Fast-starting Macrow wins S5000 opener

Tim Macrow. Photo: Daniel Kalisz

A fast-starting Tim Macrow won the opening VHT S5000 Australian Drivers’ Championship race at Phillip Island.

Macrow led all 14 laps of Race 1 having taken over the lead at the first corner from Team Valvoline GRM pole-sitter James Golding.

Golding went nowhere from the front row of the grid as Macrow charged by and set about creating a gap.

Nathan Herne and Thomas Randle followed through into second and third position respectively before the race was neutralised with an early Safety Car.

Braydan Willmington became stranded on the main straight and needed recovering having struggled to get going off the start.

When the Safety Car returned to the pits, Castrol Racing’s Randle swooped by Herne in the Team Valvoline GRM entry for second at Turn 1 and set off to chase down race leader Macrow.

However, he couldn’t close down on the UCS Group Racing driver, who clinched his second win of the season.

The top three were covered by less than a second as Randle kept in front of Herne to complete the podium.

Golding dropped to fourth in his opening lap struggles and couldn’t make headway while Joey Mawson took the chequered flag fifth.

Luis Leeds was sixth followed by Ricky Capo and Cooper Webster in eighth.

Antonio Astuti in ninth and Kaleb Ngatoa in 10th completed the finishing order.

Race 2 of Round 2 is scheduled for 13:40 local time/AEDT.

Results: Heat 1

Pos Num Team/Sponsor Driver Laps Race time
1 23 UCS Group Racing TMR Tim Macrow 13 22:03.8053
2 49 Castrol Team ALABAR /Form700 Thomas Randle 13 22:04.4836
3 29 Team Valvoline GRM Nathan Herne 13 22:04.6356
4 31 Team Valvoline GRM James Golding 13 22:05.1967
5 27 ALABAR/FORM700 Team BRM Joey Mawson 13 22:05.8378
6 96 Garry Rogers Motorsport Luis Leeds 13 22:17.3516
7 92 Modena Engineering Ricky Capo 13 22:18.1980
8 88 Racing Cooper Webster 13 22:22.2452
9 39 Yellow Tail Astuti Motorsport Antonio Astuti 13 22:33.0534
10 15 Team BRM Kaleb Ngatoa 12 23:04.3725
DNF 89 Willmington Racing Braydan Willmington    

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]