Payne penalised for Super2 out lap clash

Matt Payne

Matt Payne has copped a five-position grid penalty for his clash with Tyler Everingham on the out lap of the latter Dunlop Super2 Series qualifying session at Mount Panorama.

A red flag was called inside two minutes into Qualifying for Race 2 due to Everingham’s #27 Nissan Altima being stopped on the side of Mountain Straight with damage to its left-rear corner.

Broadcast cameras did not pick up the incident and both parties effectively pointed the finger at each other in comments made during the red flag period by Everingham’s MW Motorsport team boss Matthew White and Grove Racing’s Payne.

Payne has been pinged for ‘careless driving’, meaning the last-round debutant’s #10 Nissan Altima is back to 11th on the grid for tomorrow afternoon’s Race 2, while Everingham remains fourth.

“Following a post session RD Investigation and admission of a breach of Rule Schedule B2. Code of Driving Conduct – 2.1.1 ‘Careless Driving’ by Matthew Payne Car 10, weaved in front of Car 27 Tyler Everingham during the Out Lap resulting in contact between cars, the Stewards imposed a Five (5) Grid Position penalty on Car 10 for Race 2,” read the stewards summary.

The aforementioned starting positions are based on the combined Practice 1/Practice 2 results, to which grid order reverted given two red flags in that session meant that only seven drivers were able to clock a representative lap time, with the eighth-fastest driver’s qualifying time being over eight minutes.

Tyler Everingham’s stricken #27 Nissan Altima

Triple Eight Race Engineering’s series leader Broc Feeney had originally qualified on pole position for Race 2, but it is now Image Racing’s Jordan Boys who will start from first position.

Joining Boys on the front row will be MW Motorsport’s Jayden Ojeda, who was not one of the seven to get a proper lap in, with Matt Stone Racing’s Aaron Seton and MW Motorsport’s Tyler Everingham due to share Row 2.

Feeney is back in fifth and, as a result of Payne’s penalty, will start to the inside of his nearest rival for the title, Tickford Racing’s Zak Best.

Feeney does, however, remain on pole for Race 1, while Payne and Everingham will share Row 3.

That 16-lapper starts this afternoon at 15:30 local time/AEDT.

Starting grid: Race 2

Pos Num Team/Sponsor Driver Car Cls  
1 49 Joss Group / Image Racing Jordan Boys Holden Commodore VF S2  
2 31 Jayco / MWM Jayden Ojeda Nissan Altima S2  
3 30 Sherrin Rentals Aaron Seton Holden Commodore VF S2  
4 27 Blue Ribbon Legal / MWM Tyler Everingham Nissan Altima S2  
5 888 Triple Eight Race Engineering Broc Feeney Holden Commodore VF S2  
6 78 Best Leisure Industries Zak Best Ford Falcon FG/X S2  
7 54 Eggleston Motorsport Matthew McLean Holden Commodore VF S2  
8 38 Eggleston Motorsport Josh Fife Holden Commodore VF S2  
9 88 Eggleston Motorsport Tim Blanchard Holden Commodore VF S2  
10 18 Falcon Spares & Repaires Matthew Chahda Ford Falcon FG/X S2  
11 10 Grove Motorsport Matthew Payne Nissan Altima S2 Penalty
12 11 Brema Group Racing Zane Morse Holden Commodore VF S2  
13 69 Dial Before You Dig Jon McCorkindale Holden Commodore VF S2  
14 999 Rare Spares / Image Racing Jaylyn Robotham Holden Commodore VF S2  
15 61 Image Racing Reef McCarthy Ford Falcon FG CH  
16 77 Mr HDT Race Cars Blake Fardell Holden Commodore VE CH  
17 67 Flash Bush Motorsport Nash Morris Ford Falcon FG CH  
18 5 Anderson Motorsport Michael Anderson Ford Falcon FG SC3  
19 24 North West Recycling David Murphy Ford Falcon FG SC3  
20 7 Mocomm Motorsport Comms Jim Pollicina Holden Commodore VE SC3  
21 2 Page Bros Jayco Steven Page Holden Commodore VE2 SC3  
22 25 Weldcraft Motorsport Paul Boschert Holden Commodore VE SC3  
23 17 Resurrection Panel N Paint Jason Foley Ford Falcon BF SC3  
24 219 Masterton Motorsport James Masterton Holden Commodore VE SC3  
25 8 Brad Jones Racing Elly Morrow Holden Commodore VE2 SC3  
26 96 Collins Racing Gary Collins Holden Commodore VE2 SC3  

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]