Payne fastest in SMP Additional Drivers Practice

Matt Payne

Kelly Grove Racing junior Matt Payne has set the fastest lap in the Repco Supercars Championship’s Additional Drivers Practice session at the Beaurepaires Sydney SuperNight.

While the 40-minute hit-out exists mainly for the purpose of giving more laps to the Repco Bathurst 1000 co-drivers, it was the only steerer in the session who will not also contest the Great Race that was quickest of all.

Payne had been installed in David Reynolds’ #26 Penrite Mustang and went as fast as a 1:31.0953s with just under five minutes to go before the chequered flag flew at Sydney Motorsport Park.

Walkinshaw Andretti United’s Lee Holdsworth took second at 0.0818s off the pace in Chaz Mostert’s #25 Mobil 1 Appliances Online ZB Commodore, in a session in which tyre stock was a significant factor in lap speed.

Most drivers were given a set of at least used soft compound tyres at some point, but Red Bull Ampol Racing’s Garth Tander and Craig Lowndes wound up 22nd and 23rd respectively having just run on hards.

Brad Jones Racing held sway with either of two cars for the bulk of the opening half-hour, Chris Pither fastest after the first flyers with a 1:32.3229s.

He was back on top in the 16th minute with a 1:32.0466s and then a 1:32.0084s a lap later in Macauley Jones’ #96 Coca-Cola ZB Commodore, with team-mate Dean Fiore (#14 Cub Cadet ZB Commodore) and Tickford Racing’s Zak Best (#5 Truck Assist Mustang) having spells in first position in the intervening period.

As more drivers discarded hard compound tyres to join the pace-setters on softs, Tickford’s Thomas Randle vaulted from 23rd to first with a 1:31.5951s in James Courtney’s #44 Boost Mobile Mustang, in the 29th minute.

Best was briefly back on top with a 1:31.5734s before Payne shot up from 21st with the 1:31.0953s in the #26 entry which Reynolds’ co-driver Luke Youlden otherwise would have piloted, in the 36th minute.

Holdsworth similarly improved from 22nd to second position with a 1:31.1771s, before Tickford’s James Moffat (#6 Monster Energy Mustang) and finally Matt Stone Racing’s Kurt Kostecki (#34 Unit ZB Commodore) moved into third spot.

That was how they finished up, meaning Payne is two from two for the day after also setting the pace on debut in Dunlop Super2 Series Practice 1.

Kostecki would remain third on a 1:31.4006s, Kelly Grove Racing’s Matt Campbell (#7 Ned Mustang) was fourth on a 1:31.4080s, and Moffat fifth all-told on a 1:31.5134s.

Rounding out the top 10 were Best, Randle, MSR’s Jayden Ojeda (#35 Yellow Cover ZB Commodore), BJR’s Dale Wood (#8 R&J Batteries ZB Commodore), and WAU’s Warren Luff (#2 Mobil 1 Middy’s ZB Commodore).

First of the Shell V-Power Racing Team drivers was Alex Davison in 12th in Will Davison’s #17 Mustang on a 1:31.7425s, with team-mate Tony D’Alberto 17th in the end in Anton De Pasquale’s #11 Mustang on a 1:32.1765s.

The skies over Eastern Creek were dark for Additional Drivers Practice but the rain held off for now.

The primary drivers are set to hop in for Practice 1, a half-hour session, from 19:45 local time/AEDT.

Results: Additional Drivers Practice Updated

Pos Num Team/Sponsor Driver Car Fastest lap Tyre Split
1 26 Penrite Racing Matthew Payne Ford Mustang GT 1:31.0953 S  
2 25 Mobil 1 Appliances Online Lee Holdsworth Holden Commodore ZB 1:31.1771 S 0:00.0818
3 34 UNIT Racing Kurt Kostecki Holden Commodore ZB 1:31.4006 S 0:00.3053
4 7 NED Whisky Racing Matthew Campbell Ford Mustang GT 1:31.4080 S 0:00.3127
5 6 Monster Energy Racing James Moffat Ford Mustang GT 1:31.5134 S 0:00.4181
6 5 Truck Assist Racing Zak Best Ford Mustang GT 1:31.5734 S 0:00.4781
7 44 Boost Mobile Racing Thomas Randle Ford Mustang GT 1:31.5951 S 0:00.4998
8 35 Yellow Cover Racing Jayden Ojeda Holden Commodore ZB 1:31.6717 S 0:00.5764
9 8 R&J Batteries Dale Wood Holden Commodore ZB 1:31.6751 S 0:00.5798
10 2 Mobil 1 Middy’s Racing Warren Luff Holden Commodore ZB 1:31.6812 S 0:00.5859
11 99 Erebus Boost Mobile Racing David Russell Holden Commodore ZB 1:31.7051 S 0:00.6098
12 17 Shell V-Power Racing Team Alex Davison Ford Mustang GT 1:31.7425 S 0:00.6472
13 4 SCT Logistics David Wall Holden Commodore ZB 1:31.8019 S 0:00.7066
14 14 Cub Cadet Mowers Dean Fiore Holden Commodore ZB 1:31.8695 S 0:00.7742
15 3 CoolDrive Racing Tim Blanchard Ford Mustang GT 1:31.9283 S 0:00.8330
16 96 Coca-Cola Racing Chris Pither Holden Commodore ZB 1:32.0084 S 0:00.9131
17 11 Shell V-Power Racing Team Tony D’Alberto Ford Mustang GT 1:32.1765 S 0:01.0812
18 20 DEWALT Racing James Golding Holden Commodore ZB 1:32.2936 S 0:01.1983
19 18 IRWIN Racing Michael Caruso Holden Commodore ZB 1:32.5417 S 0:01.4464
20 22 Team SYDNEY Dylan O’Keeffe Holden Commodore ZB 1:32.6047 S 0:01.5094
21 97 Red Bull Ampol Racing Team Garth Tander Holden Commodore ZB 1:33.1258 H 0:02.0305
22 88 Red Bull Ampol Racing Team Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore ZB 1:33.1735 H 0:02.0782
23 9 Erebus Motorsport Jack Perkins Holden Commodore ZB 1:34.3095 H 0:03.2142
DSQ 19 Local Legends Jonathon Webb Holden Commodore ZB      

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]