Tru-Blu 2 headlines TCM field at Bathurst

The ‘Tru-Blu’ tribute driven by Steven Johnson

History will repeat in Bathurst this weekend when the iconic Tru-Blu colours return to Mount Panorama.

Tru-Blu 2, a homage to the original Ford XD Falcon driven by Dick Johnson and John French to victory in the 1981 Bathurst 1000, will be piloted by the former’s son Steven Johnson this weekend.

The tribute car made its on-track debut in early 2020 at Lakeside Raceway, the site at which Dick Johnson won his first of five Australian Touring Car Championships.

“It’s going to be pretty cool to bring a ‘Tru-Blu’ Falcon back to Bathurst,” Steven Johnson said.

“Whether they were fans or not, so many people have memories of watching the original car and Dad race there in the 1980s.

“It’s such an iconic piece of Bathurst history so to go back there with our new Tru-Blu 2 TCM car is pretty special.

“The car is still very new and we’re still learning a lot every time it gets on track, but getting to Bathurst and racing there is going to be a big step forward for Team Johnson and the car as we develop it into a race winner.”

The debut of Tru-Blu 2 at Mount Panorama comes some 40 years after the original Tru-Blu made its first appearance.

Queensland-born Johnson sits third in the Touring Car Masters standings after the opening round behind two Tasmanians.

John Bowe, who was recently diagnosed with prostate cancer, leads the standings and will race this weekend in his Holden Torana SL/R 5000.

Chevrolet Camaro RS pilot Adam Garwood lies second in the standings.

Two drivers bring up major milestones in the series this weekend.

Andrew Fisher makes his 100th start while Mark King is set to become just the fourth driver to bring up 200 starts.

Touring Car Masters, which plays support to the Repco Mount Panorama 500, will take in one trophy race and three points-paying races across February 26-28.

Entry List: Gulf Western Oil Touring Car Masters, Round 2

No. Driver Class Make/Model
6 Ryan Hansford Pro-Am Holden Torana A9X
7 Jim Pollicina Pro-Masters Holden Torana A9X
9 Andrew Fisher Pro-Am Ford Falcon XY GTHO
12 Peter Burnitt Pro-Sports Holden Torana A9X
17 Steven Johnson Pro-Masters Ford Falcon XD
18 John Bowe Pro-Masters Holden Torana SL/R 5000
25 Paul Freestone Pro-Am Chevrolet Camaro
29 Jamie Tilley Pro-Am Ford Mustang Coupe
33 Cameron Mason Pro-Am Ford Mustang Trans Am
50 Gerard McLeod Pro-Am Holden Commodore VB
58 Ryal Harris Pro-Masters Chevrolet Camaro SS
60 Cameron Tilley Pro-Am Valiant Pacer
67 Jeremy Gray Pro-Am Ford Capri Perana
71 Marcus Zukanovic Pro-Masters Ford Falcon XD
74 Wayne Mercer Pro-Am Ford Falcon GTHO
75 Aaron McGill Pro-Am Ford Falcon XW GT
85 Adam Garwood Pro-Am Chevrolet Camaro RS
88 Tony Karanfilovski Pro-Am Ford Mustang Trans Am
95 Mark King Pro-Masters Chevrolet Camaro SS

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]