Mawson wins crash-shortened S5000 main event

Nathan Herne takes flight Picture: Seven Network

Joey Mawson won a crash-shortened VHT S5000 Australian Drivers’ Championship ‘Main Event’ race at Phillip Island.

Mawson steered through an opening lap incident before vaulting to the lead and setting the fastest lap of the race on his way to victory, taking out the Costanzo Cup in the process.

As the lights went out, front-row starter Thomas Randle moved to cover drivers’ right and left Nathan Herne with nowhere to go.

Team Valvoline GRM driver Herne ran up the back of Randle and his car lifted into the air in spectacular fashion before coming to rest on the run down to Turn 1.

Officials chose to red flag the scheduled 14-lap encounter as Herne climbed from the car and was taken to the circuit medical centre.

He was then taken to hospital for precautionary checks but is said to be “OK”, according to an S5000 spokesperson.

REPLAY: Herne takes flight

A lengthy 15-minute stoppage was needed for the clean-up, with Randle leading the reduced field back to green flag racing on Lap 3.

Mawson remained tucked up behind and had a look around the outside at Turn 1 on the next lap but could not get by.

Another opportunity came when Randle locked a wheel under braking for Honda but the Castrol Racing driver managed to rotate the car and make the apex.

He wasn’t so lucky the next time he locked up, running wide on Lap 6 at the Southern Loop and losing out to Mawson, who snapped up the race lead.

Randle dropped further back as Tim Macrow also snuck by at Siberia and was followed through in the next sequence of corners by James Golding.

Golding latched onto the back of Macrow and made a daring pass at Turn 1 for second on the final lap, meaning the latter would finish third.

Kaleb Ngatoa attempted to pass an ailing Randle for fourth on the final lap but the New Zealander ran off the road, handing fifth place to GRM’s Luis Leeds.

Mawson’s margin of victory after nine laps was 1.4s but Randle continues to lead the championship, by six points.

S5000 is back in action next weekend (March 20-21) when Round 3 of the championship supports Supercars’ Penrite Oil Sandown SuperSprint.

Results: Main Event

Pos Num Team/Sponsor Driver Laps Race time
1 27 ALABAR/FORM700 Team BRM Joey Mawson 9 26:38.1261
2 31 Team Valvoline GRM James Golding 9 26:39.5457
3 23 UCS Group Racing TMR Tim Macrow 9 26:40.9407
4 49 Castrol Team ALABAR /Form700 Thomas Randle 9 26:42.5969
5 96 Garry Rogers Motorsport Luis Leeds 9 26:43.1118
6 88 Racing Cooper Webster 9 26:43.7074
7 92 Modena Engineering Ricky Capo 9 26:44.2772
8 15 Team BRM Kaleb Ngatoa 9 26:44.9433
9 39 Yellow Tail Astuti Motorsport Antonio Astuti 9 26:47.3782
10 89 Willmington Racing Braydan Willmington 9 26:56.2580
DNF 29 Team Valvoline GRM Nathan Herne

Championship points

Pos Driver Pts
1 Thomas Randle 209
2 Tim Macrow 203
3 Joey Mawson 198
4 James Golding 152
5 Luis Leeds 138
6 Nathan Herne 124
7 Cooper Webster 115
8 Ricky Capo 111
9 Antonio Astuti 89
10 Braydan Willmington 72
11 Kaleb Ngatoa 33
12 Tommy Smith 18

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]