Bagnaia leads Ducati qualifying one-two, Quartararo misses Q2

Francesco Bagnaia. Picture:

Francesco Bagnaia has taken pole position for the Emilia Romagna MotoGP while championship leader Fabio Quartararo failed to get out of Qualifying 1.

Bagnaia and Jack Miller make for factory Ducati Lenovo Team entries first and second on the grid at Misano, and the former has a big opportunity to boost his slim title chances given Monster Energy Yamaha’s Quartararo is only set to start 13th.

UPDATE: Quartararo did lose his fastest lap after all and is set to start from 15th

Both of the remaining championship hopes had to go into the opening 15-minute stanza of qualifying, when a combination of cold conditions and a substantially dry track meant that all opted to fit slicks and simply keep going.

For a while it was Bagnaia setting the fastest lap and Quartararo eventually reclaiming second position once he got back to the control line, until he failed to usurp Castrol LCR Honda’s Alex Marquez on his fifth flyer.

Quartararo did get back into the top two cut-off two laps later, but only monetarily because Alex Rins (Suzuki Ecstar) bettered him in the tow.

Iker Lecuona (Tech3 KTM) moved into second spot and Bagnaia improved further to a 1:33.393s just before the chequered flag, after which Alex Marquez went fourth-fastest.

That shuffled Quartararo back to fifth, before he regained two positions with a 1:34.411s on his final lap.

He then lost the time in the minutes after the session due to the presence of a yellow flag for an Enea Bastianini (Avintia Esponsorama Ducati) crash, but it was apparently reinstated.

When Qualifying 2 got underway, Bagnaia and Lecuona picked up where they left off.

The former was fastest initially with a 1:34.167s and then a 1:33.045s, while the latter held second courtesy of a 1:35.307s and then a 1:34.309s.

Miller took up third with a 1:34.766s before Luca Marini (Sky VR46 Esponsorama Ducati) clocked a 1:34.721s.

Danilo Petrucci (Tech3 KTM), Miguel Oliveira (Red Bull KTM), and Pol Espargaro (Repsol Honda) all took turns in second position as Miller had a tour through the gravel midway through the session.

Almost as soon as Marc Marquez (Repsol Honda) had gone third with a 1:33.850s, Miller bounced back with a 1:33.250s on his fifth flyer to reclaim second spot.

The Queenslander threatened to bump Bagnaia but ultimately broke the beam with a 1:33.070s next time around to consolidate his position, as he continued to circulate without returning to the pits.

Pol Espargaro was third on a 1:33.313s when the chequered flag flew, but Marini denied him a berth on the front row when the Italian rookie achieved a 1:33.130s.

That meant a second row of Pol Espargaro, Oliveira, and Franco Morbidelli (Monster Energy Yamaha), while Marc Marquez ended up seventh after a late spill at Turn 6.

It was a crash-filled afternoon in MotoGP and the six-time premier class champion had already pulled off a massive save at the start of Q2 when he looked like going over the handlebars at Turn 2.

Lecuona ultimately qualified eighth from Q1 and Tech 3 KTM team-mate Petrucci ninth.

Johann Zarco slumped from fastest after Free Practice 3 to 10th on the starting grid, the Frenchman dropping his Ducati at Turn 14 after the chequered flag.

His Pramac Racing team-mate Jorge Martin had two crashes during Q2 and is set to start from 12th, with Gresini Aprilia’s Aleix Espargaro between them.

Joining Quartararo on Row 5 will be Rins and Alex Marquez, with Row 6 being Bastianini, Takaaki Nakagami (Idemitsu LCR Honda), and Joan Mir (Suzuki Ecstar).

The last five on the grid are Maverick Viñales (Gresini Aprilia) from Brad Binder (Red Bull KTM), Andrea Dovizioso (Petronas SRT Yamaha), wildcard Michele Pirro (Ducati Lenovo Team), and Valentino Rossi (Petronas SRT Yamaha).

Aprilia Racing Team Gresini wildcard Lorenzo Savadori broke his right collarbone in a Free Practice 3 crash, and is set for surgery.

The 27-lap race is set to start on Sunday at 23:00 AEDT.

Qualifying: Emilia Romagna MotoGP Updated

Pos Num Rider Nat Team Bike Time Gap 1st/Prev
1 63 Francesco BAGNAIA ITA Ducati Lenovo Team Ducati 1:33.045
2 43 Jack MILLER AUS Ducati Lenovo Team Ducati 1:33.070 0.025 / 0.025
3 10 Luca MARINI ITA SKY VR46 Avintia Ducati 1:33.130 0.085 / 0.060
4 44 Pol ESPARGARO ESP Repsol Honda Team Honda 1:33.313 0.268 / 0.183
5 88 Miguel OLIVEIRA POR Red Bull KTM Factory Racing KTM 1:33.439 0.394 / 0.126
6 21 Franco MORBIDELLI ITA Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha 1:33.526 0.481 / 0.087
7 93 Marc MARQUEZ ESP Repsol Honda Team Honda 1:33.850 0.805 / 0.324
8 27 Iker LECUONA ESP Tech 3 KTM Factory Racing KTM 1:33.893 0.848 / 0.043
9 9 Danilo PETRUCCI ITA Tech 3 KTM Factory Racing KTM 1:34.140 1.095 / 0.247
10 5 Johann ZARCO FRA Pramac Racing Ducati 1:34.687 1.642 / 0.547
11 41 Aleix ESPARGARO ESP Aprilia Racing Team Gresini Aprilia 1:34.963 1.918 / 0.276
12 89 Jorge MARTIN ESP Pramac Racing Ducati 2:24.631 51.586 / 49.668
13 42 Alex RINS ESP Team SUZUKI ECSTAR Suzuki 1:34.418 Q1 / Q1
14 73 Alex MARQUEZ ESP LCR Honda CASTROL Honda 1:34.454 Q1 / 0.036
15 20 Fabio QUARTARARO FRA Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha 1:34.476 Q1 / 0.022
16 23 Enea BASTIANINI ITA Avintia Esponsorama Ducati 1:35.236 Q1 / 0.760
17 30 Takaaki NAKAGAMI JPN LCR Honda IDEMITSU Honda 1:35.641 Q1 / 0.405
18 36 Joan MIR ESP Team SUZUKI ECSTAR Suzuki 1:35.683 Q1 / 0.042
19 12 Maverick VIÑALES ESP Aprilia Racing Team Gresini Aprilia 1:35.835 Q1 / 0.152
20 33 Brad BINDER RSA Red Bull KTM Factory Racing KTM 1:36.478 Q1 / 0.643
21 04 Andrea DOVIZIOSO ITA Petronas Yamaha SRT Yamaha 1:36.639 Q1 / 0.161
22 51 Michele PIRRO ITA Ducati Lenovo Team Ducati 1:37.880 Q1 / 1.241
23 46 Valentino ROSSI ITA Petronas Yamaha SRT Yamaha 1:38.261 Q1 / 0.381
32 Lorenzo SAVADORI ITA Aprilia Racing Team Gresini Aprilia

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]