Mostert sweeps Bathurst TCR round

Chaz Mostert. Picture: Supercheap Auto TCR Australia Series

Chaz Mostert has moved to a commanding lead in the Supercheap Auto TCR Australia Series with a sweep of Round 3 at Bathurst.

Just as he did in Races 1 and 2, the Audi driver fell behind Aaron Cameron at the start but passed the youngster midway through.

Lee Holdsworth, who had been nearest to Mostert in the standings before Race 3, did not make it past Lap 1 due to a mechanical drama for his Alfa Romeo and has dropped to fifth in the series.

For the third time in as many races, Cameron used his Peugeot’s launch control to good effect and got the jump on the field from second position on the grid.

Mostert was next for the run to Hell Corner, ahead of Jordan Cox (Alfa Romeo), Garth Tander (Audi), and John Martin (Honda).

Holdsworth slotted into eighth for the drag along Mountain Straight in a Giulietta which had been fitted with a new turbo overnight, but quickly found smoke billowing from Car #10.

With the Ashley Seward Motorsport driver coming to a halt at McPhillamy Park, the Safety Car was called for the first time in TCR this weekend, before a restart occurred on Lap 5.

Precious little green flag running was had that time either, however, due to an issue at Hell Corner.

Tony D’Alberto and his Honda had become beached against the tyre wall, although replays were inconclusive as to whether or not there had been contact with Michael Clemente (Honda) on his inside.

The second restart was called in time for Lap 7 and while Cameron skipped several tenths clear, Mostert quickly pegged him back and went down the inside at Hell Corner on Lap 8.

Cox managed to wipe out a deficit of as much as 1.6s to the top two to be attacking Cameron on the ninth and final lap, but fell just 0.0242s shy at the finish line.

Tander ended up fourth, ahead of Martin, James Moffat (Renault), Bradley Shiels (Hyundai), Jason Bargwanna (Peugeot), Nathan Morcom (Hyundai), and Josh Buchan (Hyundai).

Ben Bargwanna got home in 17th after a huge moment at The Chase on Lap 7, when he slid his Peugeot into the infield and back across the track through a gap in the train of cars while running eighth.

D’Alberto dragged a wounded Wall Racing entry to the finish in 21st, one lap off the pace.

Round 4 takes place at Sydney Motorsport Park on April 30-May 2, as part of the Shannons Motorsport Australia Championships programme.

CLICK HERE to watch the Supercheap Auto Highlights of Race 3

Results: Race 3

Pos Num Team/Sponsor Driver Car Laps Race time
1 25 MPC Bostik Racing Chaz Mostert Audi RS 3 9 28:24.6087
2 18 Team Valvoline GRM Aaron Cameron Peugeot 308 TCR 9 28:26.0403
3 5 Garry Rogers Motorsport Jordan Cox Alfa Romeo Giulietta 9 28:26.0645
4 75 Melbourne Performance Centre Garth Tander Audi RS 3 9 28:27.9497
5 24 Mobil 1 Wall Racing John Martin Honda Civic Type R 9 28:28.4468
6 34 LMCT+ Racing GRM James Moffat Renault Megane RS 9 28:31.1111
7 333 Tilton Racing Brad Shiels Hyundai i30N 9 28:32.1262
8 17 Burson Auto Parts Racing Jason Bargwanna Peugeot 308 TCR 9 28:33.0136
9 11 HMO Customer Racing Nathan Morcom Hyundai i30N 9 28:34.6503
10 30 HMO Customer Racing Josh Buchan Hyundai i30N 9 28:35.2852
11 9 Ashley Seward Motorsport Jay Hanson Alfa Romeo Giulietta 9 28:36.9327
12 130 HMO Customer Racing Duvashen Padayachee Hyundai i30N 9 28:37.1809
13 2 MPC Moutai Luke King Audi RS 3 9 28:38.0994
14 33 Lowbake Racing GRM Dylan O’Keeffe Renault Megane RS 9 28:38.2213
15 110 Team Soutar Motorsport Zac Soutar Honda Civic Type R 9 28:39.6348
16 97 LM Motorsport Liam McAdam Audi RS 3 9 28:39.8827
17 71 Burson Auto Parts Racing Ben Bargwanna Peugeot 308 TCR 9 28:41.2185
18 7 Valvoline Racing GRM Michael Caruso Alfa Romeo Giulietta 9 28:41.5328
19 15 Michael Clemente Motorsport Michael Clemente Honda Civic Type R 9 28:43.3392
20 37 MPC Astrontech Racing Chelsea Angelo Volkswagen Golf GTI 9 28:43.5980
21 50 Honda Wall Racing Tony D’Alberto Honda Civic Type R 8 30:09.3322
DNF 10 Ashley Seward Motorsport Lee Holdsworth Alfa Romeo Giulietta

Series points

Pos Driver Pts
1 Chaz Mostert 344
2 Aaron Cameron 281
3 Luke King 266
4 John Martin 256
5 Lee Holdsworth 245
6 Jordan Cox 240
7 Jason Bargwanna 222
8 Nathan Morcom 221
9 Brad Shiels 211
10 Josh Buchan 209
11 Tony D’Alberto 206
12 Ben Bargwanna 196
13 Michael Clemente 170
14 Jay Hanson 167
15 Dylan O’Keeffe 159
16 James Moffat 150
17 Zac Soutar 139
18 Michael Caruso 126
19 Garth Tander 110
20 Chelsea Angelo 93
21 Lachlan Mineeff 63
22 Duvashen Padayachee 46
23 Liam McAdam 45

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]