Feeney takes maiden Super2 win in T8 one-two

Broc Feeney leads Angelo Mouzouris and Jordan Boys

Broc Feeney has taken his first Dunlop Super2 Series race win as Triple Eight Race Engineering went one-two to open the 2021 season at Mount Panorama.

Feeney might have missed out on pole position and lost the start to team-mate Angelo Mouzouris but his race pace was superior and he never looked back after making the pass on Lap 4.

Mouzouris hung on for a career-best second position, greeting the chequered flag less than a tenth ahead of Image Racing’s Jordan Boys in a race which was shortened to eight laps due to dramas even before it had begun.

The first of those was for Tyler Everingham, who pulled off on the side of the main straight due to a clutch issue at the end of the formation lap.

Tyler Everingham’s Altima is recovered before the start

With the #27 MW Motorsport Nissan Altima having to be towed away, the field was sent for another slow tour of Mount Panorama, but Super3 competitor Steven Page (#2 Eggleston Motorsport VE Commodore) then had to also be pushed off the grid.

When the real action finally got going, Mouzouris (#10 VF Commodore) blazed away from first position on the grid and took a clear lead into Hell Corner, from Feeney (#888 VF Commodore), Boys (#49 VF Commodore), Jayden Ojeda (#31 MWM Nissan Altima), and Matt McLean (#54 Eggleston VF Commodore).

The latter came under pressure from an also fast-starting Aaron Seton up Mountain Straight, but Seton was hung wide at Griffins Bend and instead ceded sixth to Zak Best.

Mouzouris straight-lined The Esses on Lap 2 as he came under pressure from the pack which had formed behind him.

Best was an obvious beneficiary of the bottling up of the field, passing both Ojeda and McLean when they went three-wide as Lap 2 became Lap 3 to take up fourth in the #78 Tickford Racing FGX Falcon.

McLean was a net unchanged fifth while Ojeda dropped two spots in the kerfuffle after those two hit exiting Hell Corner.

Mouzouris was still being hounded by Feeney when he went defensive at Murray’s Corner at the end of Lap 3, which gave his team-mate the run for Hell Corner and an easy pass for the lead.

The 2019 Super3 Series winner wasted little time in gapping the 2019 Australian Formula Ford title winner, clocking back-to-back fastest laps on Laps 5 and 6 to be almost two seconds to the good.

Feeney was 2.3s up at the start of the eighth and final lap, a cut of four laps due to time-certainty, and duly delivered Triple Eight’s first win in Super2 since 2012.

Mouzouris managed to keep Boys at bay in the battle for the minor placings, while Best finished fourth.

Ojeda came at McLean at The Chase on Lap 5 and the latter chose to sidestep a serious fight for fifth position.

McLean therefore ran sixth for the remainder of the contest, with the top 10 rounded out by Matt Chahda (#18 Matt Chahda Motorsport FGX Falcon), Josh Fife (#28 MWM Altima), Declan Fraser (#777 MWM Altima), and Jaylyn Robotham (#999 Image VF Commodore).

Zane Morse (#11 Zane Morse Racing VF Commodore) was 11th, ahead of Super3 class winner Jon McCorkindale (#69 Mac Motorsport FG Falcon).

Seton was running seventh when his #30 Matt Stone Racing VF Commodore lost power and he retired to pit lane.

Feeney’s series lead is 12 points over Mouzouris at this early stage, with Qualifying for Race 2 starting tomorrow at 09:30 local time/AEDT.

Results: Race 1

Pos Num Team/Sponsor Driver Car Cls Laps Race time
1 888 Triple Eight Race Engineering Broc Feeney Holden Commodore VF S2 8 17:15.8343
2 10 Triple Eight Race Engineering Angelo Mouzouris Holden Commodore VF S2 8 17:18.9856
3 49 Image Racing / Joss Group Jordan Boys Holden Commodore VF S2 8 17:19.0850
4 78 Best Leisure Industries Zak Best Ford Falcon FG/X S2 8 17:20.1331
5 31 Jayco / MWM Jayden Ojeda Nissan Altima S2 8 17:21.3548
6 54 Eggleston Motorsport Matthew McLean Holden Commodore VF S2 8 17:23.7823
7 18 Cavalier Homes Matthew Chahda Ford Falcon FG/X S2 8 17:25.9420
8 28 Natural Gas and Water / MWM Josh Fife Nissan Altima S2 8 17:26.7936
9 777 Oz Property / MWM Declan Fraser Nissan Altima S2 8 17:28.6340
10 999 Image Racing / Rare Spares Jaylyn Robotham Holden Commodore VF S2 8 17:29.2186
11 11 Brema Group Racing Zane Morse Holden Commodore VF S2 8 17:32.5988
12 69 Dial Before You Dig Jon McCorkindale Ford Falcon FG CH 8 17:44.9551
13 77 Mr HDT Race Cars Blake Fardell Holden Commodore VE CH 8 17:50.1967
14 38 Eggleston Motorsport Jack Sipp Holden Commodore VF S2 8 17:52.2183
15 67 Flash Bush Motorsport Nash Morris Ford Falcon FG CH 8 18:01.4423
16 22 Herron Todd White Valuers Bradley Neill Holden Commodore VF S2 8 18:02.2003
17 75 Linc Scsffolding Brendan Strong Holden Commodore VE SC3 8 18:02.4769
18 61 Image Racing Reef McCarthy Ford Falcon FG CH 8 18:02.8611
19 5 Anderson Motorsport Michael Anderson Ford Falcon FG SC3 8 18:11.7119
20 35 Unit Racing Jason Gomersall Ford Falcon FG SC3 8 18:16.2110
21 23 R.H.M Ray Hislop Ford Falcon BA SC3 8 18:21.2784
22 7 Mocomm Motorsport Comms Jim Pollicina Holden Commodore VE SC3 8 18:31.5657
23 4 Crusher Parts International Tony Auddino Ford Falcon BF SC3 8 18:38.1328
24 17 Resurrection Panel N Paint Jason Foley Ford Falcon BF SC3 8 18:42.4531
NC 30 Matt Stone Racing Aaron Seton Holden Commodore VF S2 5 19:57.5779
NC 27 Lowes Petoleum / MWM Tyler Everingham Nissan Altima S2    
NC 2 Page Bros Jayco Steven Page Holden Commodore VE2 SC3    

Series points: Super2

Pos Driver Pts
1 Broc Feeney 150
2 Angelo Mouzouris 138
3 Jordan Boys 129
4 Zak Best 120
5 Jayden Ojeda 111
6 Matthew McLean 102
7 Matthew Chahda 96
8 Josh Fife 90
9 Declan Fraser 84
10 Jaylyn Robotham 78
11 Zane Morse 72
12 Jack Sipp 69
13 Bradley Neill 66
14 Aaron Seton 63
15 Tyler Everingham 0

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]