Bagnaia pole, Miller qualifies second for Aragon MotoGP

Francesco Bagnaia. Picture:

Factory Ducati team-mates Francesco Bagnaia and Jack Miller have qualified first and second respectively for the Aragon MotoGP round.

Bagnaia smashed the all time lap record at MotorLand Aragon in setting a 1:46.322s while Miller stole the middle slot on the front row from Fabio Quartararo with a late 1:46.688s.

It had been the same top three after the opening flyers in Qualifying 2, Bagnaia (Ducati Lenovo Team) with a 1:46.908s from Miller on a 1:47.401s and Quartararo (Monster Energy Yamaha) on a 1:47.402s.

Jorge Martin (Pramac Ducati) moved the marker to a 1:46.878s on his second flyer but he was second to Quartararo at the end of the first runs after the championship leader nailed a 1:46.727s.

That left Bagnaia third and Miller fourth, the latter having improved to a 1:47.081s, while Marc Marquez (Repsol Honda) sat fifth on a 1:47.144s.

When the second runs began, Bagnaia made an early impact by blitzing the existing all time lap record of 1:46.635s.

At that point, however, Quartararo still looked a threat as he went quicker to the first sector before losing time in the second and then running long at Turn 12 anyway.

Marc Marquez jumped back onto the provisional front row with a 1:46.736s just before the chequered flag, while Quartararo was still chasing pole.

The Frenchman set a new personal best of 1:46.719s but it would not even be good enough to hold onto second position in the end, as Miller advanced from fifth on his final lap.

The Queenslander thus knocked Marc Marquez onto the second row, which the six-time premier class champion will share with Martin and Aleix Espargaro (Gresini Aprilia).

Row 3 will be Joan Mir (Suzuki Ecstar) from Pol Espargaro (Repsol Honda), and Enea Bastianini (Avintia Esponsorama Ducati), the latter in his first Q2 appearance in MotoGP.

The bottom three in Q2 were Johann Zarco (Pramac Ducati), Takaaki Nakagami (Idemitsu LCR Honda), and Brad Binder (Red Bull KTM).

Earlier in Q1, it was Zarco who dominated, amid disaster for Alex Rins.

The former was almost four tenths up on the field at the end of the first runs courtesy of a 1:47.327s and progressed to a 1:47.293s just before the chequered flag.

Binder got through with a time 0.051s away from Zarco’s best, consigning Iker Lecuona (Tech3 KTM) to 13th, Alex Marquez (Castrol LCR Honda) to 14th, and Cal Crutchlow (#35 Monster Energy Yamaha) to 15th.

Behind them on Row 6 will be Danilo Petrucci (Tech3 KTM), Luca Marini (Sky VR46 Esponsorama Ducati), and Miguel Oliveira (Red Bull KTM).

Row 7 is full of notables, with Maverick Viñales qualifying 19th for Gresini Aprilia at the first time of asking, Suzuki Ecstar’s Rins only managing 20th, and Valentino Rossi taking 21st.

The latter’s stand-in Petronas SRT Yamaha team-mate, Jake Dixon, brings up the rear of the 22-rider field.

Race start is due on Sunday at 22:00 AEST, with 23 laps on the cards.

Qualifying: Aragon MotoGP

Pos Num Rider Nat Team Bike Time Gap 1st/Prev
1 63 Francesco BAGNAIA ITA Ducati Lenovo Team Ducati 1:46.322  
2 43 Jack MILLER AUS Ducati Lenovo Team Ducati 1:46.688 0.366 / 0.366
3 20 Fabio QUARTARARO FRA Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha 1:46.719 0.397 / 0.031
4 93 Marc MARQUEZ ESP Repsol Honda Team Honda 1:46.736 0.414 / 0.017
5 89 Jorge MARTIN ESP Pramac Racing Ducati 1:46.878 0.556 / 0.142
6 41 Aleix ESPARGARO ESP Aprilia Racing Team Gresini Aprilia 1:46.883 0.561 / 0.005
7 36 Joan MIR ESP Team SUZUKI ECSTAR Suzuki 1:47.162 0.840 / 0.279
8 44 Pol ESPARGARO ESP Repsol Honda Team Honda 1:47.194 0.872 / 0.032
9 23 Enea BASTIANINI ITA Avintia Esponsorama Ducati 1:47.278 0.956 / 0.084
10 5 Johann ZARCO FRA Pramac Racing Ducati 1:47.288 0.966 / 0.010
11 30 Takaaki NAKAGAMI JPN LCR Honda IDEMITSU Honda 1:47.366 1.044 / 0.078
12 33 Brad BINDER RSA Red Bull KTM Factory Racing KTM 1:47.932 1.610 / 0.566
13 27 Iker LECUONA ESP Tech 3 KTM Factory Racing KTM 1:47.508 Q1 / Q1
14 73 Alex MARQUEZ ESP LCR Honda CASTROL Honda 1:47.542 Q1 / 0.034
15 35 Cal CRUTCHLOW GBR Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha 1:47.613 Q1 / 0.071
16 9 Danilo PETRUCCI ITA Tech 3 KTM Factory Racing KTM 1:47.708 Q1 / 0.095
17 10 Luca MARINI ITA SKY VR46 Avintia Ducati 1:47.741 Q1 / 0.033
18 88 Miguel OLIVEIRA POR Red Bull KTM Factory Racing KTM 1:47.750 Q1 / 0.009
19 12 Maverick VIÑALES ESP Aprilia Racing Team Gresini Aprilia 1:47.764 Q1 / 0.014
20 42 Alex RINS ESP Team SUZUKI ECSTAR Suzuki 1:47.790 Q1 / 0.026
21 46 Valentino ROSSI ITA Petronas Yamaha SRT Yamaha 1:47.863 Q1 / 0.073
22 96 Jake DIXON GBR Petronas Yamaha SRT Yamaha 1:48.146 Q1 / 0.283

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]