Super2 leader disqualified from Bathurst race due to engine breach

Jordan Boys

Jordan Boys has lost the lead of the Dunlop Super2 Series after being disqualified from Race 2 of Round 1 due to having a non-compliant engine.

The Image Racing driver clung on to victory in the latter encounter at Mount Panorama but has now been stripped of that result following a post-event technical inspection.

Tickford Racing’s Zak Best is the new series leader, with Boys dropping to 13th in the standings, while MW Motorsport’s Tyler Everingham is officially the Race 2 winner.

“On 7 April 2021 a Panel of Stewards conducted a Hearing into a Charge by the Race Director that Image Racing breached Rule G8.1.2 in that the engine used in Car #49 did not conform to an ESD,” read a stewards report.

“The Stewards upheld the Charge, found the breach established and imposed a Penalty of Disqualification of Car #49 from Race 2 and have directed that the Final Classifications for Race 2 be amended accordingly.”

The engine, supplied by Walkinshaw Racing (as opposed to Walkinshaw Andretti United) under an existing relationship, was found to have exceeded the Accumulated Engine Power (AEP) number for a VF Commodore engine.

Furthermore, it was found to not comply with the Engine Specification Document (ESD) which it was originally claimed to have complied with, namely SC-2-305, nor any other ESD which has been issued for Walkinshaw powerplants.

While an ESD does not specify an AEP, as the Stewards Decision document explains, an ESD would not be issued had the engine breached the AEP in dyno testing.

Furthermore, some components in the engine were inconsistent with those specified in the relevant ESD and no application had been made to vary the ESD.

Additionally, “Had such an application been lodged, it would have been rejected for reason that the changes yielded an AEP in excess of the approved maximum,” reads the Stewards Decision, in part.

While the recommended penalty for such a breach is disqualification, it should also be noted that a performance advantage, albeit small, was established.

“While the AEP of the subject engine when tested was not grossly in excess of the approved maximum, it exceeded it by a factor which yielded a performance advantage for Car 49,” explained stewards.

The disqualification does not apply to Race 1 as the engine was not tested at that time, and stewards “received no evidence from which we could conclude without hesitation that the engine when used in Race 1 exceeded the approved maximum AEP.”

CLICK HERE for full stewards report

CLICK HERE for Walkinshaw Racing’s response

Results: Race 2 Updated

Pos Num Team/Sponsor Driver Car Cls Laps Race time
1 27 Lowes Petoleum / MWM Tyler Everingham Nissan Altima S2 12 28:37.7740
2 78 Best Leisure Industries Zak Best Ford Falcon FG/X S2 12 28:39.0160
3 18 Cavalier Homes Matthew Chahda Ford Falcon FG/X S2 12 28:39.4281
4 999 Image Racing / Rare Spares Jaylyn Robotham Holden Commodore VF S2 12 28:39.8935
5 54 Eggleston Motorsport Matthew McLean Holden Commodore VF S2 12 28:41.3367
6 777 Oz Property / MWM Declan Fraser Nissan Altima S2 12 28:42.6187
7 31 Jayco / MWM Jayden Ojeda Nissan Altima S2 12 28:42.6667
8 888 Triple Eight Race Engineering Broc Feeney Holden Commodore VF S2 12 28:43.2964
9 10 Triple Eight Race Engineering Angelo Mouzouris Holden Commodore VF S2 12 28:45.6088
10 30 Matt Stone Racing Aaron Seton Holden Commodore VF S2 12 28:46.3742
11 38 Eggleston Motorsport Jack Sipp Holden Commodore VF S2 12 28:54.2188
12 5 Anderson Motorsport Michael Anderson Ford Falcon FG SC3 12 28:55.5831
13 69 Dial Before You Dig Jon McCorkindale Ford Falcon FG CH 12 28:55.8844
14 75 Linc Scsffolding Brendan Strong Holden Commodore VE SC3 12 28:56.3471
15 61 Image Racing Reef McCarthy Ford Falcon FG CH 12 29:00.3579
16 7 Mocomm Motorsport Comms Jim Pollicina Holden Commodore VE SC3 12 29:01.7996
17 22 Herron Todd White Valuers Bradley Neill Holden Commodore VF S2 12 29:02.3967
18 35 Unit Racing Jason Gomersall Ford Falcon FG SC3 12 29:05.1862
19 23 R.H.M Ray Hislop Ford Falcon BA SC3 12 29:10.7971
20 4 Crusher Parts International Tony Auddino Ford Falcon BF SC3 12 29:21.9075
21 67 Flash Bush Motorsport Nash Morris Ford Falcon FG CH 11 29:08.3793
NC 11 Brema Group Racing Zane Morse Holden Commodore VF S2 10 24:40.5795
NC 17 Resurrection Panel N Paint Jason Foley Ford Falcon BF SC3 5 11:39.7790
NC 28 Natural Gas and Water / MWM Josh Fife Nissan Altima S2 4 8:47.1788
NC 2 Page Bros Jayco Steven Page Holden Commodore VE2 SC3 4 10:15.4111
DSQ 49 Image Racing / Joss Group Jordan Boys Holden Commodore VF S2

Series points: Super2 Updated

Pos Driver Pts
1 Zak Best 258
2 Broc Feeney 240
3 Matt Chahda 225
4 Angelo Mouzouris 222
5 Matt McLean 213
6 Jayden Ojeda 207
7 Jaylyn Robotham 198
8 Declan Fraser 186
9 Tyler Everingham 150
10 Aaron Seton 141
11 Jack Sipp 141
12 Bradley Neill 135
13 Jordan Boys 129
14 Josh Fife 90
15 Zane Morse 72

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]