Triple Eight prodigy loses Super2 series lead after penalty

The contact between Broc Feeney and Jayden Ojeda. Picture: Fox Sports

Triple Eight Race Engineering’s Broc Feeney has lost the lead of the Super2 Series which he jointly held after copping a penalty for contact in Race 2 at Mount Panorama.

Feeney has dropped from third to ninth in the Round 1 finale after being found to have committed ‘Careless Driving’, for which he was given a five-second penalty.

The sanction elevates the party on the receiving end, MW Motorsport’s Jayden Ojeda, up from ninth to eighth, while Feeney drops to third in the series, 45 points behind Boys.

“The Stewards imposed a 5 Second Post-Race Time Penalty on Car #888, Broc Feeney, for a breach of Article 2.1.1 of Schedule B2 (Careless Driving) following an Incident during the Race at Turn 23 when Car #888 made contact with Car #31 as a consequence of which Car #31 lost positions,” read the stewards summary.

“The Driver of Car #888 denied the breach and the Penalty.”

Broc Feeney

Jordan Boys won the race and, with that and his third placing having been a mirror of Feeney’s results before the penalty was handed down, they shared top spot in the standings.

The Image Racing driver had, however, faced a major battle in the latter stages of the contest, coming under heavy pressure from Tyler Everingham.

When Boys ran wide exiting The Chase on Lap 10, he played defensive at Murray’s and backed up the chasing pack.

With Everingham stuck behind the #49 VF Commodore, his team-mate Ojeda sought to capitalise by going to the outside.

Ojeda’s #31 Altima received a touch from Feeney which pushed him wide, and he had plummeted to seventh by the time they reached Griffins Bend.

Last year’s top rookie then made an error of his own later that lap, sailing off at The Chase when he locked up while apparently trying to pass the other Image Super2 entry of Jaylyn Robotham.

Results: Race 2 Updated

Pos Num Team/Sponsor Driver Car Cls Laps Race time
1 49 Image Racing / Joss Group Jordan Boys Holden Commodore VF S2 12 28:37.5520
2 27 Lowes Petoleum / MWM Tyler Everingham Nissan Altima S2 12 28:37.7740
3 78 Best Leisure Industries Zak Best Ford Falcon FG/X S2 12 28:39.0160
4 18 Cavalier Homes Matthew Chahda Ford Falcon FG/X S2 12 28:39.4281
5 999 Image Racing / Rare Spares Jaylyn Robotham Holden Commodore VF S2 12 28:39.8935
6 54 Eggleston Motorsport Matthew McLean Holden Commodore VF S2 12 28:41.3367
7 777 Oz Property / MWM Declan Fraser Nissan Altima S2 12 28:42.6187
8 31 Jayco / MWM Jayden Ojeda Nissan Altima S2 12 28:42.6667
9 888 Triple Eight Race Engineering Broc Feeney Holden Commodore VF S2 12 28:43.2964
10 10 Triple Eight Race Engineering Angelo Mouzouris Holden Commodore VF S2 12 28:45.6088
11 30 Matt Stone Racing Aaron Seton Holden Commodore VF S2 12 28:46.3742
12 38 Eggleston Motorsport Jack Sipp Holden Commodore VF S2 12 28:54.2188
13 5 Anderson Motorsport Michael Anderson Ford Falcon FG SC3 12 28:55.5831
14 69 Dial Before You Dig Jon McCorkindale Ford Falcon FG CH 12 28:55.8844
15 75 Linc Scsffolding Brendan Strong Holden Commodore VE SC3 12 28:56.3471
16 61 Image Racing Reef McCarthy Ford Falcon FG CH 12 29:00.3579
17 7 Mocomm Motorsport Comms Jim Pollicina Holden Commodore VE SC3 12 29:01.7996
18 22 Herron Todd White Valuers Bradley Neill Holden Commodore VF S2 12 29:02.3967
19 35 Unit Racing Jason Gomersall Ford Falcon FG SC3 12 29:05.1862
20 23 R.H.M Ray Hislop Ford Falcon BA SC3 12 29:10.7971
21 4 Crusher Parts International Tony Auddino Ford Falcon BF SC3 12 29:21.9075
22 67 Flash Bush Motorsport Nash Morris Ford Falcon FG CH 11 29:08.3793
NC 11 Brema Group Racing Zane Morse Holden Commodore VF S2 10 24:40.5795
NC 17 Resurrection Panel N Paint Jason Foley Ford Falcon BF SC3 5 11:39.7790
NC 28 Natural Gas and Water / MWM Josh Fife Nissan Altima S2 4 8:47.1788
NC 2 Page Bros Jayco Steven Page Holden Commodore VE2 SC3 4 10:15.4111

Series points: Super2 Updated

Pos Driver Pts
1 Jordan Boys 279
2 Zak Best 249
3 Broc Feeney 234
4 Matthew Chahda 216
5 Angelo Mouzouris 216
6 Matthew McLean 204
7 Jayden Ojeda 201
8 Jaylyn Robotham 189
9 Declan Fraser 180
10 Tyler Everingham 138
11 Jack Sipp 138
12 Aaron Seton 135
13 Bradley Neill 132
14 Josh Fife 90
15 Zane Morse 72

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]