Payne on pole for Super2 Race 1 at SMP

Matt Payne

Grove Racing’s Matt Payne has taken a maiden Dunlop Super2 Series pole position in Qualifying for Race 1 of Round 1 at Sydney Motorsport Park.

Payne bagged the first pole of 2022 courtesy of a 1:32.6709s on his opening run, with fellow Nissan Altima driver Tyler Everingham also earning a front row berth despite missing Friday practice due to a bout of food poisoning.

In a 10-minute hit-out disrupted by a red flag caused by Aaron Seton, Tickford Racing’s Zak Best (#78 FGX Falcon) claimed third while MW Motorsport rookie Thomas Maxwell made it three Altimas in the top four.

Image Racing’s Jaylyn Robotham was fastest of the Holden drivers in fifth and will share Row 3 with Triple Eight Race Engineering’s Cameron Hill.

The Super2 field saw a dry track for the first time this weekend, save for the ongoing presence of rivers in several places, and Payne was straight into the 1:32s in the #10 Nissan Altima.

MWM steerer Everingham (#27 Nissan Altima) was next-best at that early stage with a 1:33.1167s on his very first hot lap of the weekend, after spending Thursday night in hospital and only arriving at the track just before Practice 2.

A red flag was called in the sixth minute after Seton locked up and ran off at Bond Bend (Turn 2), bogging the #30 Matt Stone Racing VF Commodore on a saturated outfield.

He lost his best lap as a result, dropping from fourth position to last, but was allowed to continue when the session restarted with around three-and-a-half minutes remaining due to an off-season rule change.

The timing of the green flag left only enough time for one lap for most, although those at the top end of pit lane managed to fit two in.

Best improved to third on a 1:33.2131s despite a lock-up at the Turn 8 hairpin, and Everingham consolidated second spot with a 1:32.8846s.

Maxwell (#3 Nissan Altima) set a 1:33.2858s and Robotham (#999 VF Commodore) was only slightly slower on a 1:33.3323s, while Hill clocked a personal-best 1:33.6350s in the #111 VF Commodore.

Eggleston Motorsport’s Matt McLean (#54 VF Commodore) ended up seventh on a 1:33.6682s, although he may have taken some goodness out of his set of green tyres given he was already on them when Seton had his off.

Rounding out the top 10 were Matt Chahda (#18 Matt Chahda Motorsport FGX Falcon), Seton, and Nash Morris (#67 Flash Bush Motorsport FGX Falcon).

Brad Vaughan

Earlier, Brad Vaughan was fastest throughout in the 10-minute stanza for the Super3 class, earning 11th outright on the grid courtesy of a 1:34.0253s in the #5 Anderson Motorsport FG Falcon.

He will be joined on Row 6 by Super2 debutant Jay Hanson (#49 Image VF Commodore), with Triple Eight’s Declan Fraser 13th in the #777 VF Commodore.

Eggleston’s Kai Allen (#26 VE Commodore) was second of the Super3 contingent in 17th outright on a 1:34.5000s, while MWM’s Angelo Mouzouris (#6 Nissan Altima) is set to start from last on the grid later today after breaching track limits on his only flyer in the Super2 segment of qualifying.

Race 1, an 18-lapper, starts this afternoon at 17:50 local time/AEDT.

Results: Qualifying for Race 1

Pos Num Team/Sponsor Driver Car Cls Fastest lap Split
1 10 Grove Racing Matthew Payne Nissan Altima S2 1:32.6709
2 27 Blue Ribbon Legal / MWM Tyler Everingham Nissan Altima S2 1:32.8846 0:00.2137
3 78 Best Leisure Industries Zak Best Ford Falcon FG/X S2 1:33.2131 0:00.5422
4 3 MWM Thomas Maxwell Nissan Altima S2 1:33.2858 0:00.6149
5 999 Erebus Academy / Image Racing Jaylyn Robotham Holden Commodore VF S2 1:33.3323 0:00.6614
6 111 Triple Eight Race Engineering Cameron Hill Holden Commodore VF S2 1:33.6350 0:00.9641
7 54 Eggleston Motorsport Matthew McLean Holden Commodore VF S2 1:33.6682 0:00.9973
8 18 Cavalier Homes Matthew Chahda Ford Falcon FG/X S2 1:33.8889 0:01.2180
9 30 Sherrin Rentals Aaron Seton Holden Commodore VF S2 1:33.9300 0:01.2591
10 67 Flash Bush Motorsports Nash Morris Ford Falcon FG/X S2 1:33.9593 0:01.2884
11 5 Anderson Motorsport Brad Vaughan Ford Falcon FG CH 1:34.0253 0:01.3544
12 49 Image Racing Jay Hanson Holden Commodore VF S2 1:34.0608 0:01.3899
13 777 Triple Eight Race Engineering Declan Fraser Holden Commodore VF S2 1:34.0715 0:01.4006
14 38 Eggleston Motorsport Cameron Crick Holden Commodore VF S2 1:34.1329 0:01.4620
15 58 EFS 4×4 Accessories Ryal Harris Holden Commodore VF S2 1:34.3006 0:01.6297
16 11 Brema Group Racing Zane Morse Holden Commodore VF S2 1:34.4467 0:01.7758
17 26 Eggleston Motorsport Kai Allen Holden Commodore VE CH 1:34.5000 0:01.8291
18 77 Mr HDT Race Cars Blake Fardell Holden Commodore VE2 CH 1:35.3746 0:02.7037
19 23 RHM / Nulon Ray Hislop Ford Falcon BA SC3 1:35.9592 0:03.2883
20 8 Steeline Racing Elly Morrow Holden Commodore VF S2 1:36.2894 0:03.6185
21 7 Mocomm Motorsport Comms Jim Pollicina Holden Commodore VE SC3 1:36.7994 0:04.1285
22 35 Unit Racing Jason Gomersall Ford Falcon FG SC3 1:38.1384 0:05.4675
23 39 Vectra Corp Chris Smerdon Ford Falcon FG SC3 1:38.2396 0:05.5687
24 46 Turbo Brisbane Jarred Danaher Ford Falcon FG SC3 1:38.7557 0:06.0848
25 76 Valmont Coatings Garry Hills Holden Commodore VE2 SC3 1:39.0036 0:06.3327
26 219 Masterton Motorsport James Masterton Holden Commodore VE SC3 1:39.2356 0:06.5647
27 2 Page Bros Jayco Steven Page Holden Commodore VE2 SC3 1:39.3921 0:06.7212
28 25 Weldcraft Motorsport Paul Boschert Holden Commodore VE SC3 1:40.1123 0:07.4414
29 4 Crusher Parts International Tony Auddino Ford Falcon BF SC3 1:40.2984 0:07.6275
30 68 Turbo Brisbane Shane Beikoff Ford Falcon AU HC 1:40.3055 0:07.6346
31 6 MWM Angelo Mouzouris Nissan Altima S2 8:02.7820 6:30.1111

Classes: S2 Super2, CH Super3 Championship, SC3 Super3 Cup, HC Super3 Heritage Class

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]