Mawson claims important S5000 feature victory

Joey Mawson. Picture: Daniel Kalisz Photographer/ARG

Joey Mawson has tightened his grip on the VHT S5000 Australian Drivers’ Championship with victory in the Round 3 Main Event at Sandown.

The championship leader was left alone on the front row of the grid for the weekend’s feature race after BRM team-mate Kaleb Ngatoa crashed on his way to the starting grid.

Ngatoa had lit up the rears of Car #15 as he exited the pits, looping it around and busting the nose on the concrete wall on driver’s left.

Mawson duly led the field away when the lights went out and gradually increased his margin over Nathan Herne, whom he beat to the chequered flag by 6.77s after 16 laps.

Such was the championship leader’s dominance, he reset the lap record in clocking a 1:06.4369s on Lap 7, whereas the next-quickest personal best lap was Herne’s 1:06.7064s.

Kaleb Ngatoa crashes as he exits pit lane. Picture: Fox Sports

Luis Leeds finished third after a good start, James Golding finished fourth, and Tim Macrow rounded out the top five.

Pre-event championship leader Thomas Randle ran fourth early on but spun on his own when he straddled the Turn 1 exit kerb on Lap 2.

He stayed off the infield fence and managed to continue, albeit back in 10th position, before driving the Castrol BRM car back to sixth by the end.

Cooper Webster took seventh, ahead of Antonio Astuti, Ricky Capo, and Braydan Willmington.

The fourth and final round of the 2021 season, which precedes a switch to a summer calendar, takes place at Sydney Motorsport Park as part of the Shannons Motorsport Australia Championships event on April 30-May 2.

Results: Main Event

Pos Num Team/Sponsor Driver Laps Race time
1 27 ALABAR/Form700 Team BRM Joey Mawson 16 17:51.4745
2 29 Team Valvoline GRM Nathan Herne 16 17:58.2479
3 96 Garry Rogers Motorsport Luis Leeds 16 18:01.1977
4 31 Team Valvoline GRM James Golding 16 18:01.9005
5 23 UCS Group Racing TMR Tim Macrow 16 18:05.2447
6 49 Castrol Team ALABAR/Form700 Thomas Randle 16 18:09.6184
7 88 Racing Cooper Webster 16 18:09.6967
8 39 Yellow Tail Astuti Motorsport Antonio Astuti 16 18:14.3474
9 92 Modena Engineering Ricky Capo 16 18:20.9994
10 89 Willmington Racing Braydan Willmington 16 18:31.7974
DNF 15 Team BRM Kaleb Ngatoa

Championship points

Pos Driver Pts
1 Joey Mawson 305
2 Thomas Randle 265
3 Tim Macrow 262
4 Nathan Herne 216
5 Luis Leeds 210
6 James Golding 208
7 Cooper Webster 155
8 Ricky Capo 159
9 Antonio Astuti 128
10 Braydan Willmington 105
11 Kaleb Ngatoa 78
12 Tommy Smith 18

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]