Mostert wins Bathurst TCR opener after brush with wall

Chaz Mostert. Picture: Daniel Kalisz Photographer/ARG

Chaz Mostert has survived a brush with the wall to run down Aaron Cameron and win the first ever TCR race at Mount Panorama.

The fight for victory in the Supercheap Auto TCR Australia Series’ Round 3 opener was a race in two between the front row starters, with Garth Tander taking a lonely third.

Cameron had in fact got the jump on pole-sitter Mostert after a long hold at the start of the 10-lap contest, and was two seconds to the good after just two laps.

However, the Peugeot driver found himself under pressure from the #25 Audi as the race reached halfway, and began to play defensive.

Mostert was right up behind the #18 308 when he glanced the wall exiting The Cutting on Lap 7 but that was only a temporary reprieve for Cameron.

The Garry Rogers Motorsport pilot had the nose of a blue RS 3 on his inside when they got back down to Murray’s Corner and Mostert made the pass along pit straight.

Once released, the series leader quickly established a one-second advantage of his own and essentially maintained it for the balance of the race.

Mostert also earned the bragging rights of the fastest TCR lap of the weekend so far, a 2:14.8162s on Lap 5 which just beat Rickard Rydell’s pole lap at the 1998 Bathurst 1000 for Super Tourers.

“The car was pretty quick in qualifying so it’s good to be able to convert it,” said the Audi driver.

“Young Aaron Cameron, he’s a quick, young driver; he kept me pretty honest there.

“He was super quick across the top, so I tried everything to use the strengths of my car to catch him, but in the end I’m just glad to sneak past him.”

On the contact with the wall, he explained, “Sometimes these cars get away from you a little bit. It’s not normally the rear like in a normal car; obviously the front goes away.

“So, obviously, just trying to catch him, get as close as I can across the top, and just close enough down the bottom to get him.”

Tander, in his first start of the season, ran third all the way in the #75 Audi and took the chequered flag 4.4s behind the winner.

Jay Hanson ended up fourth while fellow Alfa Romeo driver Lee Holdsworth climbed from eighth out of the first corner to finish fifth.

John Martin (Honda) claimed sixth thanks to a move on Brad Shiels (Hyundai) with a lap to go, and the latter remained seventh thereafter.

Luke King (Audi) took eighth, Jordan Cox (Alfa Romeo) drove to ninth from the back of the grid after causing a red flag in qualifying, and Tony D’Alberto (Honda) rounded out the top 10.

Dylan O’Keeffe was running sixth when his Renault slowed on Lap 9 and he was ultimately the sole non-finisher.

Race 2 takes place this afternoon at 12:25 local time/AEDT.

CLICK HERE for event schedule

CLICK HERE to watch the Supercheap Auto TCR Highlights of Race 1

Results: Race 1

Pos Num Team/Sponsor Driver Car Laps Race time
1 25 MPC Bostik Racing Chaz Mostert Audi RS 3 10 22:40.3479
2 18 Team Valvoline GRM Aaron Cameron Peugeot 308 TCR 10 22:41.4753
3 75 Melbourne Performance Centre Garth Tander Audi RS 3 10 22:44.7630
4 9 Ashley Seward Motorsport Jay Hanson Alfa Romeo Giulietta 10 22:47.2567
5 10 Ashley Seward Motorsport Lee Holdsworth Alfa Romeo Giulietta 10 22:49.2153
6 24 Mobil 1 Wall Racing John Martin Honda Civic Type R 10 22:56.9546
7 333 Tilton Racing Brad Shiels Hyundai i30N 10 22:58.9227
8 2 MPC Moutai Luke King Audi RS 3 10 22:59.5257
9 5 Garry Rogers Motorsport Jordan Cox Alfa Romeo Giulietta 10 22:59.8614
10 50 Honda Wall Racing Tony D’Alberto Honda Civic Type R 10 23:00.0577
11 17 Burson Auto Parts Racing Jason Bargwanna Peugeot 308 TCR 10 23:03.5538
12 71 Burson Auto Parts Racing Ben Bargwanna Peugeot 308 TCR 10 23:08.4722
13 15 Michael Clemente Motorsport Michael Clemente Honda Civic Type R 10 23:08.7259
14 30 HMO Customer Racing Josh Buchan Hyundai i30N 10 23:10.0466
15 7 Valvoline Racing GRM Michael Caruso Alfa Romeo Giulietta 10 23:15.9914
16 34 LMCT+ Racing GRM James Moffat Renault Megane RS 10 23:16.3188
17 97 LM Motorsport Liam McAdam Audi RS 3 10 23:16.7800
18 11 HMO Customer Racing Nathan Morcom Hyundai i30N 10 23:20.2666
19 110 Team Soutar Motorsport Zac Soutar Honda Civic Type R 10 23:20.6380
20 37 MPC Astrontech Racing Chelsea Angelo Volkswagen Golf GTI 10 23:28.3018
21 130 HMO Customer Racing Duvashen Padayachee Hyundai i30N 10 23:54.1804
DNF 33 Lowbake Racing GRM Dylan O’Keeffe Renault Megane RS 9 21:08.4096

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]