Heimgartner edges Whincup in Practice 2

Andre Heimgartner

Andre Heimgartner has gone fastest in another weather-affected, second practice session for the OTR SuperSprint at The Bend Motorsport Park.

While the circuit generally dried over the course of the 30-minute hit-out, the best lap times were still not quite representative of normal pace, with Heimgartner’s benchmark a 1:49.2419s in the #7 Ned Mustang.

Nevertheless, the Kelly Grove Racing driver edged Red Bull Ampol Racing’s Whincup by 0.1628s, well after the chequered flag, with Will Davison ending up third in the #17 Shell V-Power Mustang.

David Reynolds (#26 Penrite Mustang) made it both KGR cars in the top four, Chaz Mostert (#25 Mobil 1 Appliances Online ZB Commodore) ended up fifth, and championship leader Shane van Gisbergen (#97 Red Bull Ampol ZB Commodore) was eighth.


While rain had stopped in time for the start of the session, the circuit was still partially wet and all who initially went out did so on treaded rubber.

Cameron Waters (#6 Monster Energy Mustang) set the fastest first flyer with a 2:04.2928s, Whincup (#88 ZB Commodore) moved the marker to a 2:03.5186s next time around, and Tim Slade (#3 CoolDrive Mustang) took over top spot with a 2:20.0032s on his third lap.

Mostert did not bother to complete a lap on wets, but shot to the top with a 1:59.1184s in the 11th minute, once he had slicks on the #25 Walkinshaw Andretti United entry

Similarly, Macauley Jones had gone out later than most and was on slicks immediately, taking the ascendancy in the 12th minute with a 1:57.9570s in the #96 Coca-Cola ZB Commodore.

He and Mostert traded fastest laps for a period of time, the latter getting all the way down to a 1:51.5779s immediately before pitting to end his first run proper.

Whincup was back to the top in the 19th minute with a 1:50.7887s, but for only moments before Heimgartner set a 1:50.5636s and then Davison a 1:50.2040s.

Despite reports of light rain, inconsistent though it may have been, the final few minutes did prove to be a relative ‘happy hour’.

Todd Hazelwood (#14 TRG Transport ZB Commodore) clocked a 1:49.9894s in the second-last minute before the chequered flag, before James Courtney (#44 Boost Mobile Mustang) set a 1:49.6811s and Reynolds a 1:49.6563s.

With the chequered flag out, Whincup jumped from 15th to first with a 1:49.4047s but Heimgartner, who had been shuffled all the way back to 20th, had even more pace.

“We went out on greens really late,” said the Practice 2 fast man.

“The car was good, I knew I could do the time. I could gave gone a bit faster again but I made couple of small mistakes that cost a few tenths. But I’m really happy.

“The car this weekend, we continued it on from where we were last year, so I really know what I’ve got under me, which is half the battle.

“In those conditions, you want to know what you’ve got.”

Davison ended up third at a margin of 0.2474s to Car #7, with Reynolds 0.4144s away from his team-mate.

Behind Mostert on the timesheet was Courtney, who finished his session with a lurid slide off the threesome of right-handers, in sixth position.

Seventh through 10th was Hazelwood, van Gisbergen, Brodie Kostecki (#99 Boost Mobile ZB Commodore), and Bryce Fullwood (#2 Mobil 1 Middy’s ZB Commodore).

Thomas Randle (#55 Castrol Mustang) was 18th and Waters only 22nd at 1.6525s off the pace, although the latter did not appear to put a genuine lap together either due to mistakes or choosing to pit while on a fast one.

Kurt Kostecki (#27 Mobil 1 ZB Commodore) ended up 24th in Walkinshaw Andretti United’s wildcard entry.

Qualifying for Race 9, a knockout session, starts at 12:50 local time/13:20 AEST.

Results: Practice 2

Pos Num Team/Sponsor Driver Car Fastest lap Split
1 7 NED Whisky Racing Andre Heimgartner Ford Mustang GT 1:49.2419  
2 88 Red Bull Ampol Racing Team Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore ZB 1:49.4047 0:00.1628
3 17 Shell V-Power Racing Team Will Davison Ford Mustang GT 1:49.4893 0:00.2474
4 26 Penrite Racing David Reynolds Ford Mustang GT 1:49.6563 0:00.4144
5 25 Mobil 1 Appliances Online Chaz Mostert Holden Commodore ZB 1:49.6584 0:00.4165
6 44 Boost Mobile Racing James Courtney Ford Mustang GT 1:49.6811 0:00.4392
7 14 TRG Transport Todd Hazelwood Holden Commodore ZB 1:49.7200 0:00.4781
8 97 Red Bull Ampol Racing Team Shane van Gisbergen Holden Commodore ZB 1:49.7406 0:00.4987
9 99 Erebus Boost Mobile Racing Brodie Kostecki Holden Commodore ZB 1:49.7747 0:00.5328
10 2 Mobil 1 Middy’s Racing Bryce Fullwood Holden Commodore ZB 1:49.9933 0:00.7514
11 3 CoolDrive Racing Tim Slade Ford Mustang GT 1:50.0024 0:00.7605
12 9 Erebus Motorsport William Brown Holden Commodore ZB 1:50.0060 0:00.7641
13 20 DEWALT Racing Scott Pye Holden Commodore ZB 1:50.0187 0:00.7768
14 8 R&J Batteries Nick Percat Holden Commodore ZB 1:50.0983 0:00.8564
15 19 Local Legends Fabian Coulthard Holden Commodore ZB 1:50.1783 0:00.9364
16 35 Yellow Cover Racing Zane Goddard Holden Commodore ZB 1:50.2474 0:01.0055
17 5 Truck Assist Racing Jack Le Brocq Ford Mustang GT 1:50.2707 0:01.0288
18 55 Castrol Racing Thomas Randle Ford Mustang GT 1:50.2788 0:01.0369
19 4 SCT Motor Sports Jack Smith Holden Commodore ZB 1:50.4548 0:01.2129
20 18 IRWIN Racing Mark Winterbottom Holden Commodore ZB 1:50.4750 0:01.2331
21 96 Coca-Cola Racing Macauley Jones Holden Commodore ZB 1:50.5033 0:01.2614
22 6 Monster Energy Racing Cameron Waters Ford Mustang GT 1:50.8944 0:01.6525
23 22 Team SYDNEY Garry Jacobson Holden Commodore ZB 1:51.1314 0:01.8895
24 27 Walkinshaw Andretti United Kurt Kostecki Holden Commodore ZB 1:51.1368 0:01.8949
25 11 Shell V-Power Racing Team Anton De Pasquale Ford Mustang GT 1:51.3303 0:02.0884
26 34 UNIT Racing Jake Kostecki Holden Commodore ZB 1:52.9636 0:03.7217

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]