Davison headlines capacity S5000 field for AGP

James Davison got a brief taste of S5000 machinery at the shortlived 2020 Australian Grand Prix

All 17 S5000 cars will hit the track at Albert Park next month in support of the 2022 Formula 1 Heineken Australian Grand Prix.

Among the new faces will be six-time Indianapolis 500 starter James Davison, the cousin of Supercars veterans Will and Alex Davison.

The 35-year-old, who last year competed in 20 NASCAR Cup Series races, will line-up for Team BRM with backing from Pilatus.

Davison had made his S5000 debut at the 2020 AGP, only for no racing to proceed as COVID-19 forced the event to be called off.

Other newcomers include Super2 Series stalwart Matt Chahda, Garry Rogers Motorsport teen Sebastien Amadio, Australian Formula Ford driver Conor Somers, and Hyundai Excel competitor Lee Stibbs.

Zane Goddard is back for a second straight round, while Nathan Herne returns to the GRM line-up having skipped Rounds 1 and 2 this year.

Two seats are listed as ‘TBA’, with GRM to announce the identities of those drivers later in the week.

Tim Macrow leads the standings by just one point over 2021 Gold Star winner Joey Mawson, with both Cooper Webster and James Golding merely two points further adrift.

There will be three S5000 races across the AGP weekend, with one each on Friday, Saturday and Sunday.

Entry list: S5000 Australian Drivers’ Championship, Albert Park (Round 3)

Number Sponsor Driver Colour
1 Form700/ALABAR Team BRM Joey Mawson Black/Red
3 Form700/ALABAR Team BRM Zane Goddard Black/Red
4 Pilatus Team BRM James Davison Blue/White
8 Versa Motorsport Shae Davies Black/Yellow/Orange
12 Giraffe Civil Adam Garwood Black/Orange
15 Team BRM Kaleb Ngatoa Blue
17 GRM TBA Blue/White
18 GRM TBA Black/Gold
22 Amadio Motorsport GRM Sebastien Amadio Black
23 UCS Group Racing TMR Tim Macrow Orange/Black
29 Team Valvoline GRM Nathan Herne White/Blue
31 Team Valvoline GRM James Golding Red
37 Versa Motorsport Cooper Webster Black/Yellow
48 Nippy’s Blake Purdie White/Orange
71 Hi-Tech Field Services Conor Somers Black/Orange
81 Matt Chahda Motorsport Matt Chahda Black/Red
88 ACMFinance/Arrow Cars Lee Stibbs Blue/Pink

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]