Feeney clinches Super2 title as Boys wins bruising Bathurst race

Jayden Ojeda spins off at the start as Broc Feeney (#888) drives on by

Triple Eight Race Engineering’s Broc Feeney has won the Dunlop Super2 Series by finishing second to Image Racing’s Jordan Boys in Race 2 at Mount Panorama.

Feeney started the final race of the season needing just to finish to ensure the title was his, but that was before his only remaining rival for the big trophy, namely Jayden Ojeda, dropped out of the contest on Lap 1.

Ojeda clashed with MW Motorsport team-mate Tyler Everingham on the run to the first corner and would park his #31 Nissan Altima at the top of the mountain.

While no further action would be taken by officials, the incident left the Sydneysider with no chance of overhauling Feeney.

It also led to the first of three Safety Car periods, the last of which coincided with the chequered flag after just 12 laps of a scheduled 16.

As such, Boys took victory in the #49 VF Commodore, from Feeney in the VF Commodore wearing the iconic #888.

Matt Stone Racing’s Aaron Seton (#30 VF Commodore) was third, from Tickford Racing’s Zak Best (#78 FGX Falcon), and Grove Racing’s Matt Payne (#10 Nissan Altima).

After a heavily disrupted qualifying session, the starting grid reverted to combined practice times, putting Boys on pole, Ojeda to his outside on the front row, and Feeney in fifth.

Boys led the field away while, just behind, Ojeda was unloaded off to drivers’ right when he crept across and was tagged by Everingham.

The latter stopped in the Hell Corner gravel trap with broken steering while Ojeda pressed on, but only as far as McPhillamy Park, where he relented with a destroyed right-rear tyre.

Everingham’s stranded #27 Nissan Altima triggered a Safety Car, at which time the order was Boys, Seton, Feeney, Best, and Matt McLean (#54 Eggleston Motorsport VF Commodore).

The race restarted on Lap 3, and Boys put 1.2s between himself and Seton over the next 6.213km.

His advantage was almost two seconds when Feeney went up the inside of Seton and into second position at Griffins Bend on Lap 4, before the series leader started to chip away at Boys’ margin.

Around 0.7s separated first and second positions when a Safety Car was called on Lap 8, due to Boys’ Image team-mate Jaylyn Robotham (#999 VF Commodore) becoming beached at Murray’s Corner.

The neutralisation was a reprieve for Seton, who remained third but under pressure from Best, while Payne had not long slithered down the inside of McLean at Murray’s Corner to take up fifth position.

When another restart came on Lap 10, Boys got loose on stray gravel left by the Everingham recovery at the exit of Hell Corner and Feeney got a run on him up Mountain Straight.

However, the Image driver managed to stave off #888 when they arrived at Griffins Bend, before the race came under Safety Car conditions yet again due to a crash for Steven Page.

The Super3 driver had hit the wall through Sulman Park, causing the #2 Eggleston Motorsport VE Commodore to lose its brakes, and he only came to rest after running into the tyre barriers in the McPhillamy Park gravel trap.

The field followed the Safety Car around all the way until the chequered flag was flown in a time-certain finish.

McLean ended up sixth, from Matt Chahda (#18 Matt Chahda Motorsport FGX Falcon), Tim Blanchard (#88 Eggleston Motorsport VF Commodore), Zane Morse (#11 Brema Group Racing VF Commodore), and Josh Fife (#38 Eggleston Motorsport VF Commodore).

Reef McCarthy bounced back from an engine-related DNF in Race 1 to take the #61 Image FG Falcon to the Super3 class win in 12th outright, while Nash Morris (#67 Flash Bush Motorsport FG Falcon), who sealed that title a day earlier, was two positions back.

Results: Race 2

Pos Num Team/Sponsor Driver Car Cls Laps Race time
1 49 Joss Group / Image Racing Jordan Boys Holden Commodore VF S2 12 36:21.7385
2 888 Triple Eight Race Engineering Broc Feeney Holden Commodore VF S2 12 36:22.2540
3 30 Sherrin Rentals Aaron Seton Holden Commodore VF S2 12 36:22.8411
4 78 Best Leisure Industries Zak Best Ford Falcon FG/X S2 12 36:23.6302
5 10 Grove Motorsport Matthew Payne Nissan Altima S2 12 36:24.2119
6 54 Eggleston Motorsport Matthew McLean Holden Commodore VF S2 12 36:25.2001
7 18 Falcon Spares & Repaires Matthew Chahda Ford Falcon FG/X S2 12 36:26.8483
8 88 Eggleston Motorsport Tim Blanchard Holden Commodore VF S2 12 36:28.1630
9 11 Brema Group Racing Zane Morse Holden Commodore VF S2 12 36:28.7933
10 38 Eggleston Motorsport Josh Fife Holden Commodore VF S2 12 36:29.8644
11 69 Dial Before You Dig Jon McCorkindale Holden Commodore VF S2 12 36:31.2944
12 61 Image Racing Reef McCarthy Ford Falcon FG CH 12 36:32.1745
13 77 Mr HDT Race Cars Blake Fardell Holden Commodore VE CH 12 36:33.4295
14 67 Flash Bush Motorsport Nash Morris Ford Falcon FG CH 12 36:35.6423
15 5 Anderson Motorsport Michael Anderson Ford Falcon FG SC3 12 36:36.3292
16 7 Mocomm Motorsport Comms Jim Pollicina Holden Commodore VE SC3 12 36:36.7929
17 24 North West Recycling David Murphy Ford Falcon FG SC3 12 36:37.0308
18 17 Resurrection Panel N Paint Jason Foley Ford Falcon BF SC3 12 36:39.1935
19 25 Weldcraft Motorsport Paul Boschert Holden Commodore VE SC3 12 36:40.6780
20 8 Brad Jones Racing Elly Morrow Holden Commodore VE2 SC3 12 36:42.2244
21 999 Rare Spares / Image Racing Jaylyn Robotham Holden Commodore VF S2 11 36:44.2908
NC 2 Page Bros Jayco Steven Page Holden Commodore VE2 SC3 9 24:38.8497
NC 219 Masterton Motorsport James Masterton Holden Commodore VE SC3 5 14:12.9892
NC 31 Jayco / MWM Jayden Ojeda Nissan Altima S2
NC 27 Blue Ribbon Legal / MWM Tyler Everingham Nissan Altima S2

Series points: Super2

Pos Driver Pts
1 Broc Feeney 1254
2 Zak Best 1077
3 Jayden Ojeda 969
4 Matt Chahda 867
5 Matt McLean 849
6 Tyler Everingham 807
7 Jordan Boys 804
8 Declan Fraser 645
9 Aaron Seton 632
10 Josh Fife 582
11 Angelo Mouzouris 573
12 Jaylyn Robotham 567
13 Zane Morse 519
14 Tim Blanchard 501
15 Jon McCorkindale 489
16 Jack Sipp 402
17 Matthew Payne 234
18 Jack Perkins 183
19 Bradley Neill 135
20 Tony D’Alberto 96

Series points: Super3

Pos Driver Pts
1 Nash Morris 1218
2 Michael Anderson 1047
2 Reef McCarthy 1035
4 Blake Fardell 915
5 Jim Pollicina 546
6 Jason Gomersall 531
7 Brendan Strong 489
8 David Murphy 474
9 Steven Page 381
10 Chris Smerdon 324
11 Jason Foley 324
12 Jon McCorkindale 288
13 Elly Morrow 282
14 Gary Collins 258
15 James Masterton 186
16 Ray Hislop 186
17 Tony Auddino 168
18 Paul Boschert 162

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]