De Pasquale fastest in Supercars Practice 1 at SMP

Anton De Pasquale

Dick Johnson Racing’s Anton De Pasquale has gone three tenths faster than the field in Practice 1 for the Bunnings Trade Sydney SuperNight.

De Pasquale drove the #11 Shell V-Power Racing Team Mustang to a 1:30.2816s with the chequered flag out on the 30-minute session, leaving him ahead of Tickford Racing’s Cameron Waters and Brad Jones Racing’s Todd Hazelwood on the timesheet.

Warm weather and a strong headwind on Brabham Straight greeted the Repco Supercars Championship field for its first official track activity since July, with the soft tyre in play.

De Pasquale set the fastest initial flyer, a 1:31.5863s, before championship leader Shane van Gisbergen (#97 Red Bull Ampol ZB Commodore) went to the top next time around with a 1:31.3490s.

Van Gisbergen improved to a 1:31.1846s at the start of his second run before De Pasquale threatened to usurp him.

The two-time Supercars Championship race winner went fastest in the first sector and fastest to the second sector, but lost time with a wide run through the Turn 10/Turn 11 complex and could only move up to third position on a 1:31.3923s, behind Hazelwood.

Waters was apparently among the several who opted for their new, handback tyres in the final minutes, wheeling the #6 Monster Energy Mustang to a 1:30.6092s.

Erebus Motorsport’s Brodie Kostecki (#99 Boost Mobile ZB Commodore) bettered Waters’ first sector on his way to a 1:31.0265s, rising to second spot just before the chequered flag.

De Pasquale had been shuffled back to sixth by the time he clocked what would be the very best lap of the session, after which Andre Heimgartner (#7 Ned Whisky Mustang) and then Hazelwood (#14 Dunlop Super Dealer ZB Commodore) took up third spot, the latter on a 1:30.6719s.

Mark Winterbottom (#18 Irwin Tools ZB Commodore) ended up fourth, ahead of Heimgartner, Brodie Kostecki, van Gisbergen, Macauley Jones (#96 Coca-Cola ZB Commodore), Will Davison (#17 Shell V-Power Mustang), and Jack Le Brocq (#5 Truck Assist Mustang).

Van Gisbergen had an innocuous excursion into the tarred run-off area when he locked up at Turn 6 in the latter stages, and furthermore did not take greens for the ‘happy hour’.

Jamie Whincup took 12th with a personal best 1:31.5700s in the #88 Red Bull Ampol ZB Commodore, while Chaz Mostert was 16th on a 1:31.7469s in the #25 Mobil 1 Appliances Online ZB Commodore, and Nick Percat 17th in the #8 R&J Batteries ZB Commodore on a 1:31.7977s.

Kelly Grove Racing’s David Reynolds experienced a transaxle leak in the #26 Penrite Oil ZB Commodore, and would finish the session 18th-fastest.

Practice 2, another half-hour session, takes place under lights from 19:30 local time/AEDT.

Results: Practice 1

Pos Num Team/Sponsor Driver Car Fastest lap Split
1 11 Shell V-Power Racing Team Anton De Pasquale Ford Mustang GT 1:30.2816  
2 6 Monster Energy Racing Cameron Waters Ford Mustang GT 1:30.6092 0:00.3276
3 14 Dunlop Super Dealer Racing Todd Hazelwood Holden Commodore ZB 1:30.6719 0:00.3903
4 18 IRWIN Racing Mark Winterbottom Holden Commodore ZB 1:30.8243 0:00.5427
5 7 NED Whisky Racing Andre Heimgartner Ford Mustang GT 1:30.8765 0:00.5949
6 99 Erebus Boost Mobile Racing Brodie Kostecki Holden Commodore ZB 1:31.0265 0:00.7449
7 97 Red Bull Ampol Racing Team Shane van Gisbergen Holden Commodore ZB 1:31.1846 0:00.9030
8 96 Coca-Cola Racing Macauley Jones Holden Commodore ZB 1:31.3731 0:01.0915
9 17 Shell V-Power Racing Team Will Davison Ford Mustang GT 1:31.4542 0:01.1726
10 5 Truck Assist Racing Jack Le Brocq Ford Mustang GT 1:31.4542 0:01.1726
11 2 Mobil 1 Middy’s Racing Bryce Fullwood Holden Commodore ZB 1:31.5543 0:01.2727
12 88 Red Bull Ampol Racing Team Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore ZB 1:31.5700 0:01.2884
13 9 Erebus Motorsport William Brown Holden Commodore ZB 1:31.6049 0:01.3233
14 19 Local Legends Fabian Coulthard Holden Commodore ZB 1:31.6977 0:01.4161
15 35 Yellow Cover Racing Zane Goddard Holden Commodore ZB 1:31.7224 0:01.4408
16 25 Mobil 1 Appliances Online Chaz Mostert Holden Commodore ZB 1:31.7469 0:01.4653
17 8 R&J Batteries Nick Percat Holden Commodore ZB 1:31.7977 0:01.5161
18 26 Penrite Racing David Reynolds Ford Mustang GT 1:31.8822 0:01.6006
19 22 PremiAir Hire Garry Jacobson Holden Commodore ZB 1:32.0197 0:01.7381
20 44 Boost Mobile Racing James Courtney Ford Mustang GT 1:32.0618 0:01.7802
21 20 DEWALT Racing Scott Pye Holden Commodore ZB 1:32.1649 0:01.8833
22 3 Dayco Racing Tim Slade Ford Mustang GT 1:32.7122 0:02.4306
23 34 UNIT Racing Jake Kostecki Holden Commodore ZB 1:32.9000 0:02.6184
24 4 SCT Logistics Jack Smith Holden Commodore ZB 1:32.9181 0:02.6365

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]