Waters quickest again in Practice 2 in Tasmania

Cameron Waters

Cameron Waters has set the pace again in the second and final practice session for the Beaurepaires Tasmania SuperSprint.

Just as he had done in Practice 1 at the third event of the Repco Supercars Championship, Waters stole the top spot from one of the Dick Johnson Racing entries after the chequered flag at Symmons Plains.

The Tickford Racing driver jumped from ninth to first with a 50.7244s in the #6 Monster Energy Mustang, beating Anton De Pasquale (#11 Shell V-Power Mustang) by 0.0208s.

Shane van Gisbergen (#97 Red Bull Ampol ZB Commodore) ended up third-fastest in the 30-minute session, Jack Le Brocq (#5 Truck Assist Mustang) was fourth again in the second of the Tickford entries, and Chaz Mostert (#25 Mobil 1 Appliances Online ZB Commodore) rounded out the top five.

Will Brown (#9 Ozland ZB Commodore) kicked off proceedings with a 51.7589s, which was knocked off next time around by Will Davison’s (#17 Shell V-Power Mustang) 51.1940s.

Van Gisbergen momentarily held the lead with a 51.1868s on his third timed lap but that was quickly knocked off by a 51.0702s from Mark Winterbottom (#18 Irwin Tools ZB Commodore).

Waters moved the benchmark to a 50.9698s on his second run, before Mostert (#25 Mobil 1 Appliances Online ZB Commodore) lowered it to a 50.8798s, just shy of the former’s Practice 1 pace-setter.

That stood up until the 28th minute, when Le Brocq set the 50.7859s which would be his best of the session.

De Pasquale crept up from third to first with a 50.7452s, then put his cue in the rack next time around as van Gisbergen clocked a 50.7805s.

Waters, however, would not be denied, pipping the DJR driver by a couple of hundredths, and van Gisbergen by 0.0561s.

“Pretty good start to the weekend obviously,” said the fast man.

“Saying that, it is only practice, everyone is on different plans, so we won’t get too carried away.

“Got to make the car a bit nicer yet, but a really good start.”

Waters expressed similar concerns to those he identified after Practice 1, however, namely that his Mustang might not be as competitive over a race distance.

“It’s always hard to overtake and you want to start up the front,” he added.

“Our car is probably eating up the tyres a little more than what everyone else is this year so that’s something we need to try to fix.”

Mostert’s qualifying simulation, with roaded tyres down the left-hand side of Car #25, yielded a 50.8342s, while Winterbottom wound up sixth on a 50.8611s.

Scott Pye (#20 DeWalt ZB Commodore) finished seventh-quickest, from Davison and Jamie Whincup (#88 Red Bull Ampol ZB Commodore), the latter of whom was among those to venture off the circuit during the hit-out.

Todd Hazelwood (#14 Scandia ZB Commodore) and David Reynolds (#26 Penrite Mustang) rounded out the top 10, with Fabian Coulthard (#19 Local Legends ZB Commodore) 17th.

Qualifying for Race 6, a knockout session with field split in half to start off, is due to get underway at 13:25 local time/AEST.

Results: Practice 2

Pos Num Team/Sponsor Driver Car Fastest lap Split
1 6 Monster Energy Racing Cameron Waters Ford Mustang GT 0:50.7244  
2 11 Shell V-Power Racing Team Anton De Pasquale Ford Mustang GT 0:50.7452 0:00.0208
3 97 Red Bull Ampol Racing Team Shane van Gisbergen Holden Commodore ZB 0:50.7805 0:00.0561
4 5 Truck Assist Racing Jack Le Brocq Ford Mustang GT 0:50.7859 0:00.0615
5 25 Mobil 1 Appliances Online Chaz Mostert Holden Commodore ZB 0:50.8342 0:00.1098
6 18 IRWIN Racing Mark Winterbottom Holden Commodore ZB 0:50.8611 0:00.1367
7 20 DEWALT Racing Scott Pye Holden Commodore ZB 0:50.8744 0:00.1500
8 17 Shell V-Power Racing Team Will Davison Ford Mustang GT 0:50.8943 0:00.1699
9 88 Red Bull Ampol Racing Team Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore ZB 0:50.8986 0:00.1742
10 14 Scandia Racing Todd Hazelwood Holden Commodore ZB 0:50.9434 0:00.2190
11 26 Penrite Racing David Reynolds Ford Mustang GT 0:51.0254 0:00.3010
12 34 UNIT Racing Jake Kostecki Holden Commodore ZB 0:51.0429 0:00.3185
13 99 Erebus Boost Mobile Racing Brodie Kostecki Holden Commodore ZB 0:51.0442 0:00.3198
14 8 R&J Batteries Nick Percat Holden Commodore ZB 0:51.0472 0:00.3228
15 96 Coca-Cola Racing Macauley Jones Holden Commodore ZB 0:51.0937 0:00.3693
16 9 Erebus Motorsport William Brown Holden Commodore ZB 0:51.0950 0:00.3706
17 19 Local Legends Fabian Coulthard Holden Commodore ZB 0:51.1017 0:00.3773
18 3 CoolDrive Racing Tim Slade Ford Mustang GT 0:51.1041 0:00.3797
19 22 Team SYDNEY Garry Jacobson Holden Commodore ZB 0:51.2198 0:00.4954
20 2 Mobil 1 Middy’s Racing Bryce Fullwood Holden Commodore ZB 0:51.2645 0:00.5401
21 4 SCT Motor Sports Jack Smith Holden Commodore ZB 0:51.2648 0:00.5404
22 44 Boost Mobile Racing James Courtney Ford Mustang GT 0:51.3027 0:00.5783
23 35 Yellow Cover Racing Zane Goddard Holden Commodore ZB 0:51.3082 0:00.5838
24 7 NED Whisky Racing Andre Heimgartner Ford Mustang GT 0:51.4887 0:00.7643

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]