Van Gisbergen takes pole with record pace

Shane van Gisbergen

Shane van Gisbergen has broken the Symmons Plains practice record to qualify on pole position for Race 6 of the Repco Supercars Championship at the Beaurepaires Tasmania SuperSprint.

The man at the top of the drivers’ standings was 0.3325s faster than next-best, Tickford Racing’s Cameron Waters, after laying down a 50.4923s in the final minute of the knockout qualifying session.

It was the top four in the championship occupying the top four on the grid, although in a slightly different order, with Walkinshaw Andretti United’s Chaz Mostert taking third and Jamie Whincup making it two Triple Eight Race Engineering entries on the first two rows.

Both Dick Johnson Racing cars got through to the third and final stanza, as did Brad Jones Racing’s Jack Smith, who ended up 10th.


Van Gisbergen (#97 ZB Commodore) was fastest of the six to go out in the first few minutes of Part 3 of qualifying, none of whom reportedly ran on new tyres.

The Red Bull Ampol Racing driver clocked a 50.7016s on his second flyer, while Mostert (#25 Mobil 1 Appliances Online ZB Commodore) took up second spot with a 50.8321s despite dropping a wheel off exiting Turn 7.

Van Gisbergen found another two tenths, knocking off team-mate Whincup’s two-year-old benchmark, when he went for his second run.

Waters wheeled the #6 Monster Energy Mustang to a 50.8248s moments later, with Mostert ending up third despite not being able to improve on his final run.

Whincup moved up three spots with a 50.8359s from the #88 Red Bull Ampol ZB Commodore just before the chequered flag, one ten-thousandth of a second faster than Will Davison (#17 Shell V-Power Mustang) had just gone.

Davison therefore washed up in fifth, ahead of Scott Pye (#20 DeWalt ZB Commodore), Anton De Pasquale (#11 Shell V-Power Mustang), Mark Winterbottom (#18 Irwin Tools ZB Commodore), Will Brown (#9 Ozland ZB Commodore), and Jack Smith (#4 SCT Logistics ZB Commodore).

Said the pole-sitter, “Thanks to my mate next door [Whincup] for a tow.

“The car was awesome, the guys have done a great job here.

“We struggled in qualifying in the cold temps at Sandown but the tyres switched on then and, yeah, it was awesome.

“The job is not done yet, no points, but thanks to the team; the car is fantastic.”

Waters was pleased to make the front row, but not entirely at ease given van Gisbergen’s pace.

“We’re happy that we’re on the front row, no doubt,” said the Tickford pilot.

“We’ve been pretty consistent with one-lap speed. The car is not too bad but there’s not much more left in it and obviously Shane is a long way down the road.

“That’s probably why I am a little bit… scratching my head is probably the best way to put it.”

As it turned out, van Gisbergen also topped Part 2 of the session and Part 1A, when the field was split in two.

In the middle stanza, when van Gisbergen set a benchmark 50.5103s, David Reynolds (#26 Penrite Mustang) missed the top 10 by 0.0745s.

The latter is set to start 11th, ahead of Jake Kostecki (#34 Unit ZB Commodore), James Courtney (#44 Boost Mobile Mustang), Zane Goddard (#35 Yellow Cover ZB Commodore), and Brodie Kostecki (#99 Boost Mobile ZB Commodore).

Jack Le Brocq was a surprise omission from the final segment based on his qualifying pace, putting the #5 Truck Assist Mustang only 16th with a 51.2271s.

Back in Part 1A, van Gisbergen achieved a 50.7480s, with Part 1B topped by De Pasquale on a 50.9374s.

The bottom eight on the grid, being the drivers who dropped out in either of those stanzas, is Macauley Jones (#96 Coca-Cola ZB Commodore) from Fabian Coulthard (#19 Local Legends ZB Commodore), Nick Percat (#8 R&J Batteries ZB Commodore), Garry Jacobson (#22 PremiAir Hire ZB Commodore), Tim Slade (#3 CoolDrive Mustang), Bryce Fullwood (#2 Mobil1 Middy’s ZB Commodore), Andre Heimgartner (#7 Ned Mustang), and Todd Hazelwood (#14 Scandia ZB Commodore).

Race 6 of the season, a 44-lapper, is due for a start at 16:25 local time/AEST.

Results: Qualifying for Race 6, Beaurepaires Tasmania SuperSprint

Pos Num Team/Sponsor Driver Car Fastest lap Split
1 97 Red Bull Ampol Racing Team Shane van Gisbergen Holden Commodore ZB 0:50.4923  
2 6 Monster Energy Racing Cameron Waters Ford Mustang GT 0:50.8248 0:00.3325
3 25 Mobil 1 Appliances Online Chaz Mostert Holden Commodore ZB 0:50.8321 0:00.3398
4 88 Red Bull Ampol Racing Team Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore ZB 0:50.8359 0:00.3436
5 17 Shell V-Power Racing Team Will Davison Ford Mustang GT 0:50.8360 0:00.3437
6 20 DEWALT Racing Scott Pye Holden Commodore ZB 0:50.8748 0:00.3825
7 11 Shell V-Power Racing Team Anton De Pasquale Ford Mustang GT 0:50.8923 0:00.4000
8 18 IRWIN Racing Mark Winterbottom Holden Commodore ZB 0:50.9243 0:00.4320
9 9 Erebus Motorsport William Brown Holden Commodore ZB 0:51.0396 0:00.5473
10 4 SCT Motor Sports Jack Smith Holden Commodore ZB 0:51.1077 0:00.6154
11 26 Penrite Racing David Reynolds Ford Mustang GT 0:51.0478 Part 2
12 34 UNIT Racing Jake Kostecki Holden Commodore ZB 0:51.1000 Part 2
13 44 Boost Mobile Racing James Courtney Ford Mustang GT 0:51.1070 Part 2
14 35 Yellow Cover Racing Zane Goddard Holden Commodore ZB 0:51.1947 Part 2
15 99 Erebus Boost Mobile Racing Brodie Kostecki Holden Commodore ZB 0:51.2382 Part 2
16 5 Truck Assist Racing Jack Le Brocq Ford Mustang GT 0:51.2771 Part 2
17 96 Coca-Cola Racing Macauley Jones Holden Commodore ZB 0:51.1955 Part 1
18 19 Local Legends Fabian Coulthard Holden Commodore ZB 0:51.2076 Part 1
19 8 R&J Batteries Nick Percat Holden Commodore ZB 0:51.2776 Part 1
20 22 Team SYDNEY Garry Jacobson Holden Commodore ZB 0:51.2974 Part 1
21 3 CoolDrive Racing Tim Slade Ford Mustang GT 0:51.3064 Part 1
22 2 Mobil 1 Middy’s Racing Bryce Fullwood Holden Commodore ZB 0:51.4095 Part 1
23 7 NED Whisky Racing Andre Heimgartner Ford Mustang GT 0:51.4659 Part 1
24 14 Scandia Racing Todd Hazelwood Holden Commodore ZB 0:51.5152 Part 1

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]