De Pasquale on provisional pole for Supercars Race 1

Anton De Pasquale

Anton De Pasquale has taken provisional pole position for Race 1 of the Repco Supercars Championship in a Shell V-Power Racing Team qualifying one-two at Sydney Motorsport Park.

De Pasquale beat team-mate Will Davison by a quarter of a second in the 15-minute hit-out which precedes a Top 10 Shootout later this afternoon at the Beaurepaires Sydney SuperNight, with Red Bull Ampol Racing duo Shane van Gisbergen and Broc Feeney both also making the one-lap dash.

After two at least partially wet Friday practice sessions, a dry surface greeted the field for the start of Qualifying for Race 1, save for the rivers of water which continued to flow across a number of areas of the circuit.

At the end of the opening runs, De Pasquale (#11 Mustang) was fastest on a 1:29.7599s from Chaz Mostert (#25 Mobil 1 Optus ZB Commodore) on a 1:30.2139s and van Gisbergen (#97 ZB Commodore) on a 1:30.3034s.

When the field rolled back out for their final runs, new Brad Jones Racing driver Andre Heimgartner jumped to second with a 1:30.1462s in the #8 R&J Batteries ZB Commodore despite being baulked by Tickford Racing’s Jake Kostecki exiting the Turn 8 hairpin.

Davison then usurped Heimgartner with a 1:30.0111s in the #17 Mustang, before van Gisbergen got back up to third with a 1:30.1017s.

De Pasquale and Mostert both strayed beyond track limits on their final flyers but it mattered not at all for the former and little for the latter.

Mostert ended up sixth on the timesheet thanks to his initial effort, behind Heimgartner and Boost Mobile Racing’s Will Brown (#9 ZB Commodore).

Brown’s Erebus Motorsport team-mate Brodie Kostecki (#99 ZB Commodore) was seventh-quickest all-told, from Tim Slade (#3 CoolDrive Mustang) and David Reynolds (#26 Penrite Mustang), the latter of whom bumped Scott Pye out of the top 10 when he advanced to ninth just before the chequered flag was unfurled.

Feeney (#88 ZB Commodore) held on to a shootout berth by less than a tenth of a second when BJR’s Bryce Fullwood (#14 Middy’s ZB Commodore) could only advance to 11th right at the end of proceedings.

Fullwood will thus share Row 6 with Pye (#20 Seiko 5 ZB Commodore), while Mark Winterbottom (#18 Irwin Tools ZB Commodore) is set to line up to the inside of Walkinshaw Andretti United’s Nick Percat (#2 Mobil 1 NTI ZB Commodore) on Row 7.

Tickford’s best was James Courtney (#5 Opposite Lock Mustang) in 15th, with Cameron Waters (#6 Monster Energy Mustang) setting a time good enough only for 22nd on the grid.

Jake Kostecki qualified 24th-fastest but will start last in the #56 Tradie Mustang due to a three-position grid penalty for impeding Heimgartner which was handed down during the session.

Drivers were on soft slick tyres, as they will be in the one-lap dash, before the super soft also comes into play for tonight’s race.

The Top 10 Shootout will be held this afternoon from 16:30 local time/AEDT.

Results: Qualifying for Race 1, Beaurepaires Sydney SuperNight

Pos Num Team/Sponsor Driver Car Fastest lap Split
1 11 Shell V-Power Racing Team Anton De Pasquale Ford Mustang GT 1:29.7599  
2 17 Shell V-Power Racing Team Will Davison Ford Mustang GT 1:30.0111 0:00.2512
3 97 Red Bull Ampol Racing Shane van Gisbergen Holden Commodore ZB 1:30.1017 0:00.3418
4 8 R&J Batteries Racing Andre Heimgartner Holden Commodore ZB 1:30.1462 0:00.3863
5 9 Boost Mobile Racing by Erebus William Brown Holden Commodore ZB 1:30.1577 0:00.3978
6 25 Mobil 1 Optus Racing Chaz Mostert Holden Commodore ZB 1:30.2139 0:00.4540
7 99 Boost Mobile Racing by Erebus Brodie Kostecki Holden Commodore ZB 1:30.3692 0:00.6093
8 3 CoolDrive Auto Parts Tim Slade Ford Mustang GT 1:30.3756 0:00.6157
9 26 Penrite Racing David Reynolds Ford Mustang GT 1:30.5086 0:00.7487
10 88 Red Bull Ampol Racing Broc Feeney Holden Commodore ZB 1:30.5778 0:00.8179
11 14 Middy’s Electrical Racing Bryce Fullwood Holden Commodore ZB 1:30.6380 0:00.8781
12 20 Team 18 Scott Pye Holden Commodore ZB 1:30.6441 0:00.8842
13 18 IRWIN Racing Mark Winterbottom Holden Commodore ZB 1:30.6461 0:00.8862
14 2 Mobil 1 NTI Racing Nick Percat Holden Commodore ZB 1:30.7693 0:01.0094
15 5 Opposite Lock Racing James Courtney Ford Mustang GT 1:30.8536 0:01.0937
16 34 Truck Assist Racing Jack Le Brocq Holden Commodore ZB 1:30.9192 0:01.1593
17 35 Truck Assist Racing Todd Hazelwood Holden Commodore ZB 1:30.9343 0:01.1744
18 4 SCT Logistics Racing Jack Smith Holden Commodore ZB 1:30.9959 0:01.2360
19 55 Castrol Racing Thomas Randle Ford Mustang GT 1:31.0075 0:01.2476
20 76 PremiAir Subway Racing Garry Jacobson Holden Commodore ZB 1:31.0558 0:01.2959
21 96 Automotive Superstore Macauley Jones Holden Commodore ZB 1:31.0635 0:01.3036
22 6 Monster Energy Racing Cameron Waters Ford Mustang GT 1:31.1212 0:01.3613
23 10 Penrite Racing Lee Holdsworth Ford Mustang GT 1:31.2279 0:01.4680
24 56 Tradie Racing Jake Kostecki Ford Mustang GT 1:31.4457 0:01.6858
25 22 PremiAir Coca Cola Racing Chris Pither Holden Commodore ZB 1:31.8357 0:02.0758

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]