Supercars stars headline 20-car GT field at Phillip Island

The Fanatec GT World Challenge Australia Powered by AWS opener has attracted 20 entries 

A 20-car field has been confirmed for the Fanatec GT World Challenge Australia Powered by AWS at Phillip Island this weekend.

Eight different brands will be on the grid, namely Porsche, Aston Martin, Audi, Lamborghini, Ferrari, Mercedes, Nissan and Chevrolet.

Among the high-profile drivers in action will be Chaz Mostert, Garth Tander and Jamie Whincup.

Mostert and Tander will both be in Pro-Am Audis, partnered with Tony Bates and Yasser Shahin respectively.

Whincup meanwhile is a late inclusion for injured Triple Eight team-mate Shane van Gisbergen, who broke his collarbone in a mountain biking accident on Saturday.

Whincup will subsequently share the #888 Mercedes-AMG GT3 Evo with Prince Jefri Ibrahim.

Among other notable entries will be the father-son combination of Stephen and Brenton Grove aboard their new Porsche 911 GT3 R.

All up, eight cars will contest the ‘Championship’ class, 11 entries will be in ‘Trophy’, plus the sole GT4 competitor of Mark Griffiths (Mercedes-AMG GT4).

“Twenty cars for the return of top-line GT racing is a great result for the first event and I’m proud of the entrants who are getting back in their awesome cars and entertaining us all,” said category manager Ken Collier.

“It actually looked like we were going to have even more than 20 cars, but a couple of teams withdrew late, so the good news there is that we know the interest is there for GT3 racing in Australia.

“With big events coming up soon at Mount Panorama and The Bend, I wouldn’t be surprised if we have over 25 cars entering sooner rather than later.

“And there’s a great calibre of drivers and cars there too. It’s almost too hard to predict who is going to win, so it’s going to make for some great viewing, whether you are at home watching the TV, or trackside at Phillip Island.”

The Phillip Island round will be headlined by two 60-minute races across Saturday and Sunday, with those heats broadcast in Australia on 7mate and 7plus, and in New Zealand on Sky Sport.

Entry list: Round 1, Phillip Island Grand Prix Circuit

Num Entry Type Division Driver A Driver B Make/Model
4 Champ Pro/Am Stephen Grove Brenton Grove Porsche 911 GT3 R
7 Champ Am Solo Tony Quinn Aston Martin Vantage AMR
24 Champ Pro/Am Tony Bates Chaz Mostert Audi R8 LMS Evo
51 Champ Am/Am Andrew Macpherson Ben Porter Lamborghini Huracan Evo
88 Champ Am/Am Peter Edwards Adrian Deitz Ferrari 488 GT3
91 Champ Am Solo Arthur Abrahams Audi R8 LMS Evo
777 Champ Pro/Am Yasser Shahin Garth Tander Audi R8 LMS Evo
888 Champ Pro/Am Prince Jefri Ibrahim Jamie Whincup Mercedes-AMG GT3 Evo
19 GT4 Am Mark Griffith Mercedes-AMG GT4
5 Trophy Am Greg Taylor Audi R8 LMS
23 Trophy Am Solo Matt Stoupas Audi R8 LMS
33 Trophy Am Solo Vince Muriti Audi R8 LMS
38 Trophy Am Michael Bailey Aston Martin V12 Vantage
47 Trophy Am Wayne Mack Ferrari 458 GT3
55 Trophy Am Brad Schumacher Audi R8 LMS Ultra
71 Trophy Am Dale Paterson Chevrolet Camaro GT3
77 Trophy Am/Am Vince Tesoriero Bill Papadimitriou Audi R8 LMS Ultra
96 Trophy Am Brett Hobson Nissan GT-R Nismo GT3
99 Trophy Am Nick Kelly Audi R8 LMS Ultra
124 Trophy Am/Am Gary Higgon Paul Stokell Audi R8 LMS

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]