Boys clings on for Super2 Race 2 victory

Jordan Boys keeps himself ahead of a feisty pack

Jordan Boys has withstood huge pressure from Tyler Everingham to win Race 2 of Round 1 of the Dunlop Super2 Series at Mount Panorama.

Boys wrested the lead from pole-sitter Jayden Ojeda as the field descended towards Griffins Bend on the opening lap of the 12-lap contest but had to cling on as a train formed behind him after a mid-race Safety Car.

The victory in the second encounter of the weekend also gives the Image Racing driver the round win on a countback over Broc Feeney, whose third place in Race 2 made his results a mirror of Boys’.

Zak Best finished fourth from Matt Chahda and Super2 rookie Jaylyn Robotham in the second Image entry, with Ojeda ending up ninth after a late off.

When the lights went out, Ojeda (#31 MW Motorsport Nissan Altima) and Boys (#49 VF Commodore) made an even start before running side-by-side all the way through Hell corner.

The latter pulled ahead as they closed in on Griffins Bend and Everingham (#27 MWM Altima) followed through the gap made by Boys to take up second.

That left Ojeda third while Feeney (#888 Triple Eight Race Engineering VF Commodore) held on to fourth despite a challenge from Matt Chahda (#18 Matt Chahda Motorsport FGX Falcon).

Boys was almost 0.9s to the good at the end of the standing lap although Everingham had brought the gap back under half a second on Lap 3, and Ojeda was close behind his team-mate.

The leader stretched his margin back to 1.3s after three laps more, but found himself under pressure from #27 again in the next 6.213km.

It was therefore something of a reprieve for Boys when a Safety Car was called on Lap 8 in order to have Nash Morris’s #67 Paul Morris Motorsport FG Falcon recovered after the Super3 Series debutant beached himself at Murray’s Corner.

At that point, the top five of Boys, Everingham, Ojeda, Feeney, and Chahda remained, while Zak Best (#78 Tickford Racing FGX Falcon) was sixth having inherited the spot after a mistake from Angelo Mouzouris at Hell Corner on Lap 5.

Robotham (#999 VF Commodore) was seventh, ahead of Matt McLean (#54 Eggleston Motorsport VF Commodore), Mouzouris (#10 Triple Eight VF Commodore), and Declan Fraser (#777 MWM Nissan Altima).

Boys waited a long time before he launched for the Lap 10 restart, but he could not shake Everingham.

The leader was wide exiting The Chase that lap and had to mid-track it into Murray’s Corner, which bottled the field up and enticed Ojeda to try and capitalise.

However, Car #31 ended up high and dry, with Feeney snatching third and Best fourth, while Chahda was a net unchanged fifth and Ojeda even lost sixth to Robotham as they ran into Griffins Bend.

Boys continued to struggle for grip and the split to Everingham was only 0.1651s with a lap to go.

He managed to hang on, however, for a third win in Super2 and his first since the 2019 finale in Newcastle.

Everingham and Feeney took the chequered flag within 0.8s of the winner, with Best and Chahda each only a few tenths further back again.

Robotham took sixth and McLean seventh, with Fraser eighth.

Ojeda ended up ninth, having sailed off at The Chase as he tried to put a move on Robotham on the penultimate lap.

Mouzouris followed him onto the green stuff at that moment, and at the chequered flag, in 10th spot, while Bathurst local Michael Anderson (#5 Anderson Motorsport FG Falcon) took Super3 class honours in 13th outright.

There were two DNFs in the Super2 class, after Zane Morse pitted before the end in the #11 Zane Morse Racing VF Commodore.

The other was Josh Fife (#28 MWM Nissan Altima), who was in a willing battle over seventh with Robotham before he found the wall at Forrest’s Elbow on Lap 5.

Boys and Feeney share the series lead with 279 points apiece, 39 up on Best, while McLean was top Super2 rookie for the weekend.

Round 2 supports the Winton SuperSprint on May 29-30.

Results: Race 2 Updated*

Pos Num Team/Sponsor Driver Car Cls Laps Race time
1 27 Lowes Petoleum / MWM Tyler Everingham Nissan Altima S2 12 28:37.7740
2 78 Best Leisure Industries Zak Best Ford Falcon FG/X S2 12 28:39.0160
3 18 Cavalier Homes Matthew Chahda Ford Falcon FG/X S2 12 28:39.4281
4 999 Image Racing / Rare Spares Jaylyn Robotham Holden Commodore VF S2 12 28:39.8935
5 54 Eggleston Motorsport Matthew McLean Holden Commodore VF S2 12 28:41.3367
6 777 Oz Property / MWM Declan Fraser Nissan Altima S2 12 28:42.6187
7 31 Jayco / MWM Jayden Ojeda Nissan Altima S2 12 28:42.6667
8 888 Triple Eight Race Engineering Broc Feeney Holden Commodore VF S2 12 28:43.2964
9 10 Triple Eight Race Engineering Angelo Mouzouris Holden Commodore VF S2 12 28:45.6088
10 30 Matt Stone Racing Aaron Seton Holden Commodore VF S2 12 28:46.3742
11 38 Eggleston Motorsport Jack Sipp Holden Commodore VF S2 12 28:54.2188
12 5 Anderson Motorsport Michael Anderson Ford Falcon FG SC3 12 28:55.5831
13 69 Dial Before You Dig Jon McCorkindale Ford Falcon FG CH 12 28:55.8844
14 75 Linc Scsffolding Brendan Strong Holden Commodore VE SC3 12 28:56.3471
15 61 Image Racing Reef McCarthy Ford Falcon FG CH 12 29:00.3579
16 7 Mocomm Motorsport Comms Jim Pollicina Holden Commodore VE SC3 12 29:01.7996
17 22 Herron Todd White Valuers Bradley Neill Holden Commodore VF S2 12 29:02.3967
18 35 Unit Racing Jason Gomersall Ford Falcon FG SC3 12 29:05.1862
19 23 R.H.M Ray Hislop Ford Falcon BA SC3 12 29:10.7971
20 4 Crusher Parts International Tony Auddino Ford Falcon BF SC3 12 29:21.9075
21 67 Flash Bush Motorsport Nash Morris Ford Falcon FG CH 11 29:08.3793
NC 11 Brema Group Racing Zane Morse Holden Commodore VF S2 10 24:40.5795
NC 17 Resurrection Panel N Paint Jason Foley Ford Falcon BF SC3 5 11:39.7790
NC 28 Natural Gas and Water / MWM Josh Fife Nissan Altima S2 4 8:47.1788
NC 2 Page Bros Jayco Steven Page Holden Commodore VE2 SC3 4 10:15.4111
DSQ 49 Image Racing / Joss Group Jordan Boys Holden Commodore VF S2

* Penalties for Car #49, Car #888

Series points: Super2 Updated

Pos Driver Pts
1 Zak Best 258
2 Broc Feeney 240
3 Matt Chahda 225
4 Angelo Mouzouris 222
5 Matt McLean 213
6 Jayden Ojeda 207
7 Jaylyn Robotham 198
8 Declan Fraser 186
9 Tyler Everingham 150
10 Aaron Seton 141
11 Jack Sipp 141
12 Bradley Neill 135
13 Jordan Boys 129
14 Josh Fife 90
15 Zane Morse 72

Series points: Super3

Pos Driver Pts
1 Jon McCorkindale 288
2 Michael Anderson 252
3 Brendan Strong 249
4 Reef McCarthy 231
5 Nash Morris 213
6 Jason Gomersall 198
7 Jim Pollicina 195
8 Ray Hislop 186
9 Tony Auddino 168
10 Blake Fardell 138
11 Jason Foley 72
12 Steven Page 0
13 Gary Collins 0

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]