Every engineering change on the 2021 Supercars grid

Half the Supercars grid will feature new driver/engineering combinations

While most of the off-season chatter has largely surrounded driver movements, the summer break has seen every Supercars team undergo a change in its engineering line-up.

The top two teams, Triple Eight Race Engineering and Dick Johnson Racing, have both undertaken engineer reshuffles.

Grant McPherson’s departure to Walkinshaw Andretti United to oversee its engineering team triggered not one, but two major changes within Triple Eight Race Engineering.

While David Cauchi could have stayed with Jamie Whincup, the team opted to split the pair after a seven-year partnership.

With Cauchi replacing McPherson alongside Shane van Gisbergen, the team has brought outside experience to its ranks with Wes McDougall formerly of Matt Stone Racing coming onboard.

The newly renamed Dick Johnson Racing has also undergone an engineering restructure.

Ludo Lacroix moves back into a race engineer role alongside newcomer Anton De Pasquale while Richard Harris joins returnee Will Davison.

Tickford Racing has experienced a reshuffle in its ranks too.

Sam Scaffidi has stayed onboard the #5 entry, though he has a new driver to work with after Lee Holdsworth was left out of a drive.

A reconfiguration of the Tickford Racing set-up has seen Jack Le Brocq move out of the #55 and into the #5 entry, working with Scaffidi.

Brad Wischusen, who engineered Le Brocq in 2020, has moved across to the #44 of James Courtney.

That comes after Brendan Hogan left the team to join the newly formed Blanchard Racing Team as its team manager.

The only constant pairing in the Campbellfield-based team is that of Sam Potter and Cameron Waters in the #6 entry.

The Blanchard Racing Team has brought former Erebus Motorsport engineer Mirko De Rosa into its ranks to join Supercars returnee Tim Slade.

De Rosa has effectively been replaced at Erebus Motorsport by George Commins who will engineer Brodie Kostecki.

His team-mate Will Brown will be engineered by Tom Moore, who replaces Alistair McVean.

Moore steps up from within the Erebus Motorsport while Commins joins the team from Kelly Grove Racing.

Kelly Grove Racing has brought McVean into its ranks to engineer David Reynolds, who rejoins the team after a decade away.

Andre Heimgartner and Dilan Talabani go into their fifth year together at the Braeside-based team.

Team Sydney has undergone wholesale changes with two new drivers and two new engineers.

Fabian Coulthard comes to the team from Dick Johnson Racing while Garry Jacobson joins from Matt Stone Racing.

Coulthard will be engineered by Geoffrey Slater, who returns to the team after a spell working with BMW in the United States. Meanwhile, Jacobson will be engineered by Mark Robinson.

Jack Bellotti steps up from data engineer to race engineer with Zane Goddard at Matt Stone Racing. Jake Kostecki will continue to work with Tim Newton.

Terry Kerr will be the full-time engineer on Bryce Fullwood’s entry at Walkinshaw Andretti United while Adam De Borre remains with Chaz Mostert.

Brad Jones Racing has one major change with Tom Wettenhall engineering Macauley Jones, who was formerly engineered by Julian Stannard.

Stannard has remained with the team, albeit in a broader role.

The only team to not change its driver/engineer line-up is that of Team 18, which will continue with its Mark Winterbottom/Manuel Sanchez and Scott Pye/Phil Keed set-up.

However, the team has brought Richard Hollway into its ranks to oversee the engineering line-up.

2021 Repco Supercars Championship driver/engineer line-up

Team/car Driver 2020 engineer 2021 engineer
DJR #17 Will Davison Richard Harris
DJR #100 Anton De Pasquale Mirko De Rosa Ludo Lacroix
Triple Eight #88 Jamie Whincup David Cauchi Wes McDougall
Triple Eight #97 Shane van Gisbergen Grant McPherson David Cauchi
Tickford #6 Cameron Waters Sam Potter Sam Potter
Tickford #44 James Courtney Brendan Hogan Brad Wischusen
Tickford #5 Jack Le Brocq Brad Wischusen Sam Scaffidi
BRT #3 Tim Slade Mirko De Rosa
Erebus #9 Will Brown Tom Moore
Erebus #99 Brodie Kostecki George Commins
Team 18 #18 Mark Winterbottom Manuel Sanchez Manuel Sanchez
Team 18 #20 Scott Pye Phil Keed Phil Keed
WAU #25 Chaz Mostert Adam De Borre Adam De Borre
WAU #2 Bryce Fullwood Terry Kerr/Rob Starr Terry Kerr
BJR #8 Nick Percat Andrew Edwards Andrew Edwards
BJR #14 Todd Hazelwood Tony Woodward Tony Woodward
BJR #96 Macauley Jones Julian Stannard Tom Wettenhall
BJR #4 Jack Smith Paul Forgie Paul Forgie
KGR #7 Andre Heimgartner Dilan Talabani Dilan Talabani
KGR #26 David Reynolds Alistair McVean Alistair McVean
Team Sydney #19 Fabian Coulthard Mark Fenning Geoffrey Slater
Team Sydney #22 Garry Jacobson Wes McDougall Mark Robinson
MSR #34 Jake Kostecki Tim Newton Tim Newton
MSR #35 Zane Goddard Tim Newton Jack Bellotti

Bold denotes new driver/engineer line-up

Italics denote same driver/engineer but new team

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]