Fraser pips Feeney in Super2 Practice 2

Declan Fraser. Picture: Ross Gibb

MW Motorsport’s Declan Fraser has pipped Broc Feeney to bragging rights in practice for Round 4 of the Dunlop Super2 Series, at Sydney Motorsport Park.

Fraser snatched top spot in the final two minutes of Practice 2 with a 1:30.9587s in the #777 Nissan Altima, bettering Triple Eight Race Engineering’s Feeney, the series leader, by 0.0656s.

There ended up being three MWM entries in a top four rounded out by Tyler Everingham and Jayden Ojeda, and four Altimas in the top five courtesy of Grove Racing debutant Matt Payne, the Practice 1 fast man.

The half-hour session was disrupted by an early red flag when Brad Jones Racing Super3 debutant Elly Morrow spun the #8 VE Commodore exiting the final corner and made contact with the wall on drivers’ left.

No one had set a lap time to that point but, once the field was released again, Matt Chahda (#18 Matt Chahda Motorsport FGX Falcon) went quickest with a 1:32.0207s, just ahead of Feeney (#888 VF Commodore) on a 1:32.1677s.

Chahda stayed top until Jordan Boys apparently bolted on a new set of tyres for his second run proper and drove the #49 Image Racing VF Commodore to a 1:31.8691s and then a 1:31.7231s on consecutive laps.

As others started to roll out on new rubber, Matt Stone Racing’s Aaron Seton (#30 VF Commodore) and Everingham (#27 Nissan Altima) found themselves in a duel over top spot.

As was the case for Boys, second laps proved the fastest, with the field on hard tyres in the Western Sydney twilight.

Seton moved to second position on a 1:31.8537s, Everingham went fastest with a 1:31.5829s, then Seton bettered that with a 1:31.3656s before Everingham consolidated second position with a 1:31.2203s.

Ojeda (#31 Nissan Altima) bumped his team-mate out of second spot with a 1:31.2387s in the final two minutes before the chequered flag, then Payne (#10 Nissan Altima) moved to third with a 1:31.2513s.

Feeney had been shuffled back to 11th in the happy hour before he took the ascendancy with a 1:31.0243s, then Fraser jumped from 18th to first on a 1:30.9587s.

On his final lap, Feeney set the fastest first sector and was still faster to the second sector despite going slower than his personal best in it, but could only break the beam at a 1:31.0831s with the chequered flag out.

Behind the top five of Fraser, Feeney, Everingham, Ojeda, and Payne, was Seton on his earlier pace-setter, then Tickford Racing’s Zak Best (#78 FGX Falcon) on a 1:31.6752s, Boys, Chahda, and Angelo Mouzouris (#6 Triple Eight VF Commodore) in 10th.

Eggleston Motorsport team-mates Tony D’Alberto (#38 VF Commodore) and Tim Blanchard (#88 VF Commodore) ended up 16th and 17th respectively in their pre-Repco Bathurst 1000 cameos.

Nash Morris was first of the Super3 contingent in 18th outright, with a personal best 1:33.0453s in the #67 Flash Bush Motorsport FG Falcon.

Erstwhile Super3 Series leader Michael Anderson had a wild moment went he went off backwards at the fast Turn 1 in the 13th minute.

It appeared that the front splitter on the #5 Anderson Motorsport FG Falcon was already damaged before the spin started, although what ultimately set off the drama was not clear.

Anderson ended up fourth in class and 21st outright on an unrepresentative 1:36.4736s.

Qualifying for Race 1 starts tomorrow at 14:50 local time/AEDT.

Results: Practice 2

Pos Num Team/Sponsor Driver Car Cls Fastest lap Split
1 777 Red Hot Couriers / MWM Declan Fraser Nissan Altima S2 1:30.9587
2 888 Triple Eight Race Engineering Broc Feeney Holden Commodore VF S2 1:31.0243 0:00.0656
3 27 Blue Ribbon Legal / MWM Tyler Everingham Nissan Altima S2 1:31.2203 0:00.2616
4 31 Jayco / MWM Jayden Ojeda Nissan Altima S2 1:31.2387 0:00.2800
5 10 Grove Motorsport Matthew Payne Nissan Altima S2 1:31.2513 0:00.2926
6 30 Matt Stone Racing Aaron Seton Holden Commodore VF S2 1:31.3656 0:00.4069
7 78 Best Leisure Industries Zak Best Ford Falcon FG/X S2 1:31.6752 0:00.7165
8 49 Joss Group / Image Racing Jordan Boys Holden Commodore VF S2 1:31.7231 0:00.7644
9 18 Falcon Spares & Repairs Matthew Chahda Ford Falcon FG/X S2 1:31.7266 0:00.7679
10 6 Triple Eight Race Engineering Angelo Mouzouris Holden Commodore VF S2 1:31.8682 0:00.9095
11 28 Natural Gas and Water / MWM Josh Fife Nissan Altima S2 1:31.9450 0:00.9863
12 54 Eggleston Motorsport Australia Matthew McLean Holden Commodore VF S2 1:32.0825 0:01.1238
13 999 Rare Spares / Image Racing Jaylyn Robotham Holden Commodore VF S2 1:32.3784 0:01.4197
14 11 Brema Group Racing Zane Morse Holden Commodore VF S2 1:32.5696 0:01.6109
15 69 Dial Before You Dig Jon McCorkindale Holden Commodore VF S2 1:32.7537 0:01.7950
16 38 Eggleston Motorsport Australia Tony D’Alberto Holden Commodore VF S2 1:32.8355 0:01.8768
17 88 Eggleston Motorsport Australia Tim Blanchard Holden Commodore VF S2 1:32.8623 0:01.9036
18 67 Flash Bush Motorsport Nash Morris Ford Falcon FG CH 1:33.0453 0:02.0866
19 61 Image Racing Reef McCarthy Ford Falcon FG CH 1:33.2101 0:02.2514
20 77 Mr HDT Race Cars Blake Fardell Holden Commodore VE CH 1:34.2752 0:03.3165
21 5 Anderson Motorsport Michael Anderson Ford Falcon FG SC3 1:36.4736 0:05.5149
22 7 Mocomm Motorsport Comms Jim Pollicina Holden Commodore VE SC3 1:36.7814 0:05.8227
23 24 North West Recycling David Murphy Ford Falcon FG SC3 1:37.2172 0:06.2585
24 2 Page Bros Jayco Steven Page Holden Commodore VE2 SC3 1:37.3454 0:06.3867
25 17 Resurrection Panel N Paint Jason Foley Ford Falcon BF SC3 1:37.5754 0:06.6167
26 4 Crusher Parts International Tony Auddino Ford Falcon BF SC3 1:37.6880 0:06.7293
27 96 Collins Racing Gary Collins Holden Commodore VE2 SC3 1:38.5955 0:07.6368
28 219 Masterton Motorsport James Masterton Holden Commodore VE SC3 1:39.0694 0:08.1107
29 25 Weldcraft Motorsport Paul Boschert Holden Commodore VE SC3 2:25.2193 0:54.2606
8 Brad Jones Racing Elly Morrow Holden Commodore VE2 SC3

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]