Mostert dominates TCR Race 1 in the rain

Chaz Mostert. Picture: Daniel Kalisz Photographer/ARG

Chaz Mostert has taken a first race win in the Supercheap Auto TCR Australia Series in utterly dominant fashion at a wet Phillip Island.

Mostert’s margin of victory was 32.2981s after the 14 laps which comprised the opening race of Round 2 of the season at the Shannons Motorsport Australia Championships event.

Luke King made for an Audi Sport Customer Racing Australia one-two while Lee Holdsworth was a not quite so distant third in his Ashley Seward Motorsport Alfa Romeo.

Mostert had put the #25 RS 3 on pole earlier in the day and he walked away well when the lights went out as rain fell at the Island.

King dropped to third from a front row start, behind Holdsworth, while John Martin took up fourth in the first of the Wall Racing Hondas.

While that quartet formed something of an early breakaway pack, neither Holdsworth, King, nor Martin were any match for the 2014 Bathurst 1000 winner.

Mostert was already around 10 seconds to the good when Holdsworth had a huge moment at Stoner Corner on Lap 6.

He just kept Car #10 on the road but King was then close enough to go down the inside at MG later that lap.

King ran second and Holdsworth third thereafter, over eight seconds separating them at the chequered flag, but the latter moves back into the series lead after winning Race 1 at Symmons Plains in January.

Martin was fourth from the opening corners until the very end of the encounter, which was cut a lap short due to time-certainty, while Tony D’Alberto rounded out the top five in another Wall-run Civic.

D’Alberto was the beneficiary of dramas for both of the HMO Customer Racing drivers in front of him, firstly when Nathan Morcom ceded fifth as his Hyundai slowed on Lap 5.

Josh Buchan had put a very brave move on D’Alberto not long prior, sticking to the outside of #50 through Doohan Corner and then making the pass under brakes at Southern Loop, but ran off at Stoner Corner a lap later.

In the end, Aaron Cameron (Peugeot) took sixth, from Buchan, Jason Bargwanna (Peugeot), Ben Bargwanna (Peugeot), and Lachlan Mineeff (Volkswagen), the latter of whom came from the back row.

Cox, the former series leader, wound up 13th after two dramas at the Turn 4 Hairpin.

Race 2 takes place tomorrow at 11:10 local time/AEDT.

CLICK HERE to watch the Supercheap Auto Highlights of Race 1

Results: Race 1

Pos Num Team/Sponsor Driver Car Laps Race time
1 25 MPC Bostik Racing Chaz Mostert Audi RS 3 14 25:44.8669
2 2 MPC Moutai Luke King Audi RS 3 14 26:17.1650
3 10 Ashley Seward Motorsport Lee Holdsworth Alfa Romeo Giulietta 14 26:25.4051
4 24 Mobil 1 Wall Racing John Martin Honda Civic Type R 14 26:28.2878
5 50 Honda Wall Racing Tony D’Alberto Honda Civic Type R 14 26:55.2401
6 18 Team Valvoline GRM Aaron Cameron Peugeot 308 TCR 14 27:05.6786
7 30 HMO Customer Racing Josh Buchan Hyundai i30N 14 27:09.9129
8 17 Burson Auto Parts Racing Jason Bargwanna Peugeot 308 TCR 14 27:11.8218
9 71 Burson Auto Parts Racing Ben Bargwanna Peugeot 308 TCR 14 27:20.7728
10 14 Southern Star Truck Services Lachlan Mineeff Volkswagon Golf GTI 14 27:22.6919
11 110 Team Soutar Motorsport Zac Soutar Honda Civic Type R 14 27:28.0748
12 34 LMCT+ Racing GRM James Moffat Renault Megane RS 14 27:30.0487
13 5 Garry Rogers Motorsport Jordan Cox Alfa Romeo Giulietta 14 27:33.3129
14 15 Michael Clemente Motorsport Michael Clemente Honda Civic Type R 14 27:40.3345
15 33 Lowbake Racing GRM Dylan O’Keeffe Renault Megane RS 13 25:52.9589
16 37 MPC Astrontech Racing Chelsea Angelo Volkswagon Golf GTI 13 26:04.0408
17 7 Valvoline Racing GRM Michael Caruso Alfa Romeo Giulietta 13 26:20.6623
18 333 Tilton Racing Brad Shiels Hyundai i30N 13 27:37.9333
19 11 HMO Customer Racing Nathan Morcom Hyundai i30N 12 26:12.0503
DNF 9 Ashley Seward Motorsport Jay Hanson Alfa Romeo Giulietta 3 5:55.7430

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]