Herne loses Trans Am win due to post-race penalty

The contact between Nathan Herne (#1) and Owen Kelly (#73). Picture: Stan Sport

Nathan Herne has lost his win in Race 1 of Round 2 of the Turtle Wax Trans Am Series at Phillip Island due to a clash with team-mate Owen Kelly.

The Garry Rogers Motorsport driver on the receiving end of that contact inherits victory, with Round 1 winner Tim Brook promoted to second position and Ben Grice to third.

Herne had taken second place from Kelly when he gave Car #73 a tap at the Turn 4 Hairpin on Lap 2.

He would go on to pass Grice after a mid-race Safety Car period and take the chequered flag in first position, but officials took a dim view of the incident and Car #1 has been relegated to fourth.

Ironically, Herne had driven from fifth on the grid to the preliminary win after incurring a grid penalty earlier in the day for a red flag infringement in Qualifying.

He had been set to start second when the grid reverted to combined practice results, before the sanction was applied.

Herne himself wrote on social media, “Got penalised in qualifying which made me start from P5 instead of P2, drove to the win and now have a penalty pushing me back to P4 for a bump and run on a teammate which ultimately affected no one.

“Gutted. Have to do it all again tomorrow. I’ve done it already and we know we’re the fastest car so no excuses not to win again tomorrow.

“I’ll be sooky and sulky tonight but tomorrow is a new day, hopefully one without a trip to the stewards before they know me on a first name basis.”

Race 2 of Trans Am at the Shannons Motorsport Australia Championships takes place tomorrow at 11:20 local time/AEDT.

It is thus the curtain-raiser for Stan Sport’s live and ad-free streaming coverage, which kicks off again at 11:00 AEDT.

Results: Race 1 Updated

Pos Num Team/Sponsor Driver Car Cls Laps Race time
1 73 Owen Kelly Motorsport Owen Kelly Ford Mustang O 11 21:02.5955
2 38 Monochrome / Wall Racing Tim Brook Ford Mustang O 11 21:02.7138
3 03 All American Driveline Ben Grice Ford Mustang O 11 21:03.6499
4 1 Team Valvoline GRM Nathan Herne Ford Mustang O 11 21:01.5986
5 2 Micale Cabinets /Nuveau Group Kyle Gurton Ford Mustang O 11 21:03.7483
6 45 Up2 /11 Motorsport /GRM Lochie Dalton Ford Mustang O 11 21:04.1805
7 99 TPS Group /Breeze Holiday Park Brett Holdsworth Chevrolet Camaro O 11 21:04.6730
8 67 Supercheap Auto Nash Morris Ford Mustang O 11 21:05.1279
9 36 Cody Burcher Racing Cody Burcher Ford Mustang O 11 21:05.2117
10 69 Dial Before you Dig Jon McCorkindale Ford Mustang O 11 21:06.3962
11 117 All Properties Group Jett Johnson Ford Mustang H 11 21:06.6561
12 8 Wealth Rite Racing Chris Pappas Ford Mustang H 11 21:07.1839
13 88 Ownit Homes /Superior Jetties John Harris Ford Mustang H 11 21:08.2691
14 116 Sydney Property Care Edan Thornburrow Ford Mustang O 11 21:09.7126
15 33 Team Boley Racing Brock Boley Chevrolet Camaro H 11 21:12.6897
16 23 Holinger Racing John Holinger Chevrolet Camaro M 11 21:13.9830
17 6 McAlister Motors Hugh McAlister Ford Mustang H 11 21:14.9246
18 4 Crutcher Devlopments Mark Crutcher Ford Mustang M 11 21:15.1227
19 26 Hass Pumps Jason Hassett Chevrolet Camaro M 11 21:16.7082
20 15 Pacific Petroleum/Carroll Tyre Michael Rowell Ford Mustang M 11 21:17.2449
21 11 Kobelco Racing Steve Coulter Ford Mustang M 11 21:19.2262
22 777 Dream Racing Australia Craig Scutella Chevrolet Camaro M 11 21:21.0481
23 12 Shaun Richardson Motorsport Shaun Richardson Dodge Challenger H 11 21:23.9312
24 48 Nic Carroll Motorsport Nic Carroll Dodge Challenger O 11 22:38.4288
25 31 Bruce Lynton Service Dalton Ellery Ford Mustang H 10 22:28.8080
DNF 37 Dream Racing Australia Jackson Rice Dodge Challenger O 10 19:28.3231

Classes: O Outright, H Hoosier Cup, M Masters Cup

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]