Van Gisbergen confirmed for Bathurst GT round

Triple Eight’s Mercedes to be driven by Shane van Gisbergen and Prince Jefri Ibrahim at Bathurst

Shane van Gisbergen has been given the green light to spearhead Triple Eight Race Engineering’s bid for Bathurst glory this weekend.

The Kiwi, who is five-from-five in Supercars races this season, will rejoin Prince Jefri Ibrahim for Round 2 of the Fanatec GT World Challenge Australia Powered by AWS at Mount Panorama.

Van Gisbergen had been in line to contest the Phillip Island season-opener a fortnight ago, only for those plans to be scuppered by a mountain bike crash that broke his left collarbone.

Jamie Whincup consequently subbed in alongside Ibrahim, with the pair taking placings of second and fourth from the two 60-minute races at the Island.

Following his stunning sweep of the Sandown SuperSprint, van Gisbergen declared his intentions to be behind the wheel of the #888 Mercedes-AMG GT3 at The Mountain.

That prospect is now all systems go, with van Gisbergen officially entered as part of an 18-car grid.

He and Ibrahim will have stiff competition from the likes of Audi-shod Garth Tander/Yasser Shahin, who took out both Phillip Island races, and Chaz Mostert/Tony Bates.

“I’m really excited to get back into our GT car,” said van Gisbergen.

“Unfortunately I missed the first round in Phillip Island, but any time you get to drives laps around Bathurst is awesome, especially in a GT car which is always cool. I’m really looking forward to it.

“I’ve been working a fair bit with Iman (Ibrahim), especially on the simulator and track days at Norwell Motorplex, and even did some races with other cars on track so he can got a feel for everything.

“There’s nothing you can do to prepare yourself for Bathurst other than race laps, which is going to be the hardest thing.”

Operating as part of the Hi-Tec Oils Bathurst 6 Hour event on Easter weekend, the GT field will again go wheel-to-wheel in a 60-minute race on each of Saturday and Sunday.

Car # Class Division Driver A Driver B Make Model
7 Champ Am Tony Quinn Aston Martin Vantage GT3 2019
9 Champ Am Marc Cini Audi R8 LMS Evo
51 Champ Am Andrew Macpherson Ben Porter Lamborghini Huracan
91 Champ Am Arthur Abrahams Audi R8 LMS Evo
4 Champ Pro/Am Stephen Grove Brenton Grove Porsche GT3-R 911-II
6 Champ Pro/Am Adrian Deitz David Wall Lamborghini Huracan GT3 Evo
24 Champ Pro/Am Tony Bates Chaz Mostert Audi R8 LMS Evo
777 Champ Pro/Am Yasser Shahin Garth Tander Audi R8 LMS Evo
888 Champ Pro/Am Prince Jefri Ibrahim Shane van Gisbergen Mercedes AMG GT3
19 GT4 Am Mark Griffith Mercedes GT4
5 Trophy Am Greg Taylor Audi R8 LMS Ultra
23 Trophy Am Matt Stoupas Audi R8 LMS
33 Trophy Am Vince Muriti Mercedes AMG GT3
38 Trophy Am Michael Bailey Aston Martin Vantage GT3 2014
55 Trophy Am Brad Schumacher Audi R8 LMS Ultra
96 Trophy Am Brett Hobson Nissan Nismo GT3
99 Trophy Am Nick Kelly Mercedes AMG GT3
124 Trophy Am Gary Higgon Paul Stokell Audi R8 LMS

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]