Feeney on brink of Super2 title with Race 1 win

Broc Feeney leads the field away at Bathurst

Triple Eight Race Engineering’s Broc Feeney has one hand on the Dunlop Super2 Series trophy after winning Race 1 of the fifth and final round of the season at Bathurst.

Feeney survived two Safety Car restarts to lead all 15 laps around Mount Panorama, with MW Motorsport’s Jayden Ojeda keeping his ever-so-slim title hopes alive by finishing 2.4s back in second position.

Image Racing’s Jordan Boys finished a somewhat distant third while Tickford Racing’s Zak Best, who started the day second in the standings, is now out of the title hunt after getting home in fourth position.

Feeney (#888 VF Commodore) got the jump from pole position and took a clear lead to Hell Corner, from Boys (#49 VF Commodore) and Ojeda (#31 Nissan Altima).

Best (#78 FGX Falcon), emerged fourth from the opening corner and managed to fend off Tyler Everingham (#27 Nissan Altima) at Griffins Bend after the MW Motorsport driver had made a good run up Mountain Straight.

Feeney was 0.9s to the good at the end of the standing lap and 1.3s up on Boys when a Safety Car was called on Lap 3, due to Super3 driver David Murphy having beached his #24 FG Falcon at Murray’s Corner.

A restart came on Lap 5 and Feeney had skipped almost 1.0s clear again, but was only just getting onto Mountain Straight when the race came under Safety Car conditions for a second time.

The neutralisation was required because Super3 driver Paul Boschert (#25 VE Commodore) was stuck in the gravel at McPhillamy Park after contact with Zane Morse (#11 Brema VF Commodore) had sent him spinning.

Morse, who was already out of sequence due to having to serve a mechanical black flag for loose bodywork, was quickly issued a drive-through penalty for his part in the incident.

Green flags flew again for the start of Lap 8 and Ojeda was able to pick Boys off for second place at Forrest’s Elbow, a crucial move given it put him into a position to keep his slim title hopes alive.

Feeney had already skipped a full second up the road, and that remained the case despite Ojeda setting the fastest lap on Lap 10.

However, the series leader responded such that his race lead was 2.0s after three laps more, and the gap remained much the same until they took the chequered at the end of Lap 15, one early due to time-certainty.

Boys finished another 3.2s back after seeing off one attempted pass from Best at The Chase on Lap 8, with the latter running fourth for the duration of the race.

The battle for fifth was a full-on one which ultimately went the way of Everingham.

He had been running in fifth when Matt Payne (#10 Nissan Altima) went down his inside at Murray’s Corner on Lap 8, but that compromised the latter onto the main straight and Jaylyn Robotham (#999 Image Racing VF Commodore).

Robotham then went defensive at Griffins, pinching a brake and running into a somewhat light impact with the barriers, but it turns out that he had some help from Payne in getting there.

Just behind, Matt McLean (#54 Eggleston Motorsport VF Commodore) came from deep to give Everingham a nudge which the MWM driver survived.

The net result was Payne back into fifth, from Aaron Seton (#30 Matt Stone Racing VF Commodore), Everingham, Josh Fife (#38 Eggleston VF Commodore), and McLean, but the former of that bunch would be issued a drive-through for his contact with Robotham.

By the time the Grove Racing entry peeled off to serve it, Everingham was back ahead of Seton and would not relinquish fifth spot again.

Seton went on to finish sixth and while McLean was seventh to the chequered flag, a five-second penalty for more nose-to-tail contact at Griffins, with Matt Chahda, saw him officially classified 11th.

Fife therefore inherited seventh, from Eggleston team-mate Tim Blanchard (#88 VF Commodore), who passed Chahda at the final corner.

Robotham rounded out the top 10, Nash Morris (#67 Flash Bush Motorsport FG Falcon) extended his Super3 Series lead with 13th outright and first in class, and Payne ended up 15th.

Reef McCarthy’s Super3 title hopes are over after the #61 Image Racing FG Falcon came to a halt on Lap 13, making him the only non-finisher.

Feeney is now 147 points clear in the Super2 standings and must only finish the final race of the season, which starts tomorrow at 15:55 local time/AEDT, to seal the title.

Results: Race 1

Pos Num Team/Sponsor Driver Car Cls Laps Race time
1 888 Triple Eight Race Engineering Broc Feeney Holden Commodore VF S2 15 39:18.3161
2 31 Jayco / MWM Jayden Ojeda Nissan Altima S2 15 39:20.7357
3 49 Joss Group / Image Racing Jordan Boys Holden Commodore VF S2 15 39:23.9766
4 78 Best Leisure Industries Zak Best Ford Falcon FG/X S2 15 39:25.2961
5 27 Blue Ribbon Legal / MWM Tyler Everingham Nissan Altima S2 15 39:25.8463
6 30 Sherrin Rentals Aaron Seton Holden Commodore VF S2 15 39:30.5720
7 38 Eggleston Motorsport Josh Fife Holden Commodore VF S2 15 39:40.3628
8 88 Eggleston Motorsport Tim Blanchard Holden Commodore VF S2 15 39:41.0184
9 18 Falcon Spares & Repaires Matthew Chahda Ford Falcon FG/X S2 15 39:41.3478
10 999 Rare Spares / Image Racing Jaylyn Robotham Holden Commodore VF S2 15 39:44.8845
11 54 Eggleston Motorsport Matthew McLean Holden Commodore VF S2 15 39:45.0147
12 69 Dial Before You Dig Jon McCorkindale Holden Commodore VF S2 15 39:48.0714
13 67 Flash Bush Motorsport Nash Morris Ford Falcon FG CH 15 39:57.0876
14 77 Mr HDT Race Cars Blake Fardell Holden Commodore VE CH 15 40:03.0326
15 10 Grove Motorsport Matthew Payne Nissan Altima S2 15 40:08.2223
16 7 Mocomm Motorsport Comms Jim Pollicina Holden Commodore VE SC3 15 40:13.4613
17 5 Anderson Motorsport Michael Anderson Ford Falcon FG SC3 15 40:20.9786
18 11 Brema Group Racing Zane Morse Holden Commodore VF S2 15 40:23.0792
19 2 Page Bros Jayco Steven Page Holden Commodore VE2 SC3 15 40:29.6556
20 8 Brad Jones Racing Elly Morrow Holden Commodore VE2 SC3 15 40:51.5060
21 219 Masterton Motorsport James Masterton Holden Commodore VE SC3 15 40:58.4895
22 96 Collins Racing Gary Collins Holden Commodore VE2 SC3 15 41:12.7566
23 17 Resurrection Panel N Paint Jason Foley Ford Falcon BF SC3 15 41:13.0181
24 24 North West Recycling David Murphy Ford Falcon FG SC3 14 40:37.1949
25 25 Weldcraft Motorsport Paul Boschert Holden Commodore VE SC3 14 41:11.9366
NC 61 Image Racing Reef McCarthy Ford Falcon FG CH 12 33:25.4604

Series points: Super2

Pos Driver Pts
1 Broc Feeney 1116
2 Jayden Ojeda 969
3 Zak Best 957
4 Tyler Everingham 807
5 Matthew Chahda 771
6 Matthew McLean 747
7 Jordan Boys 654
8 Declan Fraser 645
9 Angelo Mouzouris 573
10 Josh Fife 504
11 Aaron Seton 503
12 Jaylyn Robotham 498
13 Zane Morse 435
14 Jon McCorkindale 417
15 Tim Blanchard 411
16 Jack Sipp 402
17 Jack Perkins 183
18 Bradley Neill 135
19 Matthew Payne 123
20 Tony D’Alberto 96

Series points: Super3

Pos Driver Pts
1 Nash Morris 1089
2 Michael Anderson 927
3 Reef McCarthy 885
4 Blake Fardell 777
5 Jason Gomersall 531
6 Brendan Strong 489
7 Jim Pollicina 435
8 Steven Page 381
9 David Murphy 372
10 Chris Smerdon 324
11 Jon McCorkindale 288
12 Gary Collins 258
13 Jason Foley 228
14 Elly Morrow 198
15 James Masterton 186
16 Ray Hislop 186
17 Tony Auddino 168
18 Paul Boschert 72

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]