Herne wins shortened Trans Am Race 2

Nathan Herne. Picture: Australian Racing Group

Nathan Herne has won Race 2 for the Turtle Wax Trans Am Series at Symmons Plains, which ended under Safety Car due to an incident for Nash Morris.

Time-certainty caused the chequered flag to be waved 10 laps shy of the scheduled 22, with Herne prevailing from Kyle Gurton, Ben Grice, and Race 1 winner Tim Brook.

However, an issue with the recovery of Morris’s #67 Supercheap Auto car meant it was effectively only a four-lap contest.

Brook held first position as the field got away from the rolling start, while Herne went down the inside of Gurton to take second at Turn 2.

Herne then got a run on Brook down the back straight and when he made the pass for the lead at Turn 6, it created room for both Gurton and Grice to also go through, shuffling Car #38 all the way back to fourth.

Gurton was a threat for the lead until a Safety Car was called on Lap 5 due to Morris becoming stuck in the gravel at the Hairpin.

The deployment also triggered carnage at that corner when Craig Scutella apparently slowed in response to the ‘SC’ board being put out, and was shunted by Chris Sutton.

As the field trundled around under Safety Car, it came to light that the brake proportioning valve had become jammed in Morris’s car, and that would put paid to any further action.

Behind the top four was Cody Burcher in fifth, from Brett Holdsworth, Lochie Dalton, Owen Kelly, Dalton Ellery, and Jett Johnson.

Race 3 of Round 1 starts this afternoon at 15:50 local time/AEDT, and will be streamed live on Stan Sport.

Results: Race 2

Pos Num Team/Sponsor Driver Car Cls Laps Race time
1 1 Team Valvoline GRM Nathan Herne Ford Mustang O 12 21:23.4500
2 2 Micale Cabinets /Nuveau Group Kyle Gurton Ford Mustang O 12 21:24.2189
3 03 All American Driveline Ben Grice Ford Mustang O 12 21:24.8247
4 38 TRADIEPAD Wall Racing Tim Brook Ford Mustang O 12 21:25.3737
5 36 Cody Burcher Racing Cody Burcher Ford Mustang O 12 21:25.9111
6 99 TPS Group /Breeze Holiday Park Brett Holdsworth Chevrolet Camaro O 12 21:26.4536
7 45 Up2 /11 Motorsport /GRM Lochie Dalton Ford Mustang O 12 21:27.2451
8 73 Owen Kelly Motorsport Owen Kelly Ford Mustang O 12 21:27.8915
9 31 Bruce Lynton Service Dalton Ellery Ford Mustang H 12 21:28.2046
10 117 Team Johnson/Full Throttle BBQ Jett Johnson Ford Mustang H 12 21:29.6327
11 116 Sydney Property Care Edan Thornburrow Ford Mustang O 12 21:30.2830
12 12 Shaun Richardson Motorsport Shaun Richardson Dodge Challenger H 12 21:31.0631
13 6 McAlister Motors Hugh McAlister Ford Mustang H 12 21:33.5958
14 23 Holinger Racing John Holinger Chevrolet Camaro M 12 21:35.8347
15 48 Nic Carroll Motorsport Nic Carroll Dodge Challenger O 12 21:36.5348
16 8 Wealth Rite Racing Chris Pappas Ford Mustang H 12 21:37.9793
17 88 Ownit Homes /Superior Jetties John Harris Ford Mustang H 12 21:39.0986
18 37 Dream Racing Australia Jackson Rice Dodge Challenger O 12 21:40.6563
19 69 Dial Before you Dig Jon McCorkindale Ford Mustang O 12 21:41.8370
20 4 Crutcher Devlopments Mark Crutcher Ford Mustang M 12 21:44.0742
21 15 Pacific Petroleum/Carroll Tyre Michael Rowell Ford Mustang H 12 21:45.4957
22 27 Dream Racing Australia Elliot Barbour Chevrolet Camaro O 12 21:45.9311
23 777 Dream Racing Australia Craig Scutella Chevrolet Camaro M 10 21:48.1145
DNF 321 321 Motofit Chris Sutton Ford Mustang M 4 3:57.9171
DNF 67 Supercheap Auto Nash Morris Ford Mustang O 3 2:50.9625

Classes: O Outright, H Hoosier Cup, M Masters Cup

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]