Bumper field for Bathurst Aussie Racing Cars round

Aussie Racing Cars at Bathurst in 2020. Picture: Digital Realism

A 32-strong entry list has formed for the opening round of the Battery World Aussie Racing Cars Super Series this weekend at Bathurst.

A quartet of races at the Repco Mount Panorama 500 represents the first for the category since the Bathurst 12 Hour of over 12 months ago.

Among the field are the four winners from as many races in that last event, being Josh Anderson, Joel Heinrich, Craig Woods, and Nick Simmons.

Woods counts Athens Olympic Games silver medallist John Steffensen as one of his team-mates at Western Sydney Motorsport, which won the last completed series with Justin Ruggier in 2019.

Steffensen has dabbled in motorsport since his retirement from athletics, contesting rounds of Porsche Michelin Sprint Challenge and Carrera Cup before debuting in Aussie Racing Cars at last year’s Bathurst 12 Hour.

Category founder Phil Ward is also on the entry list, as is its current owner and new Triple Eight Race Engineering shareholder, Tony Quinn.

The pint-sized racers will be on track for practice on Friday morning, followed later that day by qualifying and the first of four races for the weekend.

CLICK HERE for revised event schedule

Entry list: Round 1, Mount Panorama Motor Racing Circuit

Num Team/Sponsor Driver Vehicle
2 Aussie Race Cars Phil Ward Aurion
3 Drill and Onsight Mechanical Keelan Dunston Camaro
5 Diamond Mechanical & Auto Electrical Nicklaus Lichtenberger Altima
6 Silkgate Group Ian Chivas Altima
7 Lorgelly Racing Andrew Lorgelly Euro GT
9 Simmons Civil Contracting Nicholas Simmons Camaro
11 Supergroups Conplex Constructions Leigh Bowler Camaro
15 Lustre Bar Melbourne Adam Clark Camaro
16 Osborn’s Transport Joel Heinrich Cruze
17 Team Grand Racing Denis Butler Euro GT
19 Griffith Corporation Mark Griffith Euro GT
21 KE Motorsport Kyle Ensbey Mustang
22 Clipsal Matt Nolan Mustang
25 Castrol Racing Reece Chapman Camaro
28 Norganic Proteins Kent Quinn Toyota
30 Western Sydney Motorsport Tom Hayman Mustang
32 Prince Excavations Courtney Prince Mustang
36 Perenso / RDA Brakes Joshua Anderson Camaro
41 Kody Garland Racing / MTA NSW Kody Garland Mustang
44 Western Sydney Motorsport John Steffensen Mustang
46 PT Painting Pawel Faber Euro GT
47 Procool Racing Troy Jones Camaro
48 FWG Concrete Matt Forbes-Wilson Camaro
52 Gencom Wireless Solutions Charlotte Poynting Mustang
64 Western Sydney Motorsport Craig Woods Mustang
72 Western Sydney Motorsport Craig Thompson Mustang
78 Western Sydney Motorsport Grant Thompson Mustang
82 Radical Mechanical / Cody Mckay Motorsports Cody Mckay Commodore
86 Wilcox Engineering and Conveyors Ben Wilcox Mustang
88 McKittrick Racing Matthew McKittrick Mustang
96 Aughterson’s Insurance Brokers Jeff Watters Altima
100 Local Legends Snacks Tony Quinn Mustang

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]