Best wins chaotic Super2 Race 2 at SMP

Zak Best wins. Picture: Ross Gibb

Tickford Racing’s Zak Best leads the Dunlop Super2 Series after winning a chaotic second race of Round 1 at a wet Sydney Motorsport Park.

Best led the field to the chequered flag under the third Safety Car period of the race, ahead of Grove Racing’s Matt Payne and Triple Eight Race Engineering’s Declan Fraser.

Angelo Mouzouris was among the DNFs due to damage which he incurred when he hit Cameron Hill at the first braking zone of the race, while the afternoons of Ryal Harris and Nash Morris ended in a crunch at Turn 05 just after the second restart.

There was carnage at both ends of the field as soon as the race got underway, triggering a Lap 1 Safety Car.

Hill had made a good start from Row 2 and challenged pole-sitting team-mate Fraser as they headed for Bond Bend (Turn 2), only to be punted there by Mouzouris (#6 MW Motorsport Nissan Altima).

Angelo Mouzouris punts Cameron Hill. Picture: Fox Sports

Tyler Everingham (#27 MWM Nissan Altima) and Super3 driver Kai Allen (#26 Eggleston Motorsport VE Commodore) both failed to get away initially from Rows 2 and 3 respectively, but the contact on the main straight in fact occurred up the back.

The reason for the neutralisation was a tangle firstly between James Masterton (#219 Masterton Motorsports VE Commodore) and Tony Auddino (#4 Tony Auddino BF Falcon) as they left the grid, which caused to former to clatter into Paul Boschert (#25 Paul Boschert VE Commodore).

Hill and Mouzouris were both into the pits for running repairs and while the former was able to be dispatched while still on the lead lap, the latter would be forced to relent when he was into the lane a second time under Safety Car.

The mess on the grid. Picture: Fox Sports

At that point, Fraser led Best (#78 FGX Falcon), Payne (#10 Nissan Altima), Thomas Maxwell (#3 MWM Nissan Altima), Aaron Seton (#30 Matt Stone Racing VF Commodore), Matt McLean (#54 Eggleston VF Commodore), Jaylyn Robotham (#999 Image Racing VF Commodore), Zane Morse (#11 Brema Group VF Commodore), Everingham, and Harris (#58 MSR VF Commodore), with Hill back in 26th.

The race restarted on Lap 5 and when Fraser was slow off Brock’s 05, Best was able to clear him down the outside of the track and drive into the race lead by the time they arrived at Turn 6.

Payne moved into second spot when he passed Fraser as they ran down Brabham Straight to commence Lap 6, before an almighty stoush broke out in the latter half of the top 10.

McLean was in the thick of it, eventually losing his rear bumper after copping a nudge from Everingham at the Turn 8 hairpin, although that was just one of several hits that the #54 VF Commodore took.

McLean’s Eggleston team-mate Cameron Crick ended up in the wall after a tangle with Morse at the Turn 8 hairpin on Lap 8, necessitating a second Safety Car period.

Best was leading by almost two seconds at that point, from Payne, Fraser, Maxwell, Seton, Everingham, Race 1 winner Robotham, McLean, Jay Hanson (#49 Image VF Commodore), Harris in 10th, and Morris (#67 Flash Bush Motorsport FGX Falcon) in 11th.

Another restart came on Lap 12, at which point Everingham went down the inside of Seton at Turn 3 and Robotham followed him through at Turn 4.

Behind them, Harris was forced wide and onto the wet grass at Turn 4, before sliding back across the track at 05 and taking out Morris.

The Safety Car was scrambled yet again and that would effectively be the end of the action, meaning Best won the race from Payne, Fraser, Maxwell, Everingham, Robotham, and Seton.

Matt Chahda Motorsport gambled on slick tyres for Matt Chahda (#18 FGX Falcon), making him the only driver in the field not on wets, and he drove from 12th to eighth in the final green flag period as the track continued to dry out.

Hanson finished ninth, McLean rounded out the top 10, Allen salvaged the Super3 win in 11th outright, his class rival Brad Vaughan (#5 Anderson Motorsport FG Falcon) took 12th, and Hill got back to 13th outright and 11th in the Super2 class.

Best has 288 points to Payne’s 258 at the head of the Super2 series standings after the first round of 2022.

Round 2, as the calendar currently stands, supports the Bunnings Trade Perth SuperNight at Wanneroo Raceway on April 30-May 1.

Results: Race 2 Updated

Pos Num Team/Sponsor Driver Car Cls Laps Race time
1 78 Best Leisure Industries Zak Best Ford Falcon FG/X S2 13 30:47.3247
2 10 Grove Racing Matthew Payne Nissan Altima S2 13 30:48.4023
3 777 Triple Eight Race Engineering Declan Fraser Holden Commodore VF S2 13 30:49.0916
4 3 MWM Thomas Maxwell Nissan Altima S2 13 30:50.2029
5 27 Blue Ribbon Legal / MWM Tyler Everingham Nissan Altima S2 13 30:51.2013
6 999 Erebus Academy / Image Racing Jaylyn Robotham Holden Commodore VF S2 13 30:51.8542
7 30 Sherrin Rentals Aaron Seton Holden Commodore VF S2 13 30:52.4787
8 18 Cavalier Homes Matthew Chahda Ford Falcon FG/X S2 13 30:53.0608
9 49 Image Racing Jay Hanson Holden Commodore VF S2 13 30:53.9032
10 26 Eggleston Motorsport Kai Allen Holden Commodore VE CH 13 30:55.0837
11 5 Anderson Motorsport Brad Vaughan Ford Falcon FG CH 13 30:55.3086
12 111 Triple Eight Race Engineering Cameron Hill Holden Commodore VF S2 13 30:56.4342
13 23 RHM / Nulon Ray Hislop Ford Falcon BA SC3 13 30:57.5626
14 77 Mr HDT Race Cars Blake Fardell Holden Commodore VE2 CH 13 30:58.0496
15 11 Brema Group Racing Zane Morse Holden Commodore VF S2 13 30:58.4939
16 8 Steeline Racing Elly Morrow Holden Commodore VF S2 13 31:00.5187
17 7 Mocomm Motorsport Comms Jim Pollicina Holden Commodore VE SC3 13 31:00.8684
18 76 Valmont Coatings Garry Hills Holden Commodore VE2 SC3 13 31:04.3943
19 39 Vectra Corp Chris Smerdon Ford Falcon FG SC3 13 31:05.6398
20 46 Turbo Brisbane Jarred Danaher Ford Falcon FG SC3 13 31:06.3463
21 35 Unit Racing Jason Gomersall Ford Falcon FG SC3 13 31:08.2847
22 2 Page Bros Jayco Steven Page Holden Commodore VE2 SC3 13 31:09.6187
23 68 Turbo Brisbane Shane Beikoff Ford Falcon AU HC 13 31:10.5488
24 54 Eggleston Motorsport Matthew McLean Holden Commodore VF S2 13 31:27.5808
25 38 Eggleston Motorsport Cameron Crick Holden Commodore VF S2 10 31:12.9929
NC 58 EFS 4×4 Accessories Ryal Harris Holden Commodore VF S2 11 26:05.4836
NC 67 Flash Bush Motorsports Nash Morris Ford Falcon FG/X S2 11 26:05.7762
NC 6 MWM Angelo Mouzouris Nissan Altima S2 2 7:08.0561
NC 4 Crusher Parts International Tony Auddino Ford Falcon BF SC3    
NC 219 Masterton Motorsport James Masterton Holden Commodore VE SC3    
NC 25 Weldcraft Motorsport Paul Boschert Holden Commodore VE SC3    

Classes: S2 Super2, CH Super3 Championship, SC3 Super3 Cup, HC Super3 Heritage Class

Series points: Super2 Updated

Pos Driver Pts
1 Zak Best 288
2 Matthew Payne 258
3 Jaylyn Robotham 252
4 Thomas Maxwell 249
5 Declan Fraser 231
6 Aaron Seton 207
7 Cameron Hill 174
8 Tyler Everingham 171
9 Matthew Chahda 168
10 Zane Morse 162
11 Jay Hanson 147
12 Cameron Crick 147
13 Matthew McLean 135
14 Elly Morrow 126
15 Ryal Harris 72
16 Angelo Mouzouris 51
17 Nash Morris 0

Series points: Super3

Pos Driver Pts
1 Kai Allen 288
2 Brad Vaughan 288
3 Ray Hislop 249
4 Blake Fardell 249
5 Jim Pollicina 222
6 Garry Hills 198
7 Jarred Danaher 192
8 Chris Smerdon 165
9 Steven Page 162
10 Shane Beikoff 144
11 Tony Auddino 90
12 Jason Gomersall 84
13 Paul Boschert 78
14 James Masterton 0

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]