Morris junior headlines 13-car Super3 field

Nash Morris will drive the Ford FG Falcon his father Paul previously drove

Nash Morris, son of 2014 Bathurst 1000 winner Paul Morris, headlines a 13-car strong field for the Dunlop Super3 Series season-opener.

This year marks the 14th season for the Repco Supercars Championship feeder series, which this year will again run combined with the second-tier Super2 Series.

While Super3 will share the grid and operate under the same set of sporting regulations as Super2, the third tier series will recognise two title winners this year.

The Super3 ‘championship’ and ‘Super3 Cup’ will be awarded, the latter for privateer entries.

The top class features four entries this year, headlined by Morris junior of Flash Bush Motorsport in his Ford FG Falcon.

Jon McCorkindale, also in an FG, returns in the Dial Before You Dig entry.

Rounding out the leading entries is Reef McCarthy of Image Racing and Blake Fardell of Mr HDT Race Cars, the sole Holden VE Commodore entry in the subdivision.

“We’re really excited to be launching the 2021 Dunlop Super3 Series at Mount Panorama this weekend with a strong, competitive field,” said Super3 Series category manager Liam Curkpatrick.

“After a really challenging 12 months that only allowed for some of our competitors to race last year, we’re pleased with the response to the new-look series this year.

“There are a lot of familiar faces returning and several new names making their debut.

“Had it not been for a few late withdrawals, which is to be expected in these times, the field would have been even bigger. We’re confident it’s going to grow as the season evolves.”

The Super3 Series forms part of a 28-car grid also including the Super2 Series.

This weekend’s season-opener comprises two 100km races at Mount Panorama.

Entry list: Dunlop Super3 Series, Repco Mount Panorama 500

No. Class Driver Vehicle
2 Super3 Cup Steven Page Holden VE II Commodore
4 Super3 Cup Tony Auddino Ford BF Falcon
5 Super3 Cup Michael Anderson Ford FG Falcon
7 Super3 Cup Jim Pollicina Holden VE Commodore
17 Super3 Cup Jason Foley Ford BF Falcon
23 Super3 Cup Ray Hislop Ford BA Falcon
35 Super3 Cup Jason Gomersall Ford FG Falcon
61 Championship Reef McCarthy Ford FG Falcon
67 Championship Nash Morris Ford FG Falcon
69 Championship Jon McCorkindale Ford FG Falcon
75 Super3 Cup Brendan Strong Holden VE Commodore
77 Championship Blake Fardell Holden VE Commodore
96 Super3 Cup Gary Collins Holden VE II Commodore

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]