Hanson wins TCR Race 1, Coulthard fourth

Jay Hanson. Picture: Supercheap Auto TCR Australia Series

Jay Hanson has his second win of the 2022 Supercheap Auto TCR Australia Series while Fabian Coulthard finished fourth in the opening encounter of Round 2 at Phillip Island.

Hanson had qualified on pole position and led all but the first of 16 laps in the #9 Melbourne Performance Centre Audi RS 3 LMS on his way to a 1.7162s victory in Race 1.

A pair of Garry Rogers Motorsport Peugeot 308s completed the podium, with Jordan Cox second and Dylan O’Keeffe another 2.4557s back in third, on the Saturday afternoon of the Shannons Motorsport Australia Championships meeting.

Coulthard ended up 9.4919s away from victory in the Stan Sport Wall Racing entry, one position ahead of fellow Honda driver Zac Soutar.

There were dramas for several notables, however, with Michael Caruso going from a front row start to 17th after being pushed into the weeds by Liam McAdam, damage for Will Brown and Nathan Morcom, and a DNF for Round 1 winner Josh Buchan.

Stan Sport is the only way to watch every round of the TCR. Click here for all the action streaming ad-free, live and on demand.

Caruso’s race had started well, getting away smartly enough to cover Hanson for the run to the first corner, ahead of McAdam (Audi), Cox, and O’Keeffe.

Coulthard, who had a mishap in qualifying when he beached the #24 Honda Civic Type R, emerged ninth from the opening corners but passed team-mate Tony D’Alberto (Honda) for seventh at MG.

Hanson then blazed past Caruso and into the lead as they ran down Gardner Straight at the end of the standing lap, before McAdam latched onto the back of the #10 Alfa Romeo Giulietta Veloce.

The privateer Audi driver put Caruso under big pressure until he dropped a rear wheel into the dirt exiting Stoner Corner on Lap 3, which caused him to squirm and ultimately punt the Ashley Seward Motorsport entry as they arrived at the Turn 4 Hairpin.

By then, Hanson was out to a 2.7s lead, and his margin over the field would be 3.0s at the end of Lap 4 thanks to McAdam serving a drive-through penalty for the aforementioned incident.

As such, Coulthard’s move on Soutar as they rounded the final bend on that same lap gave the TCR newcomer fourth position, behind Hanson, Cox, and O’Keeffe.

Cox then enjoyed a turn of pace and had reduced his deficit to first position to as little as one second by the end of Lap 10, before the tide began to turn again.

Hanson eased to a solid victory, his second ever in Supercheap Auto TCR Australia after also taking out Race 1 of Round 1 of the campaign at Symmons Plains.

Soutar got home in fifth but now leads the series, by a four-point margin over Cox.

Aaron Cameron (Peugeot) finished sixth, from D’Alberto, Lachlan Mineeff (Volkswagen), Michael Clemente (Honda), and Ben Bargwanna (Peugeot).

Caruso ended up last of those on the lead lap in 17th position, with Brown and Morcom the other two finishers.

Brown had to pit during the contest after an early stoush with D’Alberto over eighth position left his #999 Audi with bodywork damage which would damage the left-front tyre.

Morcom had a visit to the pits after experiencing a power steering failure which led to him also hitting Car #999, while Buchan made for two HMO Customer Racing Hyundai drivers with steering damage when he had contact with Clemente.

Race 2, another 16-lapper, starts tomorrow at 13:05 local time/AEDT and can be seen live and ad-free on Stan Sport.

CLICK HERE for event schedule

Results: Race 1

Pos Num Team/Sponsor Driver Car Laps Race time
1 9 AWC MPC Racing Jay Hanson Audi RS 3 16 26:22.4402
2 33 Swyftx GRM Jordan Cox Peugeot 308 TCR 16 26:24.1564
3 8 Schaeffler GRM Dylan O’Keeffe Peugeot 308 TCR 16 26:26.6121
4 24 Stan Sport Wall Racing Fabian Coulthard Honda Civic Type R 16 26:31.9321
5 110 Team Soutar Motorsport Zac Soutar Honda Civic Type R 16 26:34.0895
6 18 Team Valvoline GRM Aaron Cameron Peugeot 308 TCR 16 26:35.2593
7 50 Honda Wall Racing Tony D’Alberto Honda Civic Type R 16 26:38.5327
8 14 Purple Sector Lachlan Mineeff Volkswagen Golf GTI 16 26:39.6594
9 15 Michael Clemente Motorsport Michael Clemente Honda Civic Type R 16 26:40.8909
10 71 Burson Auto Parts Racing Ben Bargwanna Peugeot 308 TCR 16 26:41.2320
11 130 HMO Customer Racing Bailey Sweeny Hyundai i30N 16 26:42.9347
12 34 LMCT+ Racing GRM James Moffat Renault Megane RS 16 26:43.2807
13 22 Melbourne Performance Centre Iain McDougall Audi RS 3 16 26:43.5951
14 333 Royal Purple Racing Brad Shiels Hyundai i30N 16 26:45.5761
15 89 Braydan Willmington M’Sport Braydan Willmington Alfa Romeo Giulietta 16 26:51.0863
16 41 Valvoline Racing GRM Kody Garland Renault Megane RS 16 26:54.7244
17 10 Ashley Seward Motorsport Michael Caruso Alfa Romeo Giulietta 16 26:55.0932
18 999 MPC Team LIQUI MOLY William Brown Audi RS 3 15 26:56.0019
19 11 HMO Customer Racing Nathan Morcom Hyundai i30N 14 28:09.2927
DNF 97 Forza Brakes Motorsport Liam McAdam Audi RS 3 15 25:36.9900
DNF 30 HMO Customer Racing Josh Buchan Hyundai i30N 3 5:13.0741

Series points

Pos Driver Pts
1 Zac Soutar 156
2 Jordan Cox 152
3 Tony D’Alberto 150
4 Jay Hanson 140
5 Nathan Morcom 120
6 Josh Buchan 118
7 William Brown 113
8 Aaron Cameron 112
9 Fabian Coulthard 108
10 Michael Caruso 105
11 Brad Shiels 104
12 Dylan O’Keeffe 102
13 Braydan Willmington 91
14 Bailey Sweeny 87
15 Lachlan Mineeff 83
16 Ben Bargwanna 75
17 Liam McAdam 69
18 James Moffat 68
19 Eddie Maguire 58
20 Michael Clemente 32
21 Iain McDougall 25
22 Kody Garland 22

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]