Bargwanna disqualified from TCR Race 1 for tyre mix-up

Jason Bargwanna. Picture: Supercheap Auto TCR Australia Series

Jason Bargwanna has been disqualified from Race 1 of Round 4 of the Supercheap Auto TCR Australia Series after his Peugeot was fitted with a team-mate’s tyres.

The Phillip Island race winner provisionally finished 13th in the weekend opener at Sydney Motorsport Park but did so with two of the tyres from Aaron Cameron’s Peugeot on his own car.

As such, he scored no points and the #17 Garry Rogers Motorsport entry sits at the rear of the 22-car grid for Race 2, this morning.

Son Ben Bargwanna also had dramas with tyres, a failure on Lap 8 causing him to spin off at Bond Bend.

The youngster was sent back out and finished last, a lap down, but scrounges seven points for that effort having now been officially classified 21st due to his father’s penalty.

HMO Customer Racing’s Josh Buchan drove his Hyundai to a maiden victory in Race 1, while pole-sitter Dylan O’Keeffe ended up 10th after a technical gremlin ultimately forced him to a pit lane start.

Race 2 was officially due to start at 10:10 local time/AEST but, as at 10:20, cars are still waiting on the grid as fog continues to linger at Sydney Motorsport Park.

Results: Race 1 Updated*

Pos Num Team/Sponsor Driver Car Laps Race time
1 30 HMO Customer Racing Josh Buchan Hyundai i30N 15 24:20.4961
2 34 LMCT+ Racing GRM James Moffat Renault Megane RS 15 24:23.8308
3 25 MPC Bostik Racing Chaz Mostert Audi RS 3 15 24:28.9163
4 50 Honda Wall Racing Tony D’Alberto Honda Civic Type R 15 24:30.8269
5 11 HMO Customer Racing Nathan Morcom Hyundai i30N 15 24:31.1314
6 150 Valvoline Racing GRM Michael Caruso Alfa Romeo Giulietta 15 24:31.4417
7 5 Garry Rogers Motorsport Jordan Cox Alfa Romeo Giulietta 15 24:33.1003
8 10 Ashley Seward Motorsport Lee Holdsworth Alfa Romeo Giulietta 15 24:33.5652
9 155 Team Valvoline GRM Aaron Cameron Peugeot 308 TCR 15 24:36.1790
10 33 Lowbake Racing GRM Dylan O’Keeffe Renault Megane RS 15 24:37.5959
11 24 Mobil 1 Wall Racing John Martin Honda Civic Type R 15 24:41.2591
12 9 Ashley Seward Motorsport Jay Hanson Alfa Romeo Giulietta 15 24:46.8875
13 110 Team Soutar Motorsport Zac Soutar Honda Civic Type R 15 24:47.1677
14 2 MPC Moutai Racing Luke King Audi RS 3 15 24:47.4532
15 130 HMO Customer Racing Duvashen Padayachee Hyundai i30N 15 24:47.9614
16 15 Michael Clemente Motorsport Michael Clemente Honda Civic Type R 15 24:48.1491
17 14 Purple Sector / Southern Star Lachlan Mineeff Volkswagen Golf GTI 15 24:48.3798
18 333 Tilton Racing Brad Shiels Hyundai i30N 15 24:51.2278
19 37 MPC Astrontech Racing Chelsea Angelo Volkswagen Golf GTI 15 24:53.7260
20 111 AH Racing Michael King Hyundai i30N 15 24:58.7756
21 71 Burson Auto Parts Racing Ben Bargwanna Peugeot 308 TCR 14 25:44.5222
DSQ 17 Burson Auto Parts Racing Jason Bargwanna Peugeot 308 TCR

* Car #17 disqualified, Car #333 10sec penalty

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]