Waters pips Davison in Symmons Practice 1

Cameron Waters

Cameron Waters has pipped Will Davison to Practice 1 bragging rights at the Beaurepaires Tasmania SuperSprint by 0.0048s.

Waters set a 50.8468s with the chequered flag out in the #6 Monster Energy Mustang, bettering Davison’s 50.8516s just prior in the #17 Shell V-Power Mustang.

Less than a tenth of a second covered a top four rounded out by Chaz Mostert (#25 Mobil 1 Appliances Online ZB Commodore) and Jack Le Brocq (#5 Truck Assist Mustang).

Championship leader Shane van Gisbergen (#97 Red Bull Ampol ZB Commodore) was fifth-fastest in the 30-minute hit-out, which ran in sunny but cold conditions at Symmons Plains.

There was a red flag before anyone had set a lap time when the Tim Slade-driven #3 CoolDrive Mustang lost its right-rear wheel and came to a halt at the start of the pit entry road.

When the first flyers finally came, it was David Reynolds (#26 Penrite Mustang) from near the back of the queue who was fastest with a 51.5565s.

Van Gisbergen quickly reclaimed the position which Reynolds had taken off him in clocking a 51.1312s next time around, followed by a 51.0208s and a 50.9640s to end his first run proper.

Mostert moved to the top when he laid down a 50.9067s just beyond the 10-minute mark, and that stood as the best for some time despite threats from van Gisbergen and Anton De Pasquale (#11 Shell V-Power Mustang) in the final five minutes.

Le Brocq jumped to as high as second place with a final-minute 50.9118s before Davison, who had recently run long at the Turn 4 Hairpin, set his fastest lap of the session.

Waters, however, had just a little bit more in elevating himself from seventh to first on his last tour, meaning two Tickford Racing entries in the top four.

“We got through most of what we were trying to achieve in that session,” he said.

“We put a set of greens on at the end and cleaned up a lot of issues.

“I’m not really too sure what the other guys did out there, if they put tyres on or not, but yeah the car is good over one lap like it has been all year and we’re just trying to work on our race car.”

Van Gisbergen ended up fifth but confirmed after the session that he had saved both sets of handback tyres, with Reynolds sixth from Slade, Will Brown (#9 Ozland ZB Commodore), and De Pasquale.

Jamie Whincup rounded out the top 10 with a personal best 51.0579s in the #88 Red Bull Ampol ZB Commodore, while Fabian Coulthard (#19 Local Legends ZB Commodore) was 11th and Mark Winterbottom (#18 Irwin Tools ZB Commodore) 15th.

Practice 2 for the Repco Supercars Championship field, also a half-hour session, starts at 11:25 local time/AEST.

Results: Practice 1

Pos Num Team/Sponsor Driver Car Fastest lap Split
1 6 Monster Energy Racing Cameron Waters Ford Mustang GT 0:50.8468  
2 17 Shell V-Power Racing Team Will Davison Ford Mustang GT 0:50.8516 0:00.0048
3 25 Mobil 1 Appliances Online Chaz Mostert Holden Commodore ZB 0:50.9067 0:00.0599
4 5 Truck Assist Racing Jack Le Brocq Ford Mustang GT 0:50.9118 0:00.0650
5 97 Red Bull Ampol Racing Team Shane van Gisbergen Holden Commodore ZB 0:50.9640 0:00.1172
6 26 Penrite Racing David Reynolds Ford Mustang GT 0:50.9657 0:00.1189
7 3 CoolDrive Racing Tim Slade Ford Mustang GT 0:51.0081 0:00.1613
8 9 Erebus Motorsport William Brown Holden Commodore ZB 0:51.0188 0:00.1720
9 11 Shell V-Power Racing Team Anton De Pasquale Ford Mustang GT 0:51.0568 0:00.2100
10 88 Red Bull Ampol Racing Team Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore ZB 0:51.0579 0:00.2111
11 19 Local Legends Fabian Coulthard Holden Commodore ZB 0:51.0827 0:00.2359
12 14 Scandia Racing Todd Hazelwood Holden Commodore ZB 0:51.0991 0:00.2523
13 7 NED Whisky Racing Andre Heimgartner Ford Mustang GT 0:51.1115 0:00.2647
14 8 R&J Batteries Nick Percat Holden Commodore ZB 0:51.1437 0:00.2969
15 18 IRWIN Racing Mark Winterbottom Holden Commodore ZB 0:51.1478 0:00.3010
16 20 DEWALT Racing Scott Pye Holden Commodore ZB 0:51.1594 0:00.3126
17 34 UNIT Racing Jake Kostecki Holden Commodore ZB 0:51.1893 0:00.3425
18 44 Boost Mobile Racing James Courtney Ford Mustang GT 0:51.2510 0:00.4042
19 99 Erebus Boost Mobile Racing Brodie Kostecki Holden Commodore ZB 0:51.3661 0:00.5193
20 96 Coca-Cola Racing Macauley Jones Holden Commodore ZB 0:51.4858 0:00.6390
21 35 Yellow Cover Racing Zane Goddard Holden Commodore ZB 0:51.5130 0:00.6662
22 4 SCT Motor Sports Jack Smith Holden Commodore ZB 0:51.5226 0:00.6758
23 22 Team SYDNEY Garry Jacobson Holden Commodore ZB 0:51.5319 0:00.6851
24 2 Mobil 1 Middy’s Racing Bryce Fullwood Holden Commodore ZB 0:51.6923 0:00.8455

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]