Tander returns to TCR field for Bathurst

Garth Tander in his last appearance in the Audi

Garth Tander will be part of a 22-car field for Round 3 of the Supercheap Auto TCR Australia Series at Easter’s Hi-Tec Oils Bathurst 6 Hour event.

While he is returning to the Melbourne Performance Centre stable, there is still room in the squad for series leader Chaz Mostert, who has been named in the #25 Audi after doubts about his ongoing presence on the grid.

Tander made a handful of starts in the inaugural, 2019 season, winning a race at The Bend, but has not been in the TCR field since the Asia Pacific Cup round at last year’s Formula 1 Australian Grand Prix.

The four-time Bathurst 1000 winner will drive the same Audi RS 3 LMS that he put on pole at Albert Park just over 12 months ago, but never got to race on that occasion due to the event being abandoned.

Privateer Liam McAdam has also been confirmed for the series’ first round at Mount Panorama, after showing off a new look for his own Audi earlier this month.

There will be an extra Hyundai on the grid, too, with HMO Customer Racing running a third i30 N, for Carrera Cup regular Duvashen Padayachee.

Round 2 of the 2021 Supercheap Auto TCR Australia Series at Phillip Island. Picture: Supercheap Auto TCR Australia Series

Mostert holds a 15-point series lead over team-mate Luke King after two rounds so far in 2021, with Lee Holdsworth (Ashley Seward Motorsport Alfa Romeo) another 10 points further back.

Practice will be held on Friday, April 2 ahead of qualifying and three races across the Saturday and Sunday at Bathurst.

Entry list: Round 3, Mount Panorama Motor Racing Circuit

Num Team/Sponsor Driver Make Model CC
2 MPC Moutai Racing Luke King Audi RS 3 1984
5 Garry Rogers Motorsport Jordan Cox Alfa Romeo Giulietta Veloce 1750
7 Valvoline Racing GRM Michael Caruso Alfa Romeo Giulietta Veloce 1750
9 Ashley Seward Motorsport Jay Hanson Alfa Romeo Giulietta Veloce 1750
10 Ashley Seward Motorsport Lee Holdsworth Alfa Romeo Giulietta Veloce 1750
11 HMO Customer Racing Nathan Morcom Hyundai I30N 1999
15 Michael Clemente Motorsport Michael Clemente Honda Civic Type R 1998
17 Burson Auto Parts Racing Jason Bargwanna Peugeot 308 TCR 1600
18 Team Valvoline GRM Aaron Cameron Peugeot 308 TCR 1600
24 Mobil 1 Wall Racing John Martin Honda Civic Type R 1998
25 MPC Bostik Racing Chaz Mostert Audi RS 3 1984
30 HMO Customer Racing Josh Buchan Hyundai I30N 1999
33 Lowbake Racing GRM Dylan O’Keeffe Renault Megane RS 1800
34 LMCT+ Racing GRM James Moffat Renault Megane RS 1800
37 MPC Astrontech Racing Chelsea Angelo Volkswagen Golf GTI 1984
50 Honda Wall Racing Tony D’Alberto Honda Civic Type R 1998
71 Burson Auto Parts Racing Ben Bargwanna Peugeot 308 TCR 1600
75 Melbourne Performance Centre Garth Tander Audi RS 3 1984
97 LM Motorsport Liam McAdam Audi RS 3 1984
110 Team Soutar Zac Soutar Honda Civic Type R 1998
130 HMO Customer Racing Duvashen Padayachee Hyundai i30N 1999
333 Tilton Racing Brad Shiels Hyundai I30N 1999

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]