Reynolds tops Supercars Practice 1 at Townsville

David Reynolds

David Reynolds has topped Practice 1 for the NTI Townsville 500 by a margin of two tenths over Will Davison.

They were among a seemingly somewhat small number of drivers who were sent on qualifying simulations at the end of the 40-minute hit-out which kicked off Event 6 of the 2021 Repco Supercars Championship.

Davison had wheeled the #17 Shell V-Power Mustang to a 1:12.9986s with the chequered flag out before Reynolds clocked a 1:12.7971s in Kelly Grove Racing’s #26 Penrite Mustang.

Both therefore jumped Todd Hazelwood (#14 Pizza Hut ZB Commodore), who had not long set a 1:13.0078s, with Chaz Mostert (#25 Mobil 1 Appliances Online ZB Commodore) ending up fourth on a 1:13.0257s.


The session began in dry conditions but with the Reid Park Street Circuit still somewhat green after earlier showers.

Anton De Pasquale (#11 Shell V-Power Mustang), Brad Jones Racing’s Hazelwood, and Tickford Racing’s James Courtney (#44 Boost Mobile Mustang) were among the initial pace-setters, before the Red Bull Ampol Racing duo had their first crack.

Shane van Gisbergen, who was back in the pits early for the refuelling practice allowed at what is the first 500km event since February, drove the #97 ZB Commodore to a 1:13.3692s at the start of his opening run proper.

Team-mate Jamie Whincup quickly usurped him with a 1:13.2612s in the #88 ZB Commodore and set a 1:13.1807s next time around.

Cameron Waters (#6 Monster Energy Mustang) was second at the end of the first runs on a 1:13.2639s and van Gisbergen third on a 1:13.3192s, which was how the sharp end of the timing screen remained for some time.

Zane Goddard (#35 Yellow Cover ZB Commodore) jumped from bottom of the pile to fourth with a 1:13.3368s on his third run, and that was the last change to the top five until the end-of-session ‘happy hour’.

“Obviously, that was a decent lap,” said Reynolds.

“I ran a set of [new/er] tyres which most other people probably didn’t.”

On the #26 KGR machine, he added, “We changed a couple of things in our car between Darwin and here so we’ve sped up the steering to try to give me more feel and changed some front-end parts and it’s obviously working.

“The car is really good, we’ve just got to keep it there.”

Behind Reynolds, Davison, Hazelwood, and Mostert on the timesheet was Erebus Motorsport’s Will Brown (#9 Pedders ZB Commodore) on a 1:13.0873s.

Whincup’s early efforts saw him end up sixth, ahead of Waters, Fabian Coulthard (#19 Local Legends ZB Commodore), van Gisbergen, and Goddard.

De Pasquale apparently did not go after a qualifying simulation and finished 18th-fastest on a 1:13.7064s.

Practice 2, another 40-minute session, is due to start at 15:05 local time/AEST.

Results: Practice 1

Pos Num Team/Sponsor Driver Car Fastest lap Split
1 26 Penrite Racing David Reynolds Ford Mustang GT 1:12.7971  
2 17 Shell V-Power Racing Team Will Davison Ford Mustang GT 1:12.9986 0:00.2015
3 14 Pizza Hut Todd Hazelwood Holden Commodore ZB 1:13.0078 0:00.2107
4 25 Mobil 1 Appliances Online Chaz Mostert Holden Commodore ZB 1:13.0257 0:00.2286
5 9 Erebus Pedders Racing William Brown Holden Commodore ZB 1:13.0873 0:00.2902
6 88 Red Bull Ampol Racing Team Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore ZB 1:13.1807 0:00.3836
7 6 Monster Energy Racing Cameron Waters Ford Mustang GT 1:13.2639 0:00.4668
8 19 Local Legends Fabian Coulthard Holden Commodore ZB 1:13.2690 0:00.4719
9 97 Red Bull Ampol Racing Team Shane van Gisbergen Holden Commodore ZB 1:13.3192 0:00.5221
10 35 Yellow Cover Racing Zane Goddard Holden Commodore ZB 1:13.3368 0:00.5397
11 44 Boost Mobile Racing James Courtney Ford Mustang GT 1:13.3390 0:00.5419
12 34 UNIT Racing Jake Kostecki Holden Commodore ZB 1:13.3399 0:00.5428
13 7 NED Whisky Racing Andre Heimgartner Ford Mustang GT 1:13.3548 0:00.5577
14 18 IRWIN Racing Mark Winterbottom Holden Commodore ZB 1:13.5227 0:00.7256
15 20 DEWALT Racing Scott Pye Holden Commodore ZB 1:13.5355 0:00.7384
16 5 Truck Assist Racing Jack Le Brocq Ford Mustang GT 1:13.5781 0:00.7810
17 8 R&J Batteries Nick Percat Holden Commodore ZB 1:13.6471 0:00.8500
18 11 Shell V-Power Racing Team Anton De Pasquale Ford Mustang GT 1:13.7064 0:00.9093
19 3 CoolDrive Racing Tim Slade Ford Mustang GT 1:13.8440 0:01.0469
20 99 Erebus Boost Mobile Racing Brodie Kostecki Holden Commodore ZB 1:13.9931 0:01.1960
21 2 Mobil 1 Middy’s Racing Bryce Fullwood Holden Commodore ZB 1:14.0521 0:01.2550
22 96 Coca-Cola Racing Macauley Jones Holden Commodore ZB 1:14.2341 0:01.4370
23 22 Team SYDNEY Garry Jacobson Holden Commodore ZB 1:14.3009 0:01.5038
24 4 SCT Logistics Jack Smith Holden Commodore ZB 1:14.4424 0:01.6453

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]