Best breaks Feeney’s Super2 pole streak

Zak Best

Tickford Racing’s Zak Best has broken Broc Feeney’s Dunlop Super2 Series qualifying hot streak with a career-first pole ahead of the second and final race of Round 3, in Townsville.

Just 0.0144s separated the erstwhile series leader from Feeney, the current series leader, at the conclusion of the Super2 class’s 10-minute hit-out, with Image Racing’s Jordan Boys third and MW Motorsport’s Jayden Ojeda fourth.

Feeney (#888 VF Commodore) had taken the last three Super2 poles and the Triple Eight Race Engineering driver was quickest of the handful who set a time on their initial runs with a 1:15.5223s, ahead of Boys (#49 VF Commodore) on a 1:15.6292s.

That was before the field bolted on new tyres for their final efforts, and several drivers subsequently had turns at the top of the timing screen.

Aaron Seton (#30 Matt Stone Racing VF Commodore) was first into the 1:14s bracket but he was quickly bettered by Ojeda (#31 Nissan Altima) and then Feeney, the latter on a 1:14.5020s.

Boys reclaimed second spot with a 1:14.5817s, before Best (#78 FGX Falcon) was able to clock a 1:14.4876s in the final minute prior to the chequered flag.

Ojeda then improved his time but not his position in setting a 1:14.6870s, leaving Car #31 on the outside of Row 2 of the grid at the Reid Park Street Circuit.

“We’ve just been slowly building all weekend, just trying to catch that #888 car,” said Best.

“We’ve finally done it so it’s a good feeling. We knew we had it in us but just put it together and got the job done.”

Rounding out the top 10 were Seton, Triple Eight’s Angelo Mouzouris (#6 VF Commodore), Josh Fife (#28 MWM Nissan Altima), Jack Perkins (#88 Eggleston Motorsport VF Commodore), Zane Morse (#11 Zane Morse VF Commodore), and Declan Fraser (#777 MWM Nissan Altima).

Tyler Everingham (#27 MWM Nissan Altima) ended up 11th in a session contested by all 16 Super2 entries, even after the massive pile-up on the afternoon prior that saw Perkins’ car catch fire.

In the Super3 class, Nash Morris (#67 Flash Bush Motorsport FG Falcon) was on pole again with a 1:16.2828s which puts him 16th outright on the grid.

Michael Anderson (#5 Anderson Motorsport FG Falcon), who leads the third tier series, was second in class and 18th outright on a 1:16.9654s.

The Round 3 finale, to be contested over 21 laps, is set to start this afternoon at 14:20 local time/AEST.

Results: Qualifying for Race 2

Pos Num Team/Sponsor Driver Car Cls Fastest lap Split
1 78 Best Leisure Industries Zak Best Ford Falcon FG/X S2 1:14.4876
2 888 Triple Eight Race Engineering Broc Feeney Holden Commodore VF S2 1:14.5020 0:00.0144
3 49 Image Racing / Joss Group Jordan Boys Holden Commodore VF S2 1:14.5817 0:00.0941
4 31 Jayco / MWM Jayden Ojeda Nissan Altima S2 1:14.6870 0:00.1994
5 30 Matt Stone Racing Aaron Seton Holden Commodore VF S2 1:14.9446 0:00.4570
6 6 Triple Eight Race Engineering Angelo Mouzouris Holden Commodore VF S2 1:14.9822 0:00.4946
7 28 Natural Gas and Water / MWM Josh Fife Nissan Altima S2 1:15.0412 0:00.5536
8 88 Eggleston Motorsport Jack Perkins Holden Commodore VF S2 1:15.0426 0:00.5550
9 11 Brema Group Racing Zane Morse Holden Commodore VF S2 1:15.1840 0:00.6964
10 777 Red Hot Couriers / MWM Declan Fraser Nissan Altima S2 1:15.2130 0:00.7254
11 27 Blue Ribbon Legal / MWM Tyler Everingham Nissan Altima S2 1:15.2213 0:00.7337
12 18 Adventure Kings Matthew Chahda Ford Falcon FG/X S2 1:15.2331 0:00.7455
13 999 Rare Spares / Image Racing Jaylyn Robotham Holden Commodore VF S2 1:15.2370 0:00.7494
14 54 Eggleston Motorsport Matthew McLean Holden Commodore VF S2 1:15.2914 0:00.8038
15 69 Dial Before You Dig Jon McCorkindale Holden Commodore VF S2 1:15.8327 0:01.3451
16 67 Flash Bush Motorsport Nash Morris Ford Falcon FG CH 1:16.2828 0:01.7952
17 38 Eggleston Motorsport Jack Sipp Holden Commodore VF S2 1:16.2955 0:01.8079
18 5 Anderson Motorsport Michael Anderson Ford Falcon FG SC3 1:16.9654 0:02.4768
19 77 Mr HDT Race Cars Blake Fardell Holden Commodore VE CH 1:17.1240 0:02.6364
20 35 Unit Racing Jason Gomersall Ford Falcon FG SC3 1:17.2633 0:02.7757
21 61 Image Racing Reef McCarthy Ford Falcon FG CH 1:17.9035 0:03.4159
22 39 Vectra Group Chris Smerdon Ford Falcon FG SC3 1:18.4128 0:03.9252
23 96 Collins Racing Gary Collins Holden Commodore VE2 SC3 1:21.6492 0:07.1616

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]