Grid set for Carrera Cup opener

There’ll be 24 Carrera Cup cars competing at Sandown this weekend

A 24-car grid has been confirmed for the 2021 Porsche Paynter Dixon Carrera Cup Australia season-opener at Sandown.

Among the biggest names in the 15 Pro entries are Wall Racing team-mates Craig Lowndes and David Wall, the former being a seven-time Bathurst 1000 winner and the latter a Carrera Cup series winner.

Stalwart Supercars co-drivers Dale Wood, Luke Youlden and David Russell will also be in action, for Ashley Seward Motorsport, TekworkX Motorsport and Lago Racing respectively.

As announced today, Sonic Motor Racing Services will field three cars for Simon Fallon, Michael Almond and Aaron Love.

The two race winners from a COVID-shortened 2020 season, Cooper Murray and Cameron Hill, will both line up, while newly crowned Toyota Racing Series winner Matthew Payne will be a rookie to watch out for at Team Porsche New Zealand.

Harri Jones, Nick McBride, Jackson Walls and Christian Pancione will also feature in the Pro class.

The Pro-Am field involves many familiar names, such as Stephen Grove, Tim Miles, Sam Shahin and Scott Taylor.

The 2021 season will comprise eight rounds, starting at Sandown this weekend and finishing on the Gold Coast across December 3-5.

No. Name Sponsor Class
4 Stephen Grove Grove Group Pro-Am
7 Tim Miles No Second Chance Pro-Am
8 Nick McBride Porsche Centre Melbourne Pro
9 Marc Cini Hallmarc Pro-Am
11 Jackson Walls Objective Racing Pro
12 Harri Jones Helimods Pro
13 Sam Shahin The Bend Motorsport Park/HTFU Pro-Am
20 Adrian Flack AGAS National Pro-Am
21 Matthew Payne Team Porsche New Zealand Pro
23 David Russell Lago Racing Pro
28 Luke Youlden TekworkX Motorsport Pro
35 Indiran Padayachee RentCorp Hyundai Forklifts Pro-Am
36 Cooper Murray Lodge Brothers Pro
38 David Wall Paynter Dixon/Shannons Insurance Pro
48 Geoff Emery Force Accessories Pro-Am
75 Ben Stack Duttons EMA Motorsport Pro-Am
76 Christian Pancione VCM Performance Pro
77 Michael Almond Sonic/Bob Jane T-Marts/PSA Pro
78 Aaron Love Sonic Pro
100 Dale Wood Timken/ASM Pro
111 Cameron Hill CHE Racing Team Pro
222 Scott Taylor Scott Taylor Motorsport Pro-Am
338 Craig Lowndes Paynter Dixon/Shannons Insurance Pro
777 Simon Fallon Sonic/Bob Jane T-Marts Pro

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]