notification of Sanction, in part.

“This contravenes instructions given to all teams and teams/competitors, and it is considered irresponsible riding causing danger to other competitors. It is therefore an infringement of Article 1.21.2 of the FIM World Championship Grand Prix Regulations.”

UPDATE: Miller reacts to the penalty

Quartararo subsequently set a lap time of 1:38.281s, ultimately just under six tenths of a second away from the very fastest lap of the session, leaving him sixth on the grid.

Just a fortnight ago, he and Miller had some unkind words for each other when the latter was aggrieved after contact they had in the Indonesian Grand Prix.

In Argentina, Aleix Espargaro is set to start from pole position, Aprilia’s first in the MotoGP era, when the race gets underway on Monday at 04:00 AEST.

Starting grid: Argentina MotoGP

Pos Num Rider Nat Team Bike  
1 41 Aleix ESPARGARO ESP Aprilia Racing Aprilia
2 89 Jorge MARTIN ESP Pramac Racing Ducati
3 10 Luca MARINI ITA Mooney VR46 Racing Team Ducati
4 44 Pol ESPARGARO ESP Repsol Honda Team Honda
5 12 Maverick VIÑALES ESP Aprilia Racing Aprilia
6 20 Fabio QUARTARARO FRA Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha
7 42 Alex RINS ESP Team SUZUKI ECSTAR Suzuki
8 36 Joan MIR ESP Team SUZUKI ECSTAR Suzuki
9 5 Johann ZARCO FRA Pramac Racing Ducati
10 30 Takaaki NAKAGAMI JPN LCR Honda IDEMITSU Honda
11 33 Brad BINDER RSA Red Bull KTM Factory Racing KTM
12 23 Enea BASTIANINI ITA Gresini Racing MotoGP Ducati
13 63 Francesco BAGNAIA ITA Ducati Lenovo Team Ducati
14 43 Jack MILLER AUS Ducati Lenovo Team Ducati Penalty
15 21 Franco MORBIDELLI ITA Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha
16 88 Miguel OLIVEIRA POR Red Bull KTM Factory Racing KTM
17 72 Marco BEZZECCHI ITA Mooney VR46 Racing Team Ducati
18 04 Andrea DOVIZIOSO ITA WithU Yamaha RNF MotoGP Team Yamaha
19 73 Alex MARQUEZ ESP LCR Honda CASTROL Honda
20 49 Fabio DI GIANNANTONIO ITA Gresini Racing MotoGP Ducati
21 25 Raul FERNANDEZ ESP Tech3 KTM Factory Racing KTM
22 87 Remy GARDNER AUS Tech3 KTM Factory Racing KTM
23 40 Darryn BINDER RSA WithU Yamaha RNF MotoGP Team Yamaha
24 6 Stefan BRADL GER Repsol Honda Team Honda

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]