De Pasquale edges van Gisbergen in SMP Practice 2

Anton De Pasquale

Anton De Pasquale has edged Shane van Gisbergen to top spot in the second and final practice session for the Repco Supercars Championship’s Armor All Sydney SuperNight.

De Pasquale, the Practice 1 fast man, set a late 1:29.6847s in the #11 Shell V-Power Racing Team Mustang to usurp Red Bull Ampol Racing’s championship leader by 0.1655s after another half-hour of track activity at Sydney Motorsport Park.

Erebus Motorsport duo Brodie Kostecki and Will Brown ended up third and fifth respectively, split by Brad Jones Racing’s Nick Percat.

Under patchy cloud, Percat was fastest early with a 1:30.6453s in the #8 R&J Batteries ZB Commodore, before De Pasquale reclaimed the ascendancy with a 1:30.3661s once he had completed a flyer.

The two Triple Eight Race Engineering drivers reportedly both refrained from taking new tyres in the earlier session, but were competitive in the second hit-out.

Jamie Whincup (#88 ZB Commodore) took over top spot with a 1:30.3196s on his second run, moments before team-mate van Gisbergen (#97 ZB Commodore) beat De Pasquale’s Practice 1 best with a 1:29.8502s.

Those times went unbeaten for more than a quarter of an hour, until Brodie Kostecki drove the #99 Boost Mobile ZB Commodore to a 1:30.0021s to move into second spot.

De Pasquale set his 1:29.6847s just before the chequered flag and Percat clocked a 1:30.0785s just after to put Car #8 fourth, behind van Gisbergen and Brodie Kostecki.

Said van Gisbergen about whether or not his car had got better, “Quite a lot but we don’t really know.

“It’s not qualifying yet, you don’t know if they are fully up it but it feels promising; you just don’t know.

“The wind changed then; that’s why we were all going off at Turn 1.

“It was quite difficult, but the car feels quite good but who knows?

“We’ll see what happens in quali. We don’t have enough tyres [ie Only three sets of soft tyres in the allocation], everyone has got the same problem, it’s going to be really interesting.”

Behind Brown (#9 Shaw and Partners ZB Commodore) in fifth once the music stopped were Will Davison (#17 Shell V-Power Mustang), Whincup, Scott Pye (#20 DeWalt ZB Commodore), Jack Le Brocq (#5 Truck Assist Mustang), and Tim Slade (#3 CoolDrive Mustang).

There was finally some running on the hard compound of tyre which must be used along with the soft in each of this weekend’s three races.

Among the best times on that rubber were De Pasquale’s 1:31.4365s on his penultimate run and Brodie Kostecki’s 1:31.4824s just prior.

At Team 18, Pye’s eighth and Mark Winterbottom’s 17th in the #18 Irwin Tools ZB Commodore were notable given both lost considerable time at the start of the session.

Winterbottom had suffered a power steering drama in the first session of the day, requiring a rack change that continued through the short turnaround between sessions, and there were suggestions that Pye might have had a similar issue.

Both were also among a number of drivers who kicked up dirt when they strayed beyond the edge of the exit kerb at Moffat Corner (Turn 1), as van Gisbergen alluded to, including a wild, early moment for Mostert.

Qualifying for Race 23, a three-part knockout session, gets underway from 17:10 local time/AEDT.

Results: Practice 2, Repco Supercars Championship

Pos Num Team/Sponsor Driver Car Time Diff
1 11 Shell V-Power Racing Team Anton De Pasquale Ford Mustang GT 1:29.6847
2 97 Red Bull Ampol Racing Team Shane van Gisbergen Holden Commodore ZB 1:29.8502 +0.165
3 99 Erebus Boost Mobile Racing Brodie Kostecki Holden Commodore ZB 1:30.0021 +0.317
4 8 R&J Batteries Nick Percat Holden Commodore ZB 1:30.0785 +0.393
5 9 Erebus Motorsport William Brown Holden Commodore ZB 1:30.1450 +0.460
6 17 Shell V-Power Racing Team Will Davison Ford Mustang GT 1:30.1741 +0.489
7 88 Red Bull Ampol Racing Team Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore ZB 1:30.2453 +0.560
8 20 DEWALT Racing Scott Pye Holden Commodore ZB 1:30.2528 +0.568
9 5 Truck Assist Racing Jack Le Brocq Ford Mustang GT 1:30.2842 +0.599
10 3 Dayco Racing Tim Slade Ford Mustang GT 1:30.3289 +0.644
11 2 Mobil 1 Middy’s Racing Bryce Fullwood Holden Commodore ZB 1:30.3893 +0.704
12 14 Dunlop Super Dealer Racing Todd Hazelwood Holden Commodore ZB 1:30.4170 +0.732
13 25 Mobil 1 Appliances Online Chaz Mostert Holden Commodore ZB 1:30.5204 +0.835
14 7 NED Whisky Racing Andre Heimgartner Ford Mustang GT 1:30.5908 +0.906
15 19 Local Legends Fabian Coulthard Holden Commodore ZB 1:30.7253 +1.040
16 35 Yellow Cover Racing Zane Goddard Holden Commodore ZB 1:30.7607 +1.076
17 18 IRWIN Racing Mark Winterbottom Holden Commodore ZB 1:30.7837 +1.099
18 4 SCT Logistics Jack Smith Holden Commodore ZB 1:30.8215 +1.136
19 96 Coca-Cola Racing Macauley Jones Holden Commodore ZB 1:30.8397 +1.155
20 22 PremiAir Hire Garry Jacobson Holden Commodore ZB 1:30.9966 +1.311
21 34 UNIT Racing Jake Kostecki Holden Commodore ZB 1:31.0457 +1.361
22 6 Monster Energy Racing Cameron Waters Ford Mustang GT 1:31.0570 +1.372
23 44 Boost Mobile Racing James Courtney Ford Mustang GT 1:31.2671 +1.582
24 27 Mobil 1 SP Tools Racing Kurt Kostecki Holden Commodore ZB 1:31.2815 +1.596
25 26 Penrite Racing Luke Youlden Ford Mustang GT 1:31.3177 +1.633
26 55 Castrol Racing Thomas Randle Ford Mustang GT 1:31.5634 +1.878

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]